Tales to keep you up at night

Dan Poblocki

Book - 2022

Ignoring a handwritten warning from her grandmother, Amelia reads an old book she finds in the attic, and as elements from the stories begin to come to life around her, she realizes that she may be in a spooky story of her own.

Saved in:
2 being processed

Children's Room New Shelf Show me where

jFICTION/Poblocki Dan
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Children's Room New Shelf jFICTION/Poblocki Dan (NEW SHELF) Checked In
Subjects
Genres
Thrillers (Fiction)
Novels
Published
New York : Penguin Workshop 2022.
Language
English
Physical Description
262 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm
Audience
Ages 10 and up.
ISBN
9780593387474
0593387473
Main Author
Dan Poblocki (author)
Other Authors
Marie Bergeron, 1985- (illustrator)
Review by PW Annex Reviews

With an opening that states "DON'T READ THIS BOOK" in spindly scrawl, Poblocki (The Ghost of Graylock) sets the scene for this bone-chilling collection couched in an overarching narrative about a girl seeking to uncover the truth about her missing grandmother. Thirteen interconnected short stories follow bespectacled Amelia Turner-Ingersoll in the aftermath of her grandmother's disappearance. As Amelia, her moms, and her younger brother Winter pack up her presumed dead grandmother's house, Amelia finds what she assumes is an old library book titled Tales to Keep You Up at Night. When she attempts to return it, the librarian informs her that it's not actually a library book. Despite the book's warnings not to read it, Amelia settles down to do just that and, once finished, realizes that the library has long since closed, leaving her alone in the building. Ghosts, witches, and demon cars populate the book's tales, and entries are told from varying perspectives, making for distinct narratives. The novel's framework, which alternates between Amelia's real life and the scary stories' contents, slowly builds tension, intricately weaving classic and supernatural horror elements to deliver an immersive experience drenched in ominous atmosphere. Characters default to white. Ages 10–up. (Aug.) Copyright 2022 Publishers Weekly Annex.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

Ignoring a handwritten warning from her grandmother, Amelia reads an old book she finds in the attic, and as elements from the stories begin to come to life around her, she realizes that she may be in a spooky story of her own.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

From the co-author of the #1 New York Times bestselling series The Magic Misfits comes a spectacularly creepy novel that will keep you up way past bedtime. Perfect for fans of Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark!"Grab a flashlight and a blanket—this lives up to its titular claim."— Kirkus ReviewsAmelia is cleaning out her grandmother's attic when she stumbles across a book: Tales to Keep You Up at Night. But when she goes to the library to return it, she's told that the book never belonged there. Curious, she starts to read the stories: tales of strange incidents in nearby towns, of journal entries chronicling endless, twisting pumpkin vines, birthday parties gone awry, and cursed tarot decks. And at the center of the stories lies a family of witches. And witches, she's told, can look like anyone...As elements from the stories begin to come to life around her, and their eerie connections become clear, Amelia begins to realize that she may be in a scary story of her own...With hair-raising, spine-chilling prose, Dan Poblocki delivers a collection of interconnected stories that, if you're anything like Amelia, is sure to keep you up late in the night.