Fancy meeting you here A novel

Julie Tieu

Book - 2023

"Every single one of Elise Ngo's close girlfriends--Rebecca, Jesse, and Beth--is getting married within the same few months, and every single one of them has asked her to be both bridesmaid and florist. Though it's a lot for her to juggle, the work and exposure is a boon to her struggling flower shop. The stakes are high at Rebecca's high-profile wedding, where the guests are mostly political connections of Rebecca's parents. Desperate for the event to go off without a hitch, Elise enlists the help of an outside caterer who turns out to be Ben Yu, Rebecca's elusive younger brother. Though Ben is prickly and aloof, he offers Elise much needed business designing flowers for his mom's campaign fundraisers and... Elise begins to see there's more to Ben than his gruff and handsome exterior. But their romance takes off as the political campaign ramps up, complicating their relationship with unforeseen consequences. Now always-the-bridesmaid Elise must fight for what she wants to finally get her own happily ever after." --

Saved in:

1st Floor New Shelf Show me where

FICTION/Tieu Julie
0 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor New Shelf FICTION/Tieu Julie (NEW SHELF) Due Mar 13, 2024
Subjects
Genres
Romance fiction
Novels
Published
New York, NY : Avon, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers [2023]
Language
English
Main Author
Julie Tieu (author)
Edition
First edition
Physical Description
291 pages ; 21 cm
ISBN
9780063245198
Contents unavailable.
Review by Booklist Review

Wedding season is in full bloom for struggling floral designer Elise, but since so many of her clients get a best-friend discount, her beloved studio is still in financial jeopardy. Decorating a high-profile political event for her friend Rebecca's mother and an opportunity to enter a bridal magazine design contest could keep the lights on, but only if she can get it all done. It's hardly an ideal setting for a romance of her own, yet she can't resist the pull toward Rebecca's brother, Ben. As a groomsman and his mom's campaign manager, he steadily proves himself to be far more reliable (and sexier) than Rebecca ever let on. Mishaps, friendships in transition, festive Chinese wedding traditions, a sprained wrist, and a minor political scandal later, Elsie and Ben find themselves torn between ambition and love. Tieu's third rom-com centers young professional Asian Americans in California and includes a callback to her 2021 hit, The Donut Trap. An easy read-alike for fans of Uzma Jalaluddin or Rachel Lynn Solomon.

From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Review by Publisher's Weekly Review

Tieu (The Donut Trap) shines in this angsty tale of love that endures. Florist Elise Ngo's best friends are all pairing up and marrying--leaving her wondering if she'll ever have her own happy ending. It's at her friend Rebecca's high-profile wedding that she finally meets Rebecca's prickly and quiet brother, Ben Yu, who's working for the Yu matriarch's reelection campaign for the California state legislature. When Ben hires Elise's struggling business to provide floral arrangements for a campaign event, their chemistry sparks a passionate affair. They set out to keep their relationship on the down-low--but with Mrs. Yu's political rivals scouring for a dirt, her campaign becomes embroiled in scandal and Ben and Elise's romance lands uncomfortably in the spotlight. Tieu's tumultuous but believable plot combines heat and heart, bolstered by a diverse cast readers will want to spend more time with. The close friendship between Elise and Rebecca is an especially nice touch. Tieu should win some new fans with this one. Agent: Laura Bradford, Bradford Literary. (Nov.)

(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Review by Library Journal Review

Wedding season never ends for florist Elise Ngo, but the next few months are particularly special, with her three best friends getting married, although it leaves her as the perpetual bridesmaid and sole single lady of their group. At least she's too busy to worry about her love life and can focus on saving her struggling small business and gaining exposure for her floral studio as she designs her friends' weddings. When she meets Ben Yu, her best friend's brother and her appointed groomsman partner, Elise discovers that beyond Ben's sullen ways is a budding attraction between them both. Elise is a relatable main character, and her friend group's tendencies are fun and touching through wild bachelorette parties and maid-of-honor speeches. Ben and Elise's growing fondness for each other is heartwarming, emphasized by impactful writing and an endearing voice. VERDICT Tieu's (Circling Back to You) rom-com captures the most wistful and beautiful parts of weddings amid the chaos of planning and prep as it celebrates lifelong friendships and flourishing love.--Hazel Ureta

(c) Copyright Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.
Review by Kirkus Book Review

A florist and a caterer juggle a high-profile California wedding, their complex connections to the wedding party, and an unexpected romantic attraction. Elise Ngo has been selected to be a bridesmaid and the florist for three of her close friends' weddings. The business opportunities presented by one are especially important; Rebecca Yu has let her assemblywoman mother hijack the guest list to include some big names in politics. Impressing this crowd could mean bigger and wealthier clients for Elise's floral business and jobs that don't include a friends and family discount. Joining her in the list of wedding vendors as caterer is Rebecca's younger brother, Ben. Quiet and a little prickly, Ben doesn't take kindly to Elise barging into his kitchen to refresh some flowers. Bristling at his rude demand to see her ID, Elise wipes a wet hand across her white tank top and realizes with chagrin that she's inadvertently giving Ben the impression she "was trying to win a spring break wet T-shirt contest." Their banter cracks and stings, exacerbated by the growing stressors of the impending wedding day. Elise desperately needs the word-of-mouth recommendations and networking Rebecca's wedding and family connections can provide. Ben appears rudderless, trying to find his passion and direction while sidestepping the spotlight as much as possible. The author's decision to use political background material, however, muffles the impact of their developing romance. With nosy reporters and rumors of campaign scandals hanging like a cloud over the wedding, Elise and Ben's chemistry doesn't get a chance to reach anything higher than a simmer. There's little conflict to keep them apart, save for wedding day emergencies, and while those amp up the comedy, they also hamper any sort of will-they-won't-they tension. Two relatable and funny main characters in desperate need of a more compelling and exciting romance. Copyright (c) Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.

Copyright (c) Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.