The rabbit factor

Antti Tuomainen

Book - 2021

What makes life perfect? Insurance mathematician Henri Koskinen knows the answer because he calculates everything down to the very last decimal. And then, for the first time, Henri is faced with the incalculable. After suddenly losing his job, Henri inherits an adventure park from his brother - its peculiar employees and troubling financial problems included. The worst of the financial issues appear to originate from big loans taken from criminal quarters ... and some dangerous men are very keen... to get their money back. But what Henri really can't compute is love. In the adventure park, Henri crosses paths with Laura, an artist with a chequered past, and a joie de vivre and erratic lifestyle that bewilders him. As the criminals go to extreme lengths to collect their debts and as Henri's relationship with Laura deepens, he finds himself faced with situations and emotions that simply cannot be pinned down on his spreadsheets ...

Saved in:
1 person waiting
1 being processed

1st Floor New Shelf Show me where

FICTION/Tuomaine Antti
0 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor New Shelf FICTION/Tuomaine Antti (NEW SHELF) Due Oct 18, 2022
Subjects
Genres
Detective and mystery fiction
Thrillers (Fiction)
Published
London, England : Orenda Books [2021]
Language
English
Finnish
Physical Description
294 pages ; 21 cm
ISBN
9781913193874
191319387X
Main Author
Antti Tuomainen (author)
Other Authors
David Hackston (translator)
Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

Soon after actuary Henri Koskinen, the narrator of this rollicking tale of contemporary crime and punishment from Finnish author Tuomainen (Little Siberia), resigns from his job at an insurance company staffed with "functionally innumerate psychobabblers," his brother dies of an apparent heart attack, leaving him YouMeFun, an adventure park near Helsinki. ("A box of tin and steel, painted in garish red, orange and yellow, and almost 200 metres across, it was an eyesore, no matter which colour of tinted spectacles you used to look at it.") YouFunMe includes a monstrous mechanical rabbit, seven peculiar staff members, and an enormous debt to murdering loan sharks. Henri's math skills overcome multiple assaults by baddies and police alike, but his analytical powers melt when Laura Helanto, his fun house decorator, teaches him both business and mutual cost-benefit pleasures. Tuomainen neatly skewers the "positive team synergies" of today's corporate world as his hero, armed with the rabbit's broken ear, sets out to solve "a perfect equation" of love and money. Full of refreshing wit and wisdom, this comic departure from the usual Scandi noir is a treat. (May) Copyright 2022 Publishers Weekly.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

"An insurance mathematician's carefully ordered life is turned on its head when he unexpectedly loses his job and inherits an adventure park...with a whole host of problems"--

Review by Publisher Summary 2

An insurance mathematician’s carefully ordered life is turned on its head when he unexpectedly loses his job and inherits an adventure park … with a whole host of problems. A quirky, tense and warmly funny thriller from award-winning Finnish author Antti Tuomainen, FIRST in a series…**Soon to be a major motion picture starring Steve Carell for Amazon Studios**'Laconic, thrilling and warmly human. In these uncertain times, what better hero than an actuary?' Chris Brookmyre‘The antic novels of Antti Tuomainen prove that comedy is not lost in translation … Tuomainen, like Carl Hiaasen before him, has the knack of combining slapstick with genuine emotion’ The Times‘A thriller with black comedy worth of Nabokov’ Telegraph_______________Just one spreadsheet away from chaos…What makes life perfect? Insurance mathematician Henri Koskinen knows the answer because he calculates everything down to the very last decimal.And then, for the first time, Henri is faced with the incalculable. After suddenly losing his job, Henri inherits an adventure park from his brother – its peculiar employees and troubling financial problems included. The worst of the financial issues appear to originate from big loans taken from criminal quarters … and some dangerous men are very keen to get their money back.But what Henri really can’t compute is love. In the adventure park, Henri crosses paths with Laura, an artist with a chequered past, and a joie de vivre and erratic lifestyle that bewilders him. As the criminals go to extreme lengths to collect their debts and as Henri's relationship with Laura deepens, he finds himself faced with situations and emotions that simply cannot be pinned down on his spreadsheets…Warmly funny, rich with quirky characters and absurd situations, The Rabbit Factor is a triumph of a dark thriller, its tension matched only by its ability to make us rejoice in the beauty and random nature of life._______________‘Inventive and compelling’ Vaseem Khan‘Readers might think they know what to expect from Nordic noir: a tortured detective, a bleak setting, a brutal crime that shakes a small community. Finnish crime novelist Tuomainen turns all of this on its head … The ear of a giant plastic rabbit becomes a key weapon. It only gets darker and funnier’ Guardian'The funniest writer in Europe, and one of the very finest … original and brilliant story-telling' Helen FitzGerald‘Full of refreshing wit and wisdom … a treat’ Publishers Weekly STARRED REVIEW‘A dark and delightful novel with an intelligent, brave, and persnickety hero’ Foreword Reviews'Antti Tuomainen turns the clichéd idea of dour, humourless Scandi noir upside … Dark, gripping and hilarious. Tuomainen is the Carl Hiaasen of the fjords' Martyn Waites‘A triumph … a joyous, feel-good antidote to troubled times' Kevin Wignall‘Finland's greatest export’ M.J. Arlidge'You don’t expect to laugh when you’re reading about terrible crimes, but that’s what you’ll do when you pick up one of Tuomainen’s decidedly quirky thrillers' New York Times‘Tuomainen is the funniest writer in Europe’ The Times‘Right up there with the best’ Times Literary Supplement‘Tuomainen continues to carve out his own niche in the chilly tundras of northern’ Daily ExpressFor fans of Fargo, Fredrik Backman, Richard Osman.