Extasia

Claire Legrand, 1986-

Book - 2022

In a postapocalyptic world, sixteen-year-old Saint Amity joins a coven and sets out on a quest to summon the Devil in order to protect her village, which is controlled by group of pious elders.

Saved in:

Young Adult New Shelf Show me where

YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Legrand Claire
0 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Young Adult New Shelf YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Legrand Claire (NEW SHELF) Due Jul 10, 2022
Subjects
Genres
Apocalyptic fiction
Young adult fiction
Paranormal fiction
Novels
Horror fiction
Published
[New York] : Katherine Tegen Books, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers [2022]
Edition
First edition
Language
English
Physical Description
484 pages ; 22 cm
Audience
Ages 14 up.
Grades 10-12.
ISBN
9780062696632
0062696637
Main Author
Claire Legrand, 1986- (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

In the wake of apocalyptic warfare, the village of Haven emerged as the world's sole community of survivors, chosen by God. Here the story's narrator prepares to be made a saint of Haven, a pious position that will allow her to make up for women's sinfulness and hopefully keep the dark forces that have been murdering Haven's men at bay. But barely has she become Saint Amity when another murder occurs. Amity embarks on a dangerous quest to face down the Devil and save Haven, but what she finds instead is a coven of witches that shakes her understanding of the world and offers Amity and her sister saints the chance to wield the magical force called Extasia. Legrand crafts a fiercely unsubtle feminist fantasy that takes on the patriarchy and the toxicity of hate. While never labeled, Haven's cultlike religion uses the language of Christianity, a natural foil to the story's witchcraft. Amity's evolving sense of self joins horror-driven action that, despite getting a smidge too expansive by the end, will keep readers invested. Grades 9-12. Copyright 2022 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

The Handmaid's Tale meets The Craft in this feminist standalone from Legrand (the Empirium trilogy), a fusion of horror and queer romantic fantasy that advocates unity, self-empowerment, and societal change. The village of Haven believes that generations ago, wicked women destroyed the world with their ambition, deceit, insolence, and lust. Only the most pious humans survived, banding together to form an all-white patriarchal settlement. Residents routinely gather to exhaust their rage and depravity by visiting it upon four teenage female "saints"—Mercy, Silence, Temperance, and newly anointed Amity. Amity hopes that her service will absolve her family of her adulterous exiled mother's sins, and persuade God to halt the gruesome supernatural murders claiming the town's men. When the killings continue, however, Amity realizes that more drastic measures are needed to save her neighbors. Upon discovering the existence of witches able to manipulate magical energy called extasia, Amity vows to learn their ways so she may summon the Devil—and banish him. Though the overstuffed plot retreads familiar tropes, readers will be riveted by Legrand's fierce female characters and their harrowing emotional journey. Ages 14–up. Agent: Victoria Marini, Irene Goodman Agency. (Feb.) Copyright 2021 Publishers Weekly.

Review by School Library Journal Reviews

Gr 9 Up—The day the fourth saint is anointed, the preternatural killings plaguing Haven, the last town on Earth, are supposed to cease. But Saint Amity's induction is marred by another body, white-eyed beasts, gray wispy women, and newfound secrets of her saintly sisters. Haunted also by the legacy of her mother's shame, Amity reluctantly approaches the other saints so that she may learn how to save Haven, only to discover rebellion, witches, and more power than she ever knew a woman could wield. Alongside the gory, insistent violence wrought by the town and the coven, Legrand's lush and uniquely evocative prose keeps tensions high throughout Amity's struggle with her magic, fury, and conscience. Gradual worldbuilding of the claustrophobic and purposefully homogenous village and the mountain beyond bookends a faster middle half, and while background characters fade somewhat, Amity's relationships with those closest to her are the foundation for her most personal and profound revelations. VERDICT Slow-burn horror meets a queer coming-of-age story, with compassionately explored themes of feminism, grief, trauma, faith, and abuse. A YA fantasy complement to Naomi Alderman's The Power; fans of Legrand will find this an interesting new approach, as will readers of Rory Power and House of Hollow by Krystal Sutherland.—Madeline Newquist Copyright 2021 School Library Journal.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

In a postapocalyptic world, sixteen-year-old Saint Amity joins a coven and sets out on a quest to summon the Devil in order to protect her village, which is controlled by group of pious elders.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

To protect her village against the evil power living beneath the black mountain, a girl joins a coven, becoming one of the four saints of Haven and standing with her sisters to save their people from destruction. 35,000 first printing. Simultaneous eBook.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

**One of BuzzFeed's Great LGBTQ+ YA novels to Warm up Your Winter * A Kid's Feb/March IndieNext pick**From New York Times bestselling author Claire Legrand comes a new, bone-chilling YA horror novel about a girl who joins a coven to root out a vicious evil that’s stalking her village. Perfect for fans of The Handmaid’s Tale and The Grace Year.Her name is unimportant.All you must know is that today she will become one of the four saints of Haven. The elders will mark her and place the red hood on her head. With her sisters, she will stand against the evil power that lives beneath the black mountain—an evil which has already killed nine of her village’s men.She will tell no one of the white-eyed beasts that follow her. Or the faceless gray women tall as houses. Or the girls she saw kissing in the elm grove.Today she will be a saint of Haven. She will rid her family of her mother’s shame at last and save her people from destruction. She is not afraid. Are you?This searing and lyrically written novel by the critically acclaimed author of Sawkill Girls beckons readers to follow its fierce heroine into a world filled with secrets and blood—where the truth is buried in lies and a devastating power waits, seething, for someone brave enough to use it.