Elektra

Jennifer Saint

Book - 2022

"Elektra is a spellbinding reimagining of the story of one of Greek mythology's most infamous heroines, from Jennifer Saint, the author of the beloved international bestseller, Ariadne. Three women, tangled in an ancient curse. When Clytemnestra marries Agamemnon, she ignores the insidious whispers about his family line, the House of Atreus. But when, on the eve of the Trojan War, Agamemnon betrays Clytemnestra in the most unimaginable way, she must confront the curse that has long rav...aged their family. In Troy, Princess Cassandra has the gift of prophecy, but carries a curse of her own: no one will ever believe what she sees. When she is shown what will happen to her beloved city when Agamemnon and his army arrives, she is powerless to stop the tragedy from unfolding. Elektra, Clytemnestra and Agamemnon's youngest daughter, wants only for her beloved father to return home from war. But can she escape her family's bloody history, or is her destiny bound by violence, too?"--

Saved in:
1 person waiting
2 being processed

1st Floor New Shelf Show me where

FICTION/Saint Jennifer
0 / 2 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor New Shelf FICTION/Saint Jennifer (NEW SHELF) Due Jun 3, 2022
1st Floor New Shelf FICTION/Saint Jennifer (NEW SHELF) On Holdshelf
+1 Hold
Subjects
Genres
Fantasy fiction
Mythological fiction
Novels
Published
New York : Flatiron Books 2022.
Edition
First U.S. edition
Language
English
Physical Description
290 pages ; 25 cm
ISBN
9781250773616
125077361X
Main Author
Jennifer Saint (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

*Starred Review* Saint's electrifying follow-up to Ariadne (2021) tells the story of some of the most iconic women of Greek mythology. Clytemnestra is hopeful that new husband Agamemnon is the final link in the bloody curse that shadows the House of Atreus—but then she is gruesomely betrayed. Cassandra, princess of Troy, refuses Apollo's advances and receives an infamous curse: while she can see the future, no one will ever believe her prophecies. And Elektra, a young girl idolizing her father and waiting for him to come home from the war, is bound into a cycle of violence that is fated to continue. The toll of the Trojan War, the unfeeling gaze of the gods, and the power-hungry violence of men all fall disproportionately on the shoulders of these women, and Saint's vivid writing brings their pain, love, and grief to the page in short, intense chapters that make the novel difficult to put down. It's an emotion-laden story of revenge and rage driven by loss and fills a gap by giving Clytemnestra a voice. Both readers who know the Greek myths well and readers who only know glimmers of the story will enjoy this new, epic retelling, perfect for fans of Madeline Miller's Circe (2018). Copyright 2022 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Library Journal Reviews

Having triumphed with her internationally best-selling debut, Ariadne, Saint turns to bold Elektra in a story ultimately involving a triumvirate of women. Clytemnestra ignores insinuations of House of Atreus violence and is betrayed when Agamemnon sacrifices their daughter, Princess Cassandra goes unheeded, and Elektra longs to see her father yet wonders if she's doomed to repeat her family's bloody history. With a 100,000-copy first printing. Copyright 2021 Library Journal.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

Saint (Ariadne) returns with a brilliant feminist revision of the Greek myth of the House of Atreus. As in the Aeschylus plays, the lives of three powerful women intersect through war and vengeance: Cassandra, daughter of the king and queen of Troy; Clytemnestra, wife of Agamemnon; and Elektra, daughter of Clytemnestra and Agamemnon. In alternating chapters, each woman relays her own story and is treated to generous and bold character development. Cassandra, kissed by the god Apollo, receives the gift of prophecy and is disregarded by her family despite the fates she sees for them. Agamemnon wages war against Troy beginning with a treacherous act that Clytemnestra cannot forgive. Clytemnestra soon bears Agamemnon's son, a child she finds difficult to love because of his association with Agamemnon, and joins forces with her nephew, Aegisthus. Saint enriches the tense story with psychological depth, showing, for instance, how Elektra simmers with resentment of her mother and Aegisthus for their betrayal of Agamemnon. The author also does a splendid job managing the timeline, with rich and sustained scenes and seamless jumps. Out of a canonical myth, Saint has built a commanding story of rebellious women. (May) Copyright 2022 Publishers Weekly.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

A reimagining of the story of the famous heroine of Greek mythology who teamed up with her brother Orestes to kill her mother in an act of revenge for the murder of her father, King Agamemnon. 100,000 first printing.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

"Elektra is a spellbinding reimagining of the story of one of Greek mythology's most infamous heroines, from Jennifer Saint, the author of the beloved international bestseller, Ariadne. Three women, tangled in an ancient curse. When Clytemnestra marries Agamemnon, she ignores the insidious whispers about his family line, the House of Atreus. But when, on the eve of the Trojan War, Agamemnon betrays Clytemnestra in the most unimaginable way, she must confront the curse that has long ravaged their family. In Troy, Princess Cassandra has the gift of prophecy, but carries a curse of her own: no one will ever believe what she sees. When she is shown what will happen to her beloved city when Agamemnon and his army arrives, she is powerless to stop the tragedy from unfolding. Elektra, Clytemnestra and Agamemnon's youngest daughter, wants only for her beloved father to return home from war. But can she escape her family's bloody history, or is her destiny bound by violence, too?"--

Review by Publisher Summary 3

A spellbinding reimagining of the story of Elektra, one of Greek mythology’s most infamous heroines, from Jennifer Saint, the author of the beloved international bestseller, Ariadne.Three women, tangled in an ancient curse.When Clytemnestra marries Agamemnon, she ignores the insidious whispers about his family line, the House of Atreus. But when, on the eve of the Trojan War, Agamemnon betrays Clytemnestra in the most unimaginable way, she must confront the curse that has long ravaged their family.In Troy, Princess Cassandra has the gift of prophecy, but carries a curse of her own: no one will ever believe what she sees. When she is shown what will happen to her beloved city when Agamemnon and his army arrives, she is powerless to stop the tragedy from unfolding.Elektra, Clytemnestra and Agamemnon’s youngest daughter, wants only for her beloved father to return home from war. But can she escape her family’s bloody history, or is her destiny bound by violence, too?