Ride on

Faith Erin Hicks

Book - 2022

Victoria has always loved horses. But riding in competitions is high stakes, high stress, and shockingly expensive. And even though Victoria's best friend Taylor loves competing, Victoria has lost her taste for it. After a heartbreaking fight with Taylor, Victoria needs a new start--at a new stables. A place where she doesn't have to worry about anything other than riding. No competition, no drama, no friends.

Saved in:
4 being processed

Bookmobile Children's Show me where

jGRAPHIC NOVEL/Hicks
0 / 1 copies available

Children's Room New Shelf Show me where

jGRAPHIC NOVEL/Hicks
0 / 3 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Bookmobile Children's jGRAPHIC NOVEL/Hicks Due Oct 21, 2022
Children's Room New Shelf jGRAPHIC NOVEL/Hicks (NEW SHELF) Due Oct 24, 2022
Children's Room New Shelf jGRAPHIC NOVEL/Hicks (NEW SHELF) Due Oct 23, 2022
Children's Room New Shelf jGRAPHIC NOVEL/Hicks (NEW SHELF) Due Oct 26, 2022
Subjects
Genres
Children's stories Comic books, strips, etc
Graphic novels
Comics (Graphic works)
Published
New York, NY : First Second 2022.
Language
English
Physical Description
218 pages : chiefly illustrations (color) ; 21 cm
ISBN
1250772826
9781250772824
1250772818
9781250772817
Main Author
Faith Erin Hicks (author)
Other Authors
Kelly Fitzpatrick, 1988- (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

*Starred Review* Though Victoria loves horses, getting riding time requires hours of labor at Waverly Stables to afford it, and she doesn't care enough about high-level competitions to devote so much time. Edgebrook might not be as fancy a facility, but she can ride without pressure there, and Edgebrook's ­regulars—Hazel, Norrie, and Sam—offer her a different, more expansive kind of friendship than what she was getting from her horse-girl friends. Hicks has a keen eye for facial expressions and body language, which she uses to great effect here, making the emotional turns of the plot feel deeply grounded. And of course, there are plenty of affectionate and graceful portrayals of horses. Even if readers aren't obsessed with horses, Victoria's realization that she won't be able to sustain her passion at a competitive level will resonate, and it's refreshing to see that reality played out on the page. Hicks, with colors by Fitzpatrick, vividly renders Hazel, Sam, and Norrie, who enliven the story, and their shared love for a geeky sci-fi TV show helps Victoria find a new way to connect with peers. Stories about shifting friendships for the middle-grade set are common, but Hicks gives hers uncommon depth, thanks to multifaceted and distinctive characters, nuanced conversations about passion and privilege, and heartening emotional growth. A solid, well-wrought comic for fans of character-driven stories and, naturally, anyone obsessed with riding horses. Copyright 2022 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

Strong characterizations and polished digital art distinguish Hicks's pleasurable graphic novel of building friendship through shared devotion. As summer ends, best friends Hazel and Norrie, along with laid-back Sam, the only boy rider at Edgewood Stables, are intrigued by the arrival of a skilled new rider, Victoria, to Edgewood. Droll, quiet Hazel recognizes Victoria from a schooling show at upscale Waverly Stables, prompting chatty Norrie to conclude that Victoria was sent to infiltrate Edgewood. Indifferent to Norrie's welcome ("I'm here to ride, that's it") and subsequent irritation and shunning, Victoria remains focused on training a young gelding while healing from a friendship breakup with a privileged and demanding Waverly rider. When the Edgewood trio discovers that Victoria shares their fondness for vintage sci-fi show Beyond the Galaxy, Victoria's iciness begins to thaw, and the riders bond while discovering strength in supporting each other. Featuring funny dialogue ("Let the shunning commence!") and Hicks's (Comics Will Break Your Heart) signature art—including sharply rendered horses in motion—this attentively layered, low-stakes graphic novel is told with an insider's understanding of both stable culture and fandom. Sam reads as Black, Norrie cues as South Asian, and Hazel and Victoria present as white. Ages 10–14. Agent: Bernadette Baker-Baughman, Victoria Sanders & Assoc. (Aug.) Copyright 2022 Publishers Weekly.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

"Victoria has always loved horses. But riding in competitions is high stakes, high stress, and shockingly expensive. And even though Victoria's best friend Taylor loves competing, Victoria has lost her taste for it. After a heartbreaking fight with Taylor, Victoria needs a new start--at a new stables. A place where she doesn't have to worry about anything other than riding. No competition, no drama, no friends. Just horses. Edgewood Stables seems ideal. There are plenty of horses to ride, and Victoria isperfectly happy giving the other riders the cold shoulder. But can she truly be happy with no friends?"--

Review by Publisher Summary 2

In Ride On, this middle grade graphic novel from Faith Erin Hicks, twelve-year-old Victoria is burned out from the high-pressure world or riding competitions. Can she get back to basics and rekindle her love of horses? Perfect for fans of Best Friends and Stargazing!VIctoria has always loved horses. But riding in competitions is high stakes, high stress, and shockingly expensive. And even though Victoria’s best friend Taylor loves competing, Victoria has lost her taste for it.After a heartbreaking fight with Taylor, Victoria needs a new start—at a new stables. A place where she doesn’t have to worry about anything other than riding. No competition, no drama, no friends. Just horses.Edgewood Stables seems ideal. There are plenty of horses to ride, and Victoria is perfectly happy giving the other riders the cold shoulder. But can she truly be happy with no friends?