One true loves

Elise Bryant

Book - 2022

While on a post-graduation Mediterranean cruise with her family, Lenore Bennett meets a hopeless romantic with a ten-year plan who helps her find something she's been looking for--love.

Saved in:

Young Adult New Shelf Show me where

YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Bryant Elise
0 / 1 copies available

Young Adult Area Show me where

YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Bryant Elise
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Young Adult New Shelf YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Bryant Elise (NEW SHELF) Due Aug 11, 2022
Young Adult Area YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Bryant Elise Checked In
Subjects
Genres
Young adult fiction
Humorous fiction
Romance fiction
Novels
Published
New York, NY : Balzer + Bray, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers [2022]
Edition
First edition
Language
English
Physical Description
314 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN
9780062982865
0062982869
Main Author
Elise Bryant (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

This spin-off of Bryant's debut (Happily Ever Afters, 2021) picks up with Tessa's best friend, Lenore. As college looms, Lenore grows apprehensive about being away from her friends. To make matters worse, her family is about to spend part of the summer on an Italian cruise. Unlike Tessa, Lenore isn't one to believe in fairy-tale love stories, and she has no plans for an amorous endeavor—but when she meets Alex on the cruise, and he ropes her into a fake dating scheme, she's thrown into a romantic summer adventure that not even her romance-novelist best friend could dream up. This summer romance seamlessly packs vacation fun alongside serious discussions of race and mental health—Lenore feels added levels of pressure as a high-achieving Black student. Bryant's charming story is bolstered by an irresistible setting and the occasional pop-culture reference. Supportive relationships, even in unexpected places, and flawed characters coming into their own make this novel especially compelling. With its twists on beloved tropes, this a clear pick for fans of Sandhya Menon and Stephanie Perkins. Grades 9-12. Copyright 2021 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

While on a post-graduation Mediterranean cruise with her family, Lenore Bennett meets a hopeless romantic with a ten-year plan who helps her find something she's been looking for--love.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

While on a post-graduation Mediterranean cruise with her family, Lenore Bennett meets a hopeless romantic with a 10-year plan who helps her find something she’s been looking for—love, in this companion novel to Happily Ever Afters. 75,000 first printing. Simultaneous eBook.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

A star artist and style icon at her high school, Lenore Bennett is a master in the subtle art of not giving a... well, you know what. But now that graduation is here, she's a little less sure. Heading to NYU in the fall with a scarlet U (for "undeclared") written across her chest, she is always reminded that Black kids don't have the luxury of figuring it out as they go. But Lenore is not even sure what her dreams are yet. When her family embarks on a post-graduation Mediterranean cruise, she meets Alex Lee. Their parents bond over the Cupid Shuffle, and she ends up stuck with a hopeless romantic and a golden boy with a ten-year plan for the remainder of the cruise. But as they get to know each other, he may be able to help her find something else she's been looking for: love. -- adapted from jacket

Review by Publisher Summary 4

From the author of Happily Ever Afters comes another irresistible YA romantic comedy full of self-discovery and Black love—and a dreamy European cruise. Perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon and Jenny Han, with crossover appeal for readers of Jasmine Guillory and Talia Hibbert romances.Lenore Bennett has always been a force. A star artist and style icon at her high school, she’s a master in the subtle art of not giving a . . . well, you know what. But now that graduation is here, she’s a little less sure.She’s heading to NYU in the fall with a scarlet U (for “undeclared”) written across her chest. Her parents always remind her that Black kids don’t have the luxury of figuring it out as they go—they have to be 110 percent prepared. But it’s a lot of pressure to be her ancestors’ wildest dreams when Lenore’s not even sure what her dreams are yet.When her family embarks on a post-graduation Mediterranean cruise, her friend Tessa is sure Lenore’s in for a whirlwind romance. But Lenore knows that doesn’t happen to girls like her.Then she meets Alex Lee. After their parents bond over the Cupid Shuffle, she ends up stuck with him for the remainder of the cruise. He’s a hopeless romantic and a golden boy with a ten-year plan. In short, he’s irritating as hell.But as they get to know each other during the picturesque stops across Europe, Alex may be able to help Lenore find something else she’s been looking for, even if she doesn’t want to admit it to herself: love.