The flower garden

Renée Kurilla

Book - 2022

After planting a seed packet in the backyard, things don't go as expected for best friends Anna and Tess. They fall asleep in the sun and wake up to blooms as tall as buildings! Did the seeds really grow that fast? All is explained when Anna and Tess meet May, a little garden gnome whose magic is responsible for the transformation. The girls are May's size now, and they follow her through the flower garden and into May's underground gnome home--discovering new things about their w...orld and themselves along the way.

Saved in:

Children's Room New Shelf Show me where

jGRAPHIC NOVEL/Kurilla
0 / 2 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Children's Room New Shelf jGRAPHIC NOVEL/Kurilla (NEW SHELF) Due Jul 18, 2022
Children's Room New Shelf jGRAPHIC NOVEL/Kurilla (NEW SHELF) Due Jul 2, 2022
Subjects
Genres
Graphic novels
Fantasy comics
Comics (Graphic works)
Published
New York, NY : Amulet Books 2022.
Language
English
Physical Description
1 volume (unpaged) : chiefly color illustrations ; 24 cm
ISBN
9781419750205
1419750208
Main Author
Renée Kurilla (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

*Starred Review* After hearing her mother talk about bees, Anna invites Tess over to plant seeds so the bees will have "bee food." After planting, the two friends fall asleep in the sun, waking to find a forest of flowers above their heads. May, a garden gnome, offers to show them around. Tess isn't sure any of this is a good idea and wants to go home, but Anna can't wait for adventure and, leaving Tess behind, follows May into a secret cave and down to her gnome home. Lushly illustrated, the full-page spreads almost beg to be examined. While this is not quite a search-and-find book, each of the different underground settings is full of fun and humorous details that reward readers with found treasure. The girls' friendship is refreshingly real, with the reluctant friend more than willing to stand up for herself when she feels she's not being heard. There's some gentle tension once Anna goes on ahead to explore the caves, but everything's happily resolved in a cheery twist ending. With a short page count and easy-to-read speech balloons, this is at a perfect level for chapter-book readers, and more-experienced readers will be charmed by the playful, cartoonish art in bright, saturated colors. Absolutely delightful. Grades K-3. Copyright 2022 Booklist Reviews.

Review by School Library Journal Reviews

Gr 1–3—A cheery, colorful jaunt through a garden gnome's world, arranged lovingly and thoughtfully in graphic novel form. The journey starts with Anna imploring her friend Tessa to help her plant a flower garden so that they can save the bees. Their work complete, the two fall fast asleep. They soon awaken to find that they have shrunk down to the size of bugs. A garden gnome, May, greets them and guides them to her home. The charm of this book lies in the fanciful exploration of the world of small things; the girls hop on toadstools, make dandelion swings, and navigate the tunnels the gnomes share with a panoply of small mammals. But Anna's eagerness borders on recklessness, and try as Tess may to slow her friend from hurtling ahead, Anna nearly gets herself into some serious scrapes. Kurilla's basic story is simple and swiftly communicated, but every panel, packed with richly colored flora, communicates a slower, more impressionistic story about the garden world and about Anna and Tess's friendship. Anna is white, Tess is Black, May is brown-skinned, and members of her gnome community vary widely in terms of skin tone. VERDICT A simple story and a sweet visual treat that promises to be an enjoyable read for both eager and hesitant beginning readers.—Emilia Packard Copyright 2022 School Library Journal.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

"After planting a seed packet in the backyard, things don't go as expected for best friends Anna and Tess. They fall asleep in the sun and wake up to blooms as tall as buildings! Did the seeds really grow that fast? All is explained when Anna and Tess meet May, a little garden gnome whose magic is responsible for the transformation. The girls are May's size now, and they follow her through the flower garden and into May's underground gnome home--discovering new things about their world and themselves along the way. This immersive graphic novel from author-illustrator Renâee Kurilla is perfect for emerging readers. It explores growing and changing friendships and offers details to discover on every page and with every read"--

Review by Publisher Summary 2

A magical graphic novel adventure perfect for fans of Peter & Ernesto or Tiger vs. Nightmare After planting a seed packet in the backyard, things don’t go as expected for best friends Anna and Tess. They fall asleep in the sun and wake up to blooms as tall as buildings! Did the seeds really grow that fast? All is explained when Anna and Tess meet May, a little garden gnome whose magic is responsible for the transformation. The girls are May’s size now, and they follow her through the flower garden and into May’s underground gnome home—discovering new things about their world and themselves along the way. This immersive graphic novel from author-illustrator Renée Kurilla is perfect for emerging readers. It explores growing and changing friendships and offers details to discover on every page and with every read.