Savvy Sheldon feels good as hell

Taj McCoy

Book - 2022

While renovating her house and her life, Savvy Sheldon finds things going not as planned and soon realizes that she should have started her renovation the other way around, beginning with how she sees and loves herself before she can love someone else.

Saved in:

1st Floor Show me where

FICTION/Mccoy Taj
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor FICTION/Mccoy Taj Checked In
Subjects
Genres
Romance fiction
Novels
Published
Toronto, Ontario, Canada : Mira [2022]
Language
English
Physical Description
315 pages ; 21 cm
ISBN
9780778311843
0778311848
Main Author
Taj McCoy (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

*Starred Review* After her boyfriend dumps Savannah "Savvy" Sheldon for being too focused on her job and not focused enough on her looks, Savvy has an epiphany: she deserves better in life. So Savvy comes up with a plan for a new and improved version of herself, her career, and her beloved but older-than-dirt home. As Savvy takes steps toward a healthier lifestyle and pursues a promotion at work, she keeps crossing paths with contractor Spencer Morgan. She wonders, is fate telling Savvy that Spencer is the right man for renovating her kitchen or the right man for her? Or maybe both? Written with plenty of spirit and sauciness, McCoy's debut, a plus-size Black love story, is in equal measures a heartfelt, hopeful, and humorous exploration of the importance of learning to love yourself. Enriched with a wonderful cast of supporting characters, including a caring, if meddling, family and a loyal-to-the-end crew of friends, and enhanced with some lusciously described, Food Network-worthy moments in the kitchen, this is a joy to read. Copyright 2022 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Booklist Reviews

*Starred Review* After her boyfriend dumps Savannah "Savvy" Sheldon for being too focused on her job and not focused enough on her looks, Savvy has an epiphany: she deserves better in life. So Savvy comes up with a plan for a new and improved version of herself, her career, and her beloved but older-than-dirt home. As Savvy takes steps toward a healthier lifestyle and pursues a promotion at work, she keeps crossing paths with contractor Spencer Morgan. She wonders, is fate telling Savvy that Spencer is the right man for renovating her kitchen or the right man for her? Or maybe both? Written with plenty of spirit and sauciness, McCoy's debut, a plus-size Black love story, is in equal measures a heartfelt, hopeful, and humorous exploration of the importance of learning to love yourself. Enriched with a wonderful cast of supporting characters, including a caring, if meddling, family and a loyal-to-the-end crew of friends, and enhanced with some lusciously described, Food Network-worthy moments in the kitchen, this is a joy to read. Copyright 2022 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Library Journal Reviews

Stuck with a feckless boyfriend, an aging kitchen, and a high-stress, low-yield job, plus-size protagonist Savvy Sheldon decides to redo her life. Meeting with her handsome contractor—someone she is embarrassed to have inadvertently insulted in the past—makes her realize that her priorities are all wrong; she must first look to caring for herself. A debut #ownvoices romantic comedy from part-Black, part-Thai author McCoy; with a 75,000-copy first printing. Copyright 2021 Library Journal.

Review by Library Journal Reviews

Stuck with a feckless boyfriend, an aging kitchen, and a high-stress, low-yield job, plus-size protagonist Savvy Sheldon decides to redo her life. Meeting with her handsome contractor—someone she is embarrassed to have inadvertently insulted in the past—makes her realize that her priorities are all wrong; she must first look to caring for herself. A debut #ownvoices romantic comedy from part-Black, part-Thai author McCoy; with a 75,000-copy first printing. Copyright 2021 Library Journal.

Review by Library Journal Reviews

DEBUT When Savannah "Savvy" Sheldon's boyfriend leaves her because he wants an "upgrade," Savvy turns his hurtful comments into her own personal mission. As a biracial Black woman whose Thai mother worked endlessly to provide for her, Savvy has struggled to strike her own life balance despite having a job that pays well and friends and family who support her. She moves on with a new haircut and workout routine, finally starts the kitchen renovation she's dreamed about for years, and finds a new romance with handsome carpenter Spencer Morgan. But her plans are put to the test as stress from her new job promotion rises and Savvy's ex parades around his new girlfriend. VERDICT Savvy and Spencer's romance arc is delicious and steamy, but does share page time with the large cast of Savvy's friends and family as they too find love and purpose. A promising debut perfect for fans of Farrah Rochon's The Boyfriend Project.—Elizabeth Gabriel, Milwaukee P.L. Copyright 2021 Library Journal.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

McCoy's swoon-worthy debut centers on finding love from the inside out. Savannah "Savvy" Sheldon believes she has the makings of a perfect life with her long-term boyfriend, Jason—until he suddenly dumps her because he wants an "upgrade." Incensed by his negative comments on her lifestyle and her body, Savvy decides to "reclaim her sexy" and show him what he's missing. As part of this life makeover, she decides to redesign her kitchen. She's not expecting the intense attraction she feels to her detailed and attentive contractor, Spencer Morgan. As she renovates both the kitchen and her life, things start looking up for her health, her job, and her budding romance with Spencer—though untimely and unsavory run-ins with Jason threaten to derail her. McCoy populates Savvy's world with a diverse cast of immediately endearing friends and family, especially besties Joan and Maggie, who reinforce positivity and love for Savvy and help her prioritize the things that make her happy. With a focus on heartbreak and reflection, Savvy's story has every flavor of love. McCoy is sure to win fans. Agent: Veronica Park, Fuse Literary. (Mar.) Copyright 2021 Publishers Weekly.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

While renovating her house and her life, Savvy Sheldon finds things going not as planned and soon realizes that she should have started her renovation the other way around, beginning with how she sees and loves herself before she can love someone else.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

While renovating her house and her life, Savvy Sheldon finds things going not as planned and soon realizes that she should have started her renovation the other way around, beginning with how she sees and loves herself before she can love someone else. Original. 75,000 first printing.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

A sexy romance about a plus-size sweetheart who gets a full-life makeover after a brutal breakup and falls for the incredibly hot contractor renovating her home. Savvy Sheldon spends a lot of time tiptoeing around the cracks in her life: her high-stress and low-thanks job, her clueless boyfriend and the falling-apart kitchen she inherited from her beloved grandma—who taught her how to cook and how to love people by feeding them. But when Savvy’s world starts to crash down around her, she knows it’s time for some renovations.Starting from the outside in, Savvy tackles her crumbling kitchen, her relationship with her body, her work–life balance (or lack thereof) and, last but not least, her love life. The only thing that doesn’t seem to require effort is her ride-or-die squad of friends. But as any home-reno-show junkie can tell you, something always falls apart during renovations. First, Savvy passes out during hot yoga. Then it turns out that the contractor she hires is the same sexy stranger she unintentionally offended by judging based on appearances. Worst of all, Savvy can’t seem to go anywhere without tripping over her ex and his latest "upgrade." Savvy begins to realize that maybe she should’ve started her renovations the other way around: beginning with how she sees herself before building a love that lasts."A heartfelt, hopeful, and humorous exploration of the importance of learning to love yourself...a joy to read.” –Booklist, STARRED review