The girl in the lake

India Hill Brown, 1991-

Book - 2022

"Celeste knows she should be excited to spend two weeks at her grandparents' lake house with her brother, Owen, and their cousins Capri and Daisy, but she's not. Bugs, bad cell reception, and the dark waters of the lake... no thanks. On top of that, she just failed her swim test and hates being in the water-it's terrifying. But her grandparents are strong believers in their family knowing how to swim, especially having grown up during a time of segregation at public pools. An...d soon strange things start happening-the sound of footsteps overhead late at night. A flickering light in the attic window. And Celete's cousins start accusing her of pranking them when she's been no where near them!"--Amazon.

Saved in:

Children's Room Show me where

jFICTION/Brown India
0 / 2 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Children's Room jFICTION/Brown India Due Jul 15, 2022
Children's Room jFICTION/Brown India Due Jul 15, 2022
Subjects
Genres
Ghost stories
Published
New York : Scholastic Press 2022.
Edition
First edition
Language
English
Physical Description
209 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN
9781338678888
1338678884
Main Author
India Hill Brown, 1991- (author)
Review by Publisher Summary 1

When strange things begin to happen while staying at her grandparents' lake house, Celeste spies a twisted version of herself in the mirror and must discover who this girl is and what she wants before it's too late.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

When strange things begin to happen while staying at her grandparents’ lake house, Celeste spies a twisted version of herself in the mirror and must discover who this girl is and what she wants before it’s too late. Simultaneous eBook.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

For fans of Small Spaces, Doll Bones, and Mary Downing Hahn, a truly chilling (and historically inspired) ghost story from the award-winning author of The Forgotten Girl.Celeste knows she should be excited to spend two weeks at her grandparents' lake house with her brother, Owen, and their cousins Capri and Daisy, but she's not.Bugs, bad cell reception, and the dark waters of the lake... no thanks. On top of that, she just failed her swim test and hates being in the water—it's terrifying. But her grandparents are strong believers in their family knowing how to swim, especially having grown up during a time of segregation at public pools.And soon strange things start happening—the sound of footsteps overhead late at night. A flickering light in the attic window. And Celete's cousins start accusing her of pranking them when she's been no where near them!Things at the old house only get spookier until one evening when Celeste looks in the steamy mirror after a shower and sees her face, but twisted, different...Who is the girl in the mirror? And what does she want?Past and present mingle in this spine-tingling ghost story by award-winning author India Hill Brown.