Red flags

Lisa Black, 1963-

Book - 2022

D.C. crime scene analyst Dr. Ellie Barr and pathologist Dr. Rachael Davies, former adversaries-turned-allies, must work together to find a missing baby, the child of a Washington power couple, in a kidnapping linked to a lobbying effort to loosen regulations on a billion-dollar gaming empire.

Saved in:
1 person waiting
1 being processed

1st Floor New Shelf Show me where

MYSTERY/Black Lisa
0 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor New Shelf MYSTERY/Black Lisa (NEW SHELF) Due Aug 25, 2022
Series
Black, Lisa, 1963- Locard Institute thriller.
Subjects
Genres
Suspense fiction
Thrillers (Fiction)
Novels
Published
New York, NY : Kensington Publishing Corp 2022.
Edition
First Kensington hardcover edition
Language
English
Physical Description
338 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN
9781496736901
1496736907
Main Author
Lisa Black, 1963- (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

Ellie Carr was orphaned at a young age and raised by various relatives, including her Aunt Katey and cousin Becca. But Ellie and Becca grew apart, and it's been years since they've seen each other. Now, Ellie is a member of the FBI Evidence Response Team while Becca is an advisor to a Senate committee and married to wealthy entrepreneur Hunter, who's about to launch an IPO for a kids' online-gaming platform. Imagine Ellie's shock when she's called out to collect evidence for a baby's kidnapping, and the child turns out to be Becca and Hunter's son. The FBI agrees to keep Ellie on the case, despite her being related to Becca. A diabolical plot linked to Hunter's gaming platform, the kidnapping of kids whose parents are part of his company, and a zealous lobbying group all play roles in Black's twist-filled narrative. Although the extensive detail concerning Congressional hearings and the dangers of online gaming sometimes slows the story, there is more than enough suspense to keep readers fully engaged until the sad and shocking ending. Copyright 2022 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

This solid series launch from bestseller Black (the Maggie Gardiner and Jack Renner series) introduces forensics experts Ellie Carr and Rachael Davies. Ellie, part of the FBI's evidence response team in Washington, D.C., arrives at a mansion on the banks of the Potomac to investigate the disappearance of four-month-old Mason Carlisle, who vanished from his crib in the middle of the afternoon with no trace and, so far, no ransom demand. The baby's father, Hunter, owns a lobbying firm, and his mother, Rebecca, is a policy adviser to the Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation. She also happens to be Ellie's cousin, with whom she hasn't communicated in more than 15 years. Hunter, not satisfied with the FBI's progress, calls in Rachael from the Locard Institute, one of the best equipped forensics labs in the country, to help with the investigation. Soon other children whose parents are connected to an online gaming site are kidnapped, and Ellie and Rachael join forces to solve a multilayered crime. Black packs the novel with fascinating details for crime scene buffs, who will eagerly await the next case for the intrepid CSIs. Agent: Vicky Bijur, Vicky Bijur Literary. (Aug.) Copyright 2022 Publishers Weekly.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

D.C. crime scene analyst Dr. Ellie Barr and pathologist Dr. Rachael Davies, former adversaries-turned-allies, must work together to find a missing baby, the child of a Washington power couple, in a kidnapping linked to a lobbying effort to loosen regulations on a billion-dollar gaming empire.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

New York Times bestselling author Lisa Black weaves her own professional expertise as a crime scene analyst into the first in a tantalizingly taut new forensic thriller series featuring Dr. Ellie Carr and Dr. Rachael Davies, Washington DC forensic scientists untangling a political scandal involving kidnapped children… Perfect for fans of Tess Gerritsen’s Rizzoli and Isles thrillers and Kathy Reichs’ Temperance Brennan Novels.When D.C. crime scene analyst Dr. Ellie Carr is called to investigate the heartrending case of a missing baby, she’s shocked to discover that the child’s mother is her own cousin. Close during their impoverished childhoods, Ellie and Rebecca eventually drifted apart. Rebecca is now half of a Washington power couple, and she and her wealthy lobbyist husband, Hunter, have been living a charmed life in an opulent mansion—until their infant son is taken. “Every contact leaves a trace.” That’s the basic principle of forensic science followed by pathologist Dr. Rachael Davies. A reluctant Ellie is teamed with Rachael, employed by Hunter to help with the investigation. Rachael is assistant dean at the prestigious Locard Forensic Institute, named in honor of the French criminologist who inspired the profession. But in this case, discovering where those traces lead quickly becomes a dangerous journey through a web of greed and deadly ambition. At first antagonists, then allies, Ellie and Rachael race to find the baby alive and bring the kidnappers to justice. What seemed like a simple ransom grab reveals links to a lobbying effort to loosen regulations on a billion-dollar gaming empire. Unless they can piece together the evidence before the Senate hearing, Rebecca’s son—and others like him—will face an unthinkable fate…