Stinetinglers All new stories by the master of scary tales

R. L. Stine

Book - 2022

A collection of ten scary stories with brief introductions by the author.

Saved in:
2 being processed

Children's Room New Shelf Show me where

jFICTION/Stine, R. L.
1 / 2 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Children's Room New Shelf jFICTION/Stine, R. L. (NEW SHELF) Checked In
Children's Room New Shelf jFICTION/Stine, R. L. (NEW SHELF) Due Oct 19, 2022
Subjects
Genres
Horror fiction
Ghost stories
Monster fiction
Paranormal fiction
Short stories
Published
New York : Feiwel and Friends 2022.
Edition
First edition
Language
English
Physical Description
x, 210 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN
9781250836274
1250836271
Main Author
R. L. Stine (author)
  • Welcome to the In-Between
  • Our little monsters
  • Skin
  • The ghost in the car
  • The boy who heard screams
  • Bugs
  • How to change your life
  • The bad side
  • The hole in the ground
  • The Monster-Maker.
Review by PW Annex Reviews

In these 10 darkly humorous short stories, Stine (the Goosebumps series) delivers bite-size frights. "Welcome to the In-Between," a cautionary tale about middle schooler Gabe, who's always late, opens the collection on a terrifyingly realistic note. After finding, and subsequently breaking, a smartwatch, Gabe becomes stuck in time, living life as if it's moving forward, but the clocks never tick past 6:10 p.m. In "Our Little Monsters," teenage Becka's new gig babysitting preteen terrors results in punny, madcap shenanigans. Creepy-crawly "Bugs" follows Alvie's attempts to work through his fear of insects, with a disastrous outcome. Though the stories are seemingly unconnected, each is preceded by a note from Stine detailing its inspiration, including a childhood anecdote about sibling wrestling matches as well as a pensive observation regarding a snake shedding its skin. Stine's collection, full of disaffected or downright miserable narrators, and bullies who take the form of friends, parents, and siblings, is a harrowing look at myriad current real-life horrors plaguing tweens, and foregrounds the idea that, more often than not, one must be brave enough to save oneself. Most characters are coded as white. Ages 8–12. (Aug.) Copyright 2022 Publishers Weekly Annex.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

The master of middle-grade horror presents a new collection of 10 terrifying tales guaranteed to keep readers up all night. 75,000 first printing. Simultaneous eBook.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

A collection of ten scary stories with brief introductions by the author.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

From New York Times bestselling author R.L. Stine, the master of horror for young readers, comes ten new stories that are sure to leave you shivering.A boy who hates bugs starts to see them everywhere. A basketball player’s skin starts to almost drip off his hands—but no one else can see it. Three friends find a hole in the ground that just gets bigger, and bigger, and bigger... And each story is introduced by Stine himself, providing a personal touch sure to delight fans.Laced with Stine’s signature humor and a hefty dose of nightmarish fun, Stinetinglers is perfect for fans of Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark and Stine’s own Goosebumps books. These chilling tales prove that Stine’s epic legacy in the horror genre is justly earned. Dive in, and beware: you might be sleeping with the lights on tonight!