From the jump

Lacie Waldon

Book - 2022

"A chronic yes-woman finally admits to what-and who-she really wants in this unforgettable and heartfelt romantic comedy, by the author of The Layover"--

Saved in:
1 being processed

1st Floor New Shelf Show me where

FICTION/Waldon Lacie
0 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor New Shelf FICTION/Waldon Lacie (NEW SHELF) Due Aug 27, 2022
Subjects
Genres
Romance fiction
Novels
Published
New York : G. P. Putnam's Sons [2022]
Language
English
Item Description
"A novel"--Cover.
Includes a readers guide with discussion questions.
Physical Description
338 pages ; 21 cm
ISBN
9780593328279
0593328272
Main Author
Lacie Waldon (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

Waldon follows up the success of The Layover (2021) with an entertaining friends-to-lovers story set in Los Angeles and on a South African safari. Childhood trauma from being unsheltered and poor have made Liv Bakersfield a person who lives strictly by rules. She has cultivated the perfect image and works a safe job at Infinity Designs. Enigmatic and unencumbered by rules, Lucas Deiss is a bit of a cipher to his friends. He runs a popular record store, Studio Sounds, with a lively performance space. Liv and Lucas met as college freshmen, and 11 years later, their group of friends is still tight. For someone for whom a large bank balance is a safety net, leaving a stable job to go freelance after being robbed clean is completely outrageous. Yet, since being with Deiss, Liv decides to pursue her dreams. Under pain of secrecy, Deiss shares his experiences of growing up, only to have Liv share them with their common friend under duress. The betrayal is devastating. How they recapture the magic of their relationship after this is the making of Waldon's latest romance. Copyright 2022 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Booklist Reviews

Waldon follows up the success of The Layover (2021) with an entertaining friends-to-lovers story set in Los Angeles and on a South African safari. Childhood trauma from being unsheltered and poor have made Liv Bakersfield a person who lives strictly by rules. She has cultivated the perfect image and works a safe job at Infinity Designs. Enigmatic and unencumbered by rules, Lucas Deiss is a bit of a cipher to his friends. He runs a popular record store, Studio Sounds, with a lively performance space. Liv and Lucas met as college freshmen, and 11 years later, their group of friends is still tight. For someone for whom a large bank balance is a safety net, leaving a stable job to go freelance after being robbed clean is completely outrageous. Yet, since being with Deiss, Liv decides to pursue her dreams. Under pain of secrecy, Deiss shares his experiences of growing up, only to have Liv share them with their common friend under duress. The betrayal is devastating. How they recapture the magic of their relationship after this is the making of Waldon's latest romance. Copyright 2022 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Library Journal Reviews

Waldon's (The Layover) second novel is a contemporary friends-to-lovers romance with secrets, high drama, and strong elements of found family, proving that relationships, both romantic and platonic, are a choice you never stop making. Liv Bakersfield translated a childhood full of secrets and uncertainty into an adult pursuit of perfection in all things: appearance, career, home design, and relationships. Her rigid adherence to the rules defined in self-help books and blogs has kept her on track, but when she starts saying "no" it feels too good to stop. Soon she's dropping everything to finally go on vacation with her tight-knit group of college friends, throwing her carefully ordered routines to the wind, and growing even closer to her enigmatic friend Lucas Deiss. When Liv returns home, ready for a new career direction, she finds her home and finances in shambles, with Deiss her only option for refuge. VERDICT The love story is satisfying, but Liv's journey (from inflexible, insecure ice queen to confident risk-taker with a strong support network) is the real draw.—Meagan Day Copyright 2022 Library Journal.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

This winning friends-to-lovers romance from Waldon (The Layover) centers on a group of college best friends—Liv, Phoebe, Simone, Mac, and Deiss—who have stayed close for 11 years. Still, Liv feels like the odd one out, envying the others' self-confidence and money. Having grown up poor and occasionally homeless, she works herself to death at her office job. But just before her friends leave for a safari that Liv's afraid to splurge on with them, Deiss challenges Liv to get off the corporate treadmill. Impulsively, she starts saying no to the unfair demands of her job and follows her friends to South Africa. There, she winds up sharing a room with Deiss, who has a secret past of his own. The proximity forces Liv to finally admit her ever-present attraction to Deiss—but Phoebe makes her vow not to ruin the group dynamic by sleeping with him. So when Deiss reveals the attraction is mutual, Liv must decide whether their potential relationship is worth the risk. Though the story starts slowly and Liv remains a repressed character for much of it, the romance is charming and believable and the group's vacation will delight armchair travelers. Fans of Susan Mallery and Jill Shalvis should snap this up. Agent: Claire Friedman, InkWell Management. (July) Copyright 2022 Publishers Weekly.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

"A chronic yes-woman finally admits to what-and who-she really wants in this unforgettable and heartfelt romantic comedy, by the author of The Layover"--

Review by Publisher Summary 2

Liv, an overworked graphic designer decides to start saying “no” and quits her job to join her beloved group of college friends on a vacation in South Africa where she finds herself falling for the emotionally unavailable Lucas. Original.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

A chronic yes-woman finally admits to what—and who—she really wants in this unforgettable and heartfelt romantic comedy, by the author of The Layover.Liv Bakersfield is used to living her life in “shoulds.” Be fit. Be financially responsible. Be your best self. An overworked graphic designer, she’s stretched so thin that she’s about to miss yet another vacation with her beloved group of college friends. But when Liv finally decides to start saying no, it feels good…good enough to leap straight into quitting her job and hopping on a plane to join them in South Africa. Amid the exotic landscape and unforgettable sights, Liv expects sun and safari animals and an easy time with her best friends. But such close proximity makes everything more complicated, especially with the emotionally unavailable Lucas Deiss. Their friendship is the only thing in her life that's still solid, and she vows to do anything she can to keep the group together. But once they get back to LA, Liv discovers that her leap of faith has become a freefall, sending her crashing into Deiss's arms. With the trust of the people she loves most on the line, Liv must decide between doing what she should … and risking everything for what she shouldn’t want.