Maggie moves on

Lucy Score

Book - 2022

"Ready for her next challenge, house flipper and YouTube sensation Maggie Nichols arrives in Kinship, Idaho, with only a cot and a coffeemaker, to bring a crumbling eighteen-room Victorian mansion back to life in four months, five tops. At least, that's the idea until she meets tall, charming landscaper Silas Wright. Maggie hates distractions from her mile-long to-do list. Even if the distraction looks really good shirtless. Now not only does she have a determined suitor on her hands, ...there's her half-sister who shows up on her doorstep with a toddler and a big ask. And her ex-husband Dean and Silas's stepbrother who start to a explore a romantic relationship of their own. Not to mention a treasure hunt for hidden gold. Silas is confident he'll win in the end and isn't above playing dirty. He's constantly distracting Maggie with things like kayaking and skinny-dipping. In bed, he teaches her how to really let go. Despite her best efforts, Maggie just might be falling for him but that doesn't mean she's going to stay. She never stays. Her entire career is built on moving on. As the completion of the house looms, Silas's mother and stepmother deliver some sage wisdom: If he really loves Maggie, he can't just ask her to give up everything for him. He also has to be willing to give it all up for her"--

Saved in:
3 people waiting
1 being processed

1st Floor New Shelf Show me where

FICTION/Score Lucy
0 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor New Shelf FICTION/Score Lucy (NEW SHELF) Due Aug 9, 2022
Subjects
Genres
Romance fiction
Novels
Fiction
Published
New York, NY : Forever 2022.
Edition
First edition
Language
English
Physical Description
403 pages ; 21 cm
ISBN
9781538707081
153870708X
Main Author
Lucy Score (author)
Review by Library Journal Reviews

In Score's (Things We Never Got Over) latest contemporary romance, Maggie Nichols, a YouTube house-flipping star, has purchased the Old Campbell Place in the small town of Kinship, ID, for her next project. She's hired several local businesses to help out, including a landscaping company owned by hot, cocky Silas Wright. There's instant chemistry between Silas and Maggie, but she has a rule: no fun with contractors. After all, she's only in the small town for a few months and has no plans to ever settle down. Silas, born and raised in Kinship, takes one look at Maggie and knows she's exactly who he wants as his wife. Now he just has to convince her of that. This steamy, opposites-attract contemporary romance is fast-paced and engaging. The book is well written, with exceptional dialogue and witty banter among the characters. Silas and Maggie are likable and relatable, and readers will fall in love with them and their found family. VERDICT Highly recommended, especially for fans of Nora Roberts and Tessa Bailey.—Heather Miller Cover Copyright 2022 Library Journal.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

This fun, frothy romance from Score (Things We Never Got Over) follows YouTube star Maggie Nichols, who flips houses for her channel without ever thinking about setting down roots of her own. Maggie's undaunted by the challenge posed by her latest project—flipping an immense mansion in the middle of nowhere (aka Kinship, Idaho)—but she definitely doesn't have time for "Hot Landscaper Guy" Silas Wright's flirtation (even if his dog charms her). Her to-do list is long and her desire to date is short. Hopeless romantic Silas isn't deterred; the moment he laid eyes on Maggie he was convinced she was "the one." Gleefully pushed together by their families (both biological and found), Maggie and Silas find time to romp around Kinship while finishing the house and solving a century-old local mystery. Through the endearing protagonists and their team of contractors, Score demonstrates a talent for writing strong characters who are smart, funny, and wildly appealing. The zippy dialogue and abundant humor will have readers hooked. Agent: Mark Gottlieb, Trident Media. (June) Copyright 2022 Publishers Weekly.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

"Ready for her next challenge, house flipper and YouTube sensation Maggie Nichols arrives in Kinship, Idaho, with only a cot and a coffeemaker, to bring a crumbling eighteen-room Victorian mansion back to life in four months, five tops. At least, that's the idea until she meets tall, charming landscaper Silas Wright. Maggie hates distractions from her mile-long to-do list. Even if the distraction looks really good shirtless. Now not only does she have a determined suitor on her hands, there's her half-sister who shows up on her doorstep with a toddler and a big ask. And her ex-husband Dean and Silas's stepbrother who start to a explore a romantic relationship of their own. Not to mention a treasure hunt for hidden gold. Silas is confident he'll win in the end and isn't above playing dirty. He's constantly distracting Maggie with things like kayaking and skinny-dipping. In bed, he teaches her how to really let go. Despite her best efforts, Maggie just might be falling for him but that doesn't mean she's going to stay. She never stays. Her entire career is built on moving on. As the completion of the house looms, Silas's mother and stepmother deliver some sage wisdom: If he really loves Maggie, he can't just ask her to give up everything for him. He also has to be willing to give it all up for her"--

Review by Publisher Summary 2

While in Kinship, Idaho restoring a crumbling Victorian mansion, house-flipping star and YouTube sensation Maggie Nichols has a steamy affair with landscaper Silas Wright who, breaking down her emotional walls, throws a wrench in her plans for moving on. Original. 50,000 first printing.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

Can these opposites turn up the heat… without burning down the house?House-flipping sensation and YouTube star Maggie Nichols can’t wait to dig into her next challenge. Arriving in tiny Kinship, Idaho, with only a cot and a coffeemaker, Maggie is prepared to restore a crumbling Victorian mansion in four months or less. She has her to-do lists, her blueprints, and her team. What she doesn’t have is time for sexy, laid-back landscaper Silas Wright.The man takes flirtation to a whole new level. And he does it shirtless…sometimes pants-less. He and his service school-dropout dog are impressively persistent. But she’s not interested in putting down roots. Not when fans tune in to watch her travel the country turning dilapidated houses into dream homes. A short-term fling on the other hand could fit nicely into her calendar. After all, Maggie remembers what fun is like. Vaguely.As their summer gets downright steamy, Silas manages to demolish the emotional walls she’s spent years building, sending Maggie into a panic. He’s the wrench in her carefully constructed plans. With the end of the project looming, she has a decision to make. But how can she stay when her entire career is built on moving on?

Review by Publisher Summary 4

Can these opposites turn up the heat… without burning down the house?House-flipping sensation and YouTube star Maggie Nichols can’t wait to dig into her next challenge. Arriving in tiny Kinship, Idaho, with only a cot and a coffeemaker, Maggie is prepared to restore a crumbling Victorian mansion in four months or less. She has her to-do lists, her blueprints, and her team. What she doesn’t have is time for sexy, laid-back landscaper Silas Wright.The man takes flirtation to a whole new level. And he does it shirtless…sometimes pants-less. He and his service school-dropout dog are impressively persistent. But she’s not interested in putting down roots. Not when fans tune in to watch her travel the country turning dilapidated houses into dream homes. A short-term fling on the other hand could fit nicely into her calendar. After all, Maggie remembers what fun is like. Vaguely.As their summer gets downright steamy, Silas manages to demolish the emotional walls she’s spent years building, sending Maggie into a panic. He’s the wrench in her carefully constructed plans. With the end of the project looming, she has a decision to make. But how can she stay when her entire career is built on moving on?