Patricia wants to cuddle

Samantha Allen

Book - 2022

When the final four women in competition for an aloof, if somewhat sleazy, bachelor's heart arrive on a mysterious island in the Pacific Northwest, they mentally prepare themselves for another week of extreme sleep deprivation, invasive interviews, and of course, the salacious drama that viewers nationwide tune in to eagerly devour. Each woman came on "The Catch" for her own reasons--brand sponsorships, followers, and yes, even love--and they've all got their eyes steadfastly... trained on their respective prizes. Enter Patricia, a temperamental, but woefully misunderstood local, living alone in the dark, verdant woods and desperate to forge a connection of her own. As the contestants perform for the cameras that surround them, Patricia watches from her place in the shadows, a queer specter haunting the bombastic display of heterosexuality before her. But when the cast and crew at last make her acquaintance atop the island's tallest and most desolate peak, they soon realize that if they're to have any hope of making it to the next Elimination Event, they'll first have to survive the night.

Saved in:
3 people waiting
1 being processed

1st Floor New Shelf Show me where

FICTION/Allen Samantha
0 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor New Shelf FICTION/Allen Samantha (NEW SHELF) Due Aug 13, 2022
Subjects
Genres
Horror fiction
Lesbian fiction
Romance fiction
Humorous fiction
Love stories
Novels
Published
New York : Zando 2022.
Edition
First edition
Language
English
Physical Description
x, 242 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN
9781638930044
163893004X
Main Author
Samantha Allen (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

The Bachelor–style show The Catch is down to its final four contestants: Vanessa, the sexy villain; Amanda, the car model turned influencer; Lilah-Mae, the Christian; and Renee, who knows she's there only as the token Black contestant. They are all on their way to isolated Otters Island to film the final episodes of the season, along with a handful of crew, one mostly drunken host, and Jeremy, the "catch" they're all competing for. The island, once a getaway for the LGBTQ community, has faded in popularity since the disappearance of four female hikers a decade before. The narrative switches perspective between the four contestants plus Casey, the lead production assistant, and includes blog posts, letters, and message-board threads. This horror-comedy is heavy on the comedy and light on the gore—until the last 50 or so pages, when a lesbian bigfoot reveals herself and begins to terrorize the production. Genuinely funny, surprising, and even—at times—heartwarming. Recommended for fans of Grady Hendrix or Jessica Knoll. Copyright 2022 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Booklist Reviews

The Bachelor–style show The Catch is down to its final four contestants: Vanessa, the sexy villain; Amanda, the car model turned influencer; Lilah-Mae, the Christian; and Renee, who knows she's there only as the token Black contestant. They are all on their way to isolated Otters Island to film the final episodes of the season, along with a handful of crew, one mostly drunken host, and Jeremy, the "catch" they're all competing for. The island, once a getaway for the LGBTQ community, has faded in popularity since the disappearance of four female hikers a decade before. The narrative switches perspective between the four contestants plus Casey, the lead production assistant, and includes blog posts, letters, and message-board threads. This horror-comedy is heavy on the comedy and light on the gore—until the last 50 or so pages, when a lesbian bigfoot reveals herself and begins to terrorize the production. Genuinely funny, surprising, and even—at times—heartwarming. Recommended for fans of Grady Hendrix or Jessica Knoll. Copyright 2022 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

Allen (Real Queer America) debuts with an amusing and jolting look at a dating show gone horribly wrong. Four contestants on the reality show The Catch—think Naked and Afraid meets The Bachelor—converge on an eerie island in the Pacific Northwest. There's the reserved Renee Irons, Christian influencer Lilah-Mae Adams, shrewd model Vanessa Voorhees, and cheerful vlogger Amanda Parker. All face harrowing events as they vie for a spot in the show's finale (and a proposal from entrepreneur Jeremy Blackstone). With only two weeks to go, the women try to advance their goals, which vary from finding true love to boosting their social media brands—but they soon begin to glimpse a mysterious "creature" named Patricia lurking in the shadows. When Patricia finally strikes, the results are grotesque and shocking, laying bare the island's dark history. The characters, however, often feel flat, with insufficient details about the women's lives, and Allen leaves several loose ends dangling. Still, she cleverly explores themes of human connection, social acceptance, and the harms of social media as the contestants vie for what they want and the show's producer takes staggering measures to boost ratings. Despite the flaws, there's enough invention here to keep readers on board. Agent: Leila Campoli, Stonesong. (June) Copyright 2022 Publishers Weekly.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

Vying for a somewhat sleazy bachelor’s heart, the final four women on a reality TV show arrive on a mysterious island where they instead find themselves competing for their lives after meeting, Patricia, a temperamental and woe-fully misunderstood local desperate for connection.75,000 first printing.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

The Millions and LitHub Most Anticipated Books • CrimeReads Best New Fiction • SheReads Best Horror Books Coming in 2022“A one-of-a-kind queer horror comedy for people who watch The Bachelor and The X-Files back-to-back.” —Kirkus ReviewsOn this season of The Catch, contestants must compete for love. And their lives. When the final four women in competition for an aloof, somewhat sleazy bachelor’s heart arrive on a mysterious island in the Pacific Northwest, they prepare themselves for another week of extreme sleep deprivation, invasive interviews, and, of course, the salacious drama eager viewers nationwide tune in to devour. Each woman came on The Catch for her own reasons—brand sponsorships, followers, and, yes, even love—and they’ve all got their eyes steadfastly trained on their respective prizes. Enter Patricia, a temperamental and woefully misunderstood local living alone in the dark, verdant woods, and desperate for connection. Through twists as unexpected as they are wildly entertaining, the self-absorbed cast and jaded crew each make her acquaintance atop the island’s tallest and most desolate peak, finding themselves at the center of an action-packed thriller that is far from scripted—and only a few will make the final cut. A whirlwind romp careening toward a last-girl-standing conclusion, and a scathing indictment of contemporary American media culture, Patricia Wants to Cuddle is also a love story: between star-crossed lesbians who rise above their intolerant town, a deeply ambivalent woman and her budding self-actualization, and a group of misfit islanders forging community against all odds.