Pandemic, Inc Chasing the capitalists and thieves who got rich while we got sick

J. David McSwane

Book - 2022

"The United States federal government has spent over $10 billion on medical protective wear and emergency supplies, yet as COVID-19 swept the nation, life-saving equipment such as masks, gloves, and ventilators was nearly impossible to find. In this brilliant nonfiction thriller, award-winning investigative reporter J. David McSwane takes us behind the scenes to reveal how traders, contractors, and healthcare companies used one of the darkest moments in American history to fill their pocket...s. Determined to uncover how this was possible, he spent over a year on private jets and in secret warehouses, traveling from California to Chicago to Washington DC, to interview both the most treacherous of profiteers and the victims of their crimes. Pandemic, Inc. is the story of the fraudster who signed a multi-million-dollar contract with the government to provide lifesaving PPE, and yet never came up with a single mask. The Navy admiral at the helm of the national hunt for additional medical resources. The Department of Health whistleblower who championed masks early on and was silenced by the government and conservative media. And the politician who callously slashed federal emergency funding and gutted the federal PPE stockpile." -- Amazon.

Saved in:
1 being processed

2nd Floor New Shelf Show me where

614.592414/McSwane
0 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
2nd Floor New Shelf 614.592414/McSwane (NEW SHELF) Due Jun 7, 2022
Subjects
Published
New York : One Signal Publishers/Atria 2022.
Edition
First One Signal Publishers/Atria Books hardcover edition
Language
English
Physical Description
xi, 317 pages ; 24 cm
Bibliography
Includes bibliographical references (pages 265-297) and index.
ISBN
9781982177744
1982177748
Main Author
J. David McSwane (author)
  • The private jet
  • "Hindsight just isn't what it used to be"
  • "We're in deep shit"
  • Into a gunfight with a box of tissues
  • "It's like being on eBay with fifty other states"
  • "You might be buying a Ferrari"
  • Release the billions
  • Buccaneers and pirates
  • Airborne
  • History rhymes
  • "Juaunita Ramos is either a stripper in Atlanta or a Native American medicine woman"
  • How to make millions selling masks, in thee easy steps!
  • "I'm not going to take any of this"
  • "It works as hand sanitizer, too!"
  • "Greg Abbott cares about Greg Abbott"
  • "What's your problem, man?"
  • Money for nothing, checks for free
  • Dazed and confused
  • Lucrative lies
  • Underlying conditions
  • "Capitalism, baby"
  • The death pits
  • A pirate walks the plank.
Review by Booklist Reviews

*Starred Review* A shrewd salesman once said, "In confusion, there is profit." That could well have been the motto of every business, large and small, primed to cash in on the massive amounts of federal funding issued to obtain all things COVID-19-related in the pandemic's early months. From masks to ventilators, essential goods were in short supply, and the Trump administration didn't much care who or how or even when those orders were filled. As billions poured into the procurement pipeline, a swarm of grifters, con artists, and charlatans who knew how to game the system but not actually get the goods raced to snag these lucrative government contracts. Unlike many business exposés in which not every reader will have a vested interest, McSwane's unravelling of corporate, government, and private shenanigans during the COVID-19 crisis packs a tremendous wallop because the pandemic has impacted everyone to various degrees. At a time when COVID-19 exhaustion is settling in, McSwane, an award-winning investigative journalist for the independent, nonprofit media outlet ProPublica, introduces the sketchy world of opportunists and their slippery network of connections, sparking fresh outrage over the time wasted and lives lost while greed and profit trumped public health and safety. Copyright 2022 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

Swindlers, price gougers, and unscrupulous politicians profited from the Covid-19 pandemic, according to this eye-opening investigation from ProPublica journalist McSwane. He alleges that much of the $8 billion handed out by the Paycheck Protection Program went to "unsavory actors," and notes that senators Richard Burr and Kelly Loeffler sold off their stock portfolios in February 2020 after hearing a classified briefing about the novel coronavirus. McSwane also reveals that, based on a recommendation by Jared Kushner, a Silicon Valley engineer with "no experience in medical supplies or government procurement" was given an $86 million contract by the state of New York to produce 1,450 ventilators and failed to deliver a single piece of equipment. In Dallas, McSwane visits the "crumbling" factory of Prestige Ameritech, one of the few American mask manufacturers, and meets an executive whose warnings about the dangers of relying on overseas companies for masks and other medical equipment went unheeded for more than a decade before Covid-19 hit. In San Antonio, McSwane talks with a man who repackages KN95 masks not approved for a medical setting and sells them to local hospitals. Lucid analysis and dogged reporting make this a startling exposé of how unfettered capitalism, startup culture, and government corruption exacerbated the worst effects of the pandemic. (Apr.) Copyright 2022 Publishers Weekly.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

In this nonfiction thriller, a ProPublica investigative reporter connects the dots between backdoor deals and the spoils systems to provide the definitive account of how the COVID-19 pandemic was so catastrophically mishandled.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

In this brilliant—and shocking—nonfiction thriller, an award-winning ProPublica investigative reporter connects the dots between backdoor deals and the spoils systems to provide the definitive account of how this pandemic was so catastrophically mishandled. 75,000 first printing.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

“This startling, vital book deserves our attention.” —San Francisco Chronicle For readers of War Dogs and Bad Blood, an explosive look inside the rush to profit from the COVID-19 pandemic, from the award-winning ProPublica reporter who saw it firsthand. The United States federal government has spent over $10 billion on medical protective wear and emergency supplies, yet as COVID-19 swept the nation, life-saving equipment such as masks, gloves, and ventilators was nearly impossible to find. In this brilliant nonfiction thriller, award-winning investigative reporter J. David McSwane takes us behind the scenes to reveal how traders, contractors, and healthcare companies used one of the darkest moments in American history to fill their pockets. Determined to uncover how this was possible, he spent over a year on private jets and in secret warehouses, traveling from California to Chicago to Washington DC, to interview both the most treacherous of profiteers and the victims of their crimes.Pandemic, Inc. is the story of the fraudster who signed a multi-million-dollar contract with the government to provide lifesaving PPE, and yet never came up with a single mask. The Navy admiral at the helm of the national hunt for additional medical resources. The Department of Health whistleblower who championed masks early on and was silenced by the government and conservative media. And the politician who callously slashed federal emergency funding and gutted the federal PPE stockpile. Winner of the Goldsmith Prize for Investigative Reporting, McSwane connects the dots between backdoor deals and the spoils systems to provide the definitive account of how this pandemic was so catastrophically mishandled. Shocking and revelatory, Pandemic, Inc. exposes a system that is both deeply rigged, and singularly American.