The truth about Ben and June A novel

Alex Kiester

Book - 2022

"From the moment Ben and June met in a hospital waiting room on New Year's Eve, their love has seemed fated. Looking back at all the tiny, unlikely decisions that brought them together, it was easy to believe their relationship was special. But now, after several years of marriage, June is struggling as a new mom. At times, she wonders about the life she didn't choose -- what might have been if she hadn't given up the lead role in a famous ballet to start a family. Feeling li...ke a bad mom and more alone than ever, she writes to her deceased mother, hoping for a sign of what she should do next. One morning, Ben wakes to the sound of his baby and quickly realizes that June is gone, along with her suitcase. As Ben attempts to piece together June's disappearance, her new friends mention things he knows nothing about -- a mysterious petition, June's falling-out with another mom, her strange fixation on a Greek myth. The more Ben uncovers about June, the more he realizes how little he actually knows her. And now the only way to bring June home is to understand why she left."--

Saved in:
1 being processed

1st Floor New Shelf Show me where

FICTION/Kiester Alex
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor New Shelf FICTION/Kiester Alex (NEW SHELF) Checked In
Subjects
Genres
Detective and mystery fiction
Domestic fiction
Published
Toranto, Ontario, Canada : Park Row Books [2022]
Language
English
Physical Description
309 pages ; 23 cm
ISBN
9780778311959
0778311953
Main Author
Alex Kiester (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

Ben and June were blindsided by the pregnancy, but they knew they had no right to be. They had been married for years, they had two stable incomes, and they loved each other. But when Mikey arrived, June's gnawing suspicion that she wasn't cut out for motherhood only grew stronger. She tried to feel maternal, even setting timers to focus solely on bonding with her infant son; but every trick failed. So when June goes missing, Ben tries to retrace her steps and get inside her head to bring her back. In her debut novel, Kiester dives inside the murky, muddled world of postpartum emotions to share how a stable marriage can crack under the strain of parenthood, insecurities, and stress. Never blaming June or Ben for the problems in their relationship, Kiester allows each character to explore the allure of alternate paths and the pain of missed opportunities. Fans of Marian Keyes, Janelle Brown, and Kimberly Belle will appreciate Kiester's ability to blend the drama of a domestic thriller with a touching portrait of parenthood. Copyright 2022 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Booklist Reviews

Ben and June were blindsided by the pregnancy, but they knew they had no right to be. They had been married for years, they had two stable incomes, and they loved each other. But when Mikey arrived, June's gnawing suspicion that she wasn't cut out for motherhood only grew stronger. She tried to feel maternal, even setting timers to focus solely on bonding with her infant son; but every trick failed. So when June goes missing, Ben tries to retrace her steps and get inside her head to bring her back. In her debut novel, Kiester dives inside the murky, muddled world of postpartum emotions to share how a stable marriage can crack under the strain of parenthood, insecurities, and stress. Never blaming June or Ben for the problems in their relationship, Kiester allows each character to explore the allure of alternate paths and the pain of missed opportunities. Fans of Marian Keyes, Janelle Brown, and Kimberly Belle will appreciate Kiester's ability to blend the drama of a domestic thriller with a touching portrait of parenthood. Copyright 2022 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

Spouses Ben and June Gilmore have been drifting apart for years in Kiester's bittersweet debut. After a period of increasingly erratic behavior, June disappears, leaving Ben with their newborn son. Ben's initial anger morphs into concern, then guilt, as he reads her journal entries, talks with other moms in their social network, and reflects on his deteriorating marriage. A key theme is the Greek tragedy of Medea—June, a former professional dancer, was cast to play the character in a major ballet production, and the story of a "powerful sorceress to nothing more than a jaded, housebound mother and wife" resonated with her. Through Ben's reflections and June's writings, Kiester artfully depicts the highs and lows of the marriage, including a death in the family and the unexpected pregnancy that caused their relationship to slowly implode, as well as June's feeling that Ben was "cheating on her with his work" at his law firm. Though the conclusion feels a bit trite, Kiester demonstrates a compassion for her characters and draws in the reader with her understated approach. Even though the ending comes up short, there is plenty to chew on along the way. Agent: Sarah Phair, Sanford J. Greenburger Assoc. (June) Copyright 2022 Publishers Weekly.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

Told through alternating perspectives of husband and wife, this exploration of modern-day marriage and motherhood follows Ben as he attempts to piece together his wife June’s disappearance and realizes the only way to bring her home is to understand why she left. 75,000 first printing.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

Told through alternating perspectives of husband and wife, this exploration of modern-day marriage and motherhood follows Ben as he attempts to piece together his wife June's disappearance and realizes the only way to bring her home is to understand why she left.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

"This powerful novel takes an honest, unflinching look at the challenges of modern parenthood from both sides of a marriage." - Tracey Lange, New York Times bestselling author of We Are the BrennansA heartfelt debut that explores the complexity of a modern-day marriage when a new mother vanishes one morning and her husband must retrace events of their recent past to bring her home.Love isn’t something that happens to you; it’s something you must choose every day.From the moment Ben and June met in a hospital waiting room on New Year’s Eve, their love has seemed fated. Looking back at all the tiny, unlikely decisions that brought them together, it was easy to believe their relationship was special. But now, after several years of marriage, June is struggling as a new mom. At times, she wonders about the life she didn’t choose—what might have been if she hadn’t given up the lead role in a famous ballet to start a family. Feeling like a bad mom and more alone than ever, she writes to her deceased mother, hoping for a sign of what she should do next.One morning, Ben wakes to the sound of his baby and quickly realizes that June is gone, along with her suitcase. As Ben attempts to piece together June’s disappearance, her new friends mention things he knows nothing about—a mysterious petition, June’s falling-out with another mom, her strange fixation on a Greek myth. The more Ben uncovers about June, the more he realizes how little he actually knows her. And now the only way to bring June home is to understand why she left.Told through alternating perspectives of husband and wife, The Truth About Ben and June is a witty and wise page-turner about life’s many crossroads and a heartfelt reminder that we create our own destiny.