Built to last A novel

Erin Hahn

Book - 2022

"Shelby Springfield has spent the last ten years trying to overcome her past, sanding it away like she does the rough spots on the vintage furniture finds she makes over. But as a former child star, it's hard to forget a mediocre pop career, a meltdown widely documented by the paparazzi, and a huge public break with her former co-star Lyle Jessup. It's also hard to forget her other co-star and childhood sweetheart, Cameron Riggs -- the one who got away. Anytime Shelby has called, Cameron has come running... And then he runs right off again to chase stories around the world by making documentaries, too scared to admit what he really wants. But when Lyle stirs the pot, getting the two back in the spotlight with a home renovatio...n show, Cameron can't help but come on board. There's something in it for everyone -- almost. Cameron wants to come home and set down some roots. Shelby wants to prove to the world she's not the messy party girl anymore. And Lyle wants to twist the screws on his two childhood friends who had more chemistry than he could dream of with anyone. Sparks and sawdust fly as Shelby and Cameron film the pilot for "Homemade" and battle Lyle's shenanigans at every turn. Erin Hahn's Built to Last is a sparkling second chance romance about owning what you're worth and fighting for the one who got away"--

Saved in:

1st Floor Show me where

FICTION/Hahn Eric
0 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor FICTION/Hahn Eric On Holdshelf
+1 Hold
Subjects
Genres
Romance fiction
Novels
Published
New York : St. Martin's Griffin 2022.
Language
English
Main Author
Erin Hahn (author)
Edition
First Edition
Physical Description
1 volume ; 21 cm
ISBN
9781250827098
Contents unavailable.
Review by Booklist Review

Young adult romance author Hahn dazzles in her adult rom-com debut set to a circa 2010 teen-pop beat and featuring two child stars from the Midwest who left L.A. and celebrity behind. Shelby Springfield moved back to Michigan after her career imploded, a crisis engineered by her scheming ex and former costar, Lyle Jessup. But she's put her past behind her and is busy working with her dad, flipping houses, when Lyle reemerges with a proposal. He wants Shelby and their other former costar, Cameron Riggs, to star in a new home-renovation TV show. Cam has avoided settling down, preferring to shoot documentaries around the globe for National Geographic, but he's willing to give this a try just to be closer to his first love. Despite several deliberate setbacks made to create on-air drama by jealous Lyle, their chemistry both on and off camera is on fire, and their naive attempt to hide it from the crew only heightens the delicious sexual tension. Home renovation was never this sexy, and readers who enjoy small-town ambiance will get their fill with scenes of market festivals, karaoke at the local brewery, and long drives. Hahn has earned new fans with this heart-melting second-chance romance.

From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Review by Publisher's Weekly Review

Transitioning from young adult to contemporary romance, Hahn (Never Saw You Coming) delivers a second-chance love story against the backdrop of home improvement television--with entertaining, if somewhat shoddily constructed, results. Former child star and pop singer Shelby Springfield imploded in the public eye after a messy breakup with her on- and off-screen boyfriend, Lyle Jessup, who cheated on her and blamed the infidelity on his suspicion that she never got over her true first love, their mutual costar Cameron Riggs. Retreating to small-town Michigan and picking up furniture refurbishing, Shelby is content to stay out of the spotlight--until Lyle, now a producer, offers her a gig hosting his new home renovation show alongside Cameron, who's willing to learn home remodeling if it means spending time with Shelby. Hahn never really justifies why Lyle would want to work with his ex--or why he goes on to gently sabotage the shoot--making the very foundation of the plot feel unstable. Still, Shelby and Cameron's chemistry is sweet, and getting to know Shelby's friends (all also former famous people who randomly settled in Michigan) will make readers excited for more in this series. It's a bit of a fixer-upper, but it has plenty of charm. Agent: Kate McKean, Howard Morhaim Literary. (Oct.)

(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Review by Library Journal Review

Former child star Shelby Springfield has never regretted turning her back on Hollywood after a very public breakup and meltdown years ago. Sure, she gets recognized in Michigan, but working full-time with her father restoring historic homes and living a quiet life is fulfilling. When an opportunity arises to film a pilot for a house flipping show, Shelby can't pass up the financial boon it would provide her father, and that she would get to work with her former co-star and childhood sweetheart Cameron Riggs. Cameron made a name for himself as a National Geographic documentarian after being on a tween show for years with Shelby. Tired of living a nomadic, solitary life, Cameron is completely caught off guard when he is suddenly told of an opportunity for stateside work with Shelby. After many missed romantic opportunities, will Shelby and Cameron finally have the courage to reveal the feelings that never went away? VERDICT In her adult debut, Hahn (Never Saw You Coming) successfully brings likable protagonists to life in this character-driven second-chance romance, perfect for fans of Tessa Bailey. Recommended for general purchase where rom-coms are popular.--Nicole J. Suarez

(c) Copyright Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.