Bake, borrow, and steal

Ellie Alexander

Book - 2022

"As November's autumnal hues fall over the Shakespearean hamlet of Ashland, Oregon, Jules and her team at Torte are putting the finishing touches on an authentic Elizabethan feast for the opening gala of a new museum exhibit at Southern Oregon University. The unveiling of the Bard's lost manuscript, Double Falsehood, will be celebrated with silky chocolate showpieces, lardy cakes, frangipane tarts, and jellies with chestnut cream. But on the big evening, Jules's relief is sho...rt-lived. Just before the manuscript makes its appearance, rumors swirl that it's missing, and the security guard tasked with keeping the priceless artifact safe has been murdered"--

Saved in:
1 person waiting
1 being processed

1st Floor New Shelf Show me where

MYSTERY/Alexande Ellie
0 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor New Shelf MYSTERY/Alexande Ellie (NEW SHELF) Due Sep 2, 2022
Series
Alexander, Ellie. Bakeshop mystery ; 14.
Subjects
Genres
Mystery fiction
Detective and mystery fiction
Published
New York : St. Martin's Paperbacks 2022.
Edition
St. Martin's paperbacks edition
Language
English
Item Description
Includes recipes.
Physical Description
282 pages ; 18 cm
ISBN
9781250789440
1250789443
Main Author
Ellie Alexander (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

Juliet ("Jules") Montague Capshaw works at Torte, her family's bakery in Ashland, Oregon, home of the Oregon Shakespeare Festival. She has just landed the biggest job of her career, catering the gala for the Southern Oregon Museum of Art's new exhibit of a recently discovered Shakespeare manuscript. Unfortunately, the job also involves creating a giant desk made out of chocolate, and she's no chocolatier. Despite that, everything is going well for Jules and her crew until a man is attacked at the gala, another man dies, and the manuscript disappears, leaving the museum's director as the chief suspect. At the request of the director's niece, Jules investigates, ultimately uncovering a sting operation. The charming, Elizabethan-themed Ashland is vividly described, and the details of baking and Shakespeare's life and work frame the story, as Jules and her husband, Carlos, reconnect after Carlos' secret tore them apart for almost three years. Fans of Diane Mott Davidson, Joanne Fluke, and Sarah Graves will relish the latest in Alexander's Bakeshop Mystery series, following Mocha, She Wrote (2021). Copyright 2021 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

Jules and her team struggle to make chocolate showpieces and an Elizabethan feast for the gala opening of a museum exhibit featuring a lost Shakespeare manuscript, but before the manuscript can be unveiled it goes missing and the security guard assigned to protect it is murdered.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

Ellie Alexander's Bake, Borrow, and Steal, the most delicious installment yet in the Bakeshop Series set in Ashland, Oregon! As the autumnal hues of November fall over the Shakespearean hamlet of Ashland, Oregon, Jules and her team at Torte are working on their biggest event ever. They’ve been invited to create chocolate showpieces for the gala opening of a new exhibit, Shakespeare’s Lost Pages at SOMA. The museum, located on the campus of Southern Oregon University, is getting ready to unveil the Bard’s lost manuscript, Double Falsehood, which is being touted as the greatest artistic discovery of modern times. In addition to molding luscious, silky chocolate into magnificent structures, Torte will be serving an authentic Elizabethan feast straight from the pages of a sixteenth century cookbook featuring Lardy cakes, Frangipane tarts, and jellies with chestnut cream.Jules has underestimated the amount of work required to pull off such a culinary feat. She finds herself in the strange position of feeling frazzled and stressed as the day of the gala approaches. However, her team rallies around her and once the massive works of chocolate art are safely installed at the museum, she can finally let out a sigh of relief and revel in the excitement of the grand celebration. But her relief is short-lived. Right before the unveiling, news quickly begins to spread that Shakespeare’s lost manuscript is missing. Not only that, but the security guard tasked with keeping the priceless artifact safe has been killed. Is this a case of a heist gone terribly wrong? Or could it be that a killer is lurking in the museum archives?