Lou

Breanna Carzoo

Book - 2022

"Meet Lou. Lou has an important job ... as the neighborhood toilet for dogs on their walks. Useful as he may be, he gets the feeling that deep down inside, there might be more to him than that. He just doesn't seem to know exactly what yet. When disaster strikes, will Lou find out what he's made of and save the day?"--

Saved in:

Bookmobile Children's Show me where

jE/Carzoo
0 / 1 copies available

Children's Room New Shelf Show me where

jE/Carzoo
1 / 3 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Bookmobile Children's jE/Carzoo Due Oct 13, 2022
Children's Room New Shelf jE/Carzoo (NEW SHELF) Due Oct 23, 2022
Children's Room New Shelf jE/Carzoo (NEW SHELF) Due Oct 16, 2022
Children's Room New Shelf jE/Carzoo (NEW SHELF) Checked In
Subjects
Genres
Picture books
Published
New York, NY : Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers [2022]
Edition
First edition
Language
English
Physical Description
32 unnumbered pages : color illustrations ; 29 cm
ISBN
9780063054059
0063054051
Main Author
Breanna Carzoo (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

Lou is a red fire hydrant, though you may not have noticed, what with the steady stream of dogs peeing on him all the time. Even he hasn't noticed! Lou can only watch in exasperation as one pup after another sniffs, twirls, twists, and lifts a leg to . . . "well, you know." But Lou knows that he has hidden potential deep down—literally: readers get a belowground glimpse of the teeming water main connected to his base. It's not until a firefighter rushes up with a (dalmatian's) sniff, (water valve) twirl, (hose attachment) twist, and (hose) lift, rescuing the nearby Doggy Day Care from flames, that Lou learns he is more than just a loo. Carzoo's hilarious debut marries a clever conceit with irresistible character design (an object with big eyes and a little mouth) to charm readers and impart a nice story of self-discovery. Sharp cut-paper collage brings Lou's street to life, with a variety of pups in amusing poses and bright colors set off by white backdrops. Great fun, sure to make a splash at story time. Preschool-Grade 1. Copyright 2022 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

"My name is Lou, and I'm... a toilet," announces the red, goggle-eyed fire hydrant protagonist of this debut work. Cut-paper art shows a long queue of pooches, their owners portrayed with various abilities and skin tones, eying Lou. (One orange and white dog stands on crossed hind legs and holds its crotch in a pose that should be instantly familiar to any kid who's ever had the gotta-go wriggles.) "All day, every day," Lou says, these dogs "SNIFF and TWIST and TWIRL and LIFT," resulting in "well, you know"—a spread devoted entirely to a bright yellow pee stream shows it crossing the book's gutter and hitting the ground with an impressive visual splash. Understandably, Lou hopes that finding a use in life will mean something more, a wish that's granted when a fire breaks out in a nearby building. A firefighter, led by a keen-nosed dalmatian, hooks up a hose to Lou and sends forth a torrent of water to save the building: "WHOA! WHOOSH! WOO HOO!" Carzoo uses direct, heartfelt prose and toylike images to infuse a quotidian object with winning personality and genuine poignancy—it won't be a stretch for readers to identify with this small, put-upon character who discovers a bigger sense of purpose. Ages 4–8. Agent: Adria Goetz, Martin Literary. (June) Copyright 2022 Publishers Weekly.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

"Meet Lou. Lou has an important job . . . as the neighborhood toilet for dogs on their walks. Useful as he may be, he gets the feeling that deep down inside, there might be more to him than that. He just doesn't seem to know exactly what yet. When disaster strikes, will Lou find out what he's made of and save the day?"--

Review by Publisher Summary 2

Don’t miss this humorous and heartwarming picture book by debut creator Breanna Carzoo about an unlikely everyday hero: a fire hydrant! Perfect for fans of The Good Egg and The Bad Seed.Meet Lou. Lou has an important job . . . as the neighborhood toilet for dogs on their walks.Useful as he may be, he gets the feeling that deep down inside, there might be more to him than that. He just doesn’t seem to know exactly what yet. When disaster strikes, will Lou find out what he’s made of and save the day?From debut creator Breanna Carzoo comes a charming and funny story that reminds us to never let anyone—including yourself—hold you back from sharing your gifts with the world.Kids will fall in love with Lou and his journey of self-discovery as he saves the day from a fire that breaks out in an apartment building nearby. You’ll never be able to look at a fire hydrant the same way again!