The feeling of falling in love

Mason Deaver

Book - 2022

"Just days before spring break, Neil Kearney is set to fly across the country with his childhood friend (and current friend with benefits) Josh to attend his brother's wedding. Then Josh tells Neil that he's in love with him. With Josh still attending the wedding, Neil needs to find a new date to bring along. Almost against his will, he drafts his horrible roommate, Wyatt. At first, Wyatt (correctly) thinks Neil is acting like a jerk. but when they get to Los Angeles, Wyatt sees a... little more of where it's coming from. Slowly, Neil and Wyatt begin to understand each other . . . and maybe, just maybe, fall in love for the first time"--Adapted from publisher description.

Saved in:
1 being processed

Young Adult New Shelf Show me where

YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Deaver Mason
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Young Adult New Shelf YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Deaver Mason (NEW SHELF) Checked In
Subjects
Genres
Gay fiction
Romance fiction
Published
New York, NY : Push 2022.
Edition
First edition
Language
English
Physical Description
340 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN
9781338777666
1338777661
Main Author
Mason Deaver (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

Neil is almost mentally prepared for his brother's wedding and all it will entail, from dealing with his controlling mother to his transphobic grandparents. That changes when Josh, his friend with benefits (and wedding date), announces he's in love with him—a sentiment Neil emphatically does not share. So, Neil hatches a plan—invite his roommate, Wyatt, as his wedding date and new boyfriend, proving to Josh that he (Neil) has moved on, and Josh should too. But what starts as a simple plan gets infinitely more complicated when the roommate he once despised turns into the one person Neil feels he can be himself around. The Feeling of Falling in Love joins the ever-expanding canon of YA books about fake relationships shifting into true romance. What makes this novel unique is Neil's beautifully written evolution from someone who cuts himself off from those who might love him for fear he's unworthy, to someone who both knows his worth and wants the best for himself and those he loves. Grades 9-12. Copyright 2022 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

Two white teens' fake dating ploy prompts convoluted feelings in Deaver's (The Ghosts We Keep) angsty romance. When 16-year-old transmasculine Neil Kearney's friend-with-benefits, Josh, confesses his love, Neil panics. To end their arrangement, Neil claims he's dating aspiring musician Wyatt, his roommate at their North Carolina boarding school. But Josh still plans to attend Neil's older brother's wedding back home in Beverly Hills. Stressed about Josh uncovering his lie at the event, Neil begs Wyatt (who is queer and "not quite ready to have those conversations. Even with myself," when prompted for additional labels) to accompany him. Though he initially declines, Wyatt eventually agrees to attend—in exchange for Neil promising to set up an audition with his record producer brother. During the weeklong wedding festivities, Neil manages jealousy over Josh potentially dating another boy and annoyance at his family's fixation on his physical appearance as he gradually realizes that he might be falling for his fake boyfriend. While Wyatt's seemingly unending patience with Neil's occasionally grating brashness sometimes reads as overly idealized, Deaver details Neil's challenges navigating body dysmorphia and transphobia, and his slowly dawning self-awareness toward his treatment of others, with empathy. Ages 14–up. Agent: Lauren Abramo, Dystel, Goderich & Bourret. (Aug.) Copyright 2022 Publishers Weekly.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

"Neil Kearney is set to fly across the country with his childhood friend...Josh, to attend his brother's wedding...until Josh tells Neil that he's in love with him and Neil doesn't return the sentiment...Neil needs to find a new date to bring along. And,almost against his will, roommate Wyatt is drafted. At first, Wyatt (correctly) thinks Neil is acting like a jerk. But when they get to LA, Wyatt sees a little more of where it's coming from. Slowly, Neil and Wyatt begin to understand one another"--

Review by Publisher Summary 2

From the bestselling author of I Wish You All the Best, comes a new kind of love story, about the bad decisions we sometimes make... and the people who help get us back on the right path.Perfect for fans of Red, White, and Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston and What If It's Us by Adam Silvera and Becky Albertalli.Just days before spring break, Neil Kearney is set to fly across the country with his childhood friend (and current friend-with-benefits) Josh, to attend his brother's wedding—until Josh tells Neil that he's in love with him and Neil doesn't return the sentiment.With Josh still attending the wedding, Neil needs to find a new date to bring along. And, almost against his will, roommate Wyatt is drafted.At first, Wyatt (correctly) thinks Neil is acting like a jerk. But when they get to LA, Wyatt sees a little more of where it's coming from. Slowly, Neil and Wyatt begin to understand one another… and maybe, just maybe, fall in love for the first time…