Rise up! How you can join the fight against White supremacy

Crystal Marie Fleming, 1981-

Book - 2021

"An overview of the roots and legacies of racial bias and white supremacy in the United States."--

Saved in:

2nd Floor New Shelf Show me where

305.8/Fleming
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
2nd Floor New Shelf 305.8/Fleming (NEW SHELF) Checked In
Subjects
Genres
Young adult nonfiction
Juvenile works
Published
New York, NY : Henry Holt and Company 2021.
Edition
First edition
Language
English
Physical Description
xxvi, 230 pages : illustrations, photographs ; 24 cm
Audience
Ages 12+
Bibliography
Includes bibliographical references (pages 179-221) and index.
ISBN
9781250226389
1250226384
Main Author
Crystal Marie Fleming, 1981- (author)
  • Introduction
  • (Un)learning racism
  • What the heck is white supremacy?
  • Stealing America
  • Why slavery still matters
  • Second-class citizens
  • Crime and punishment
  • The images we see
  • Racism and antiracism in sports
  • How young people can change the racial future.
Review by Booklist Reviews

*Starred Review* This absorbing, thoroughly researched book provides an in-depth look at racism and offers steps young readers can take to become antiracist advocates. Fleming, a sociologist, defines racism, its history, and its pervasiveness in a wide range of areas—the media, sports, the criminal justice system, and health care. In describing white supremacy, Fleming focuses on how the system has affected all people of color, using examples from history such as the theft of Indigenous peoples' land, Chinese American and Chicano citizenship restrictions, and Japanese American internment during WWII. She examines the lynchings of both Mexican and Black people in the U.S. and recounts the long history of racial violence against Latinx and Asian Americans. Fleming's conversational tone and frequent reminder to readers to reflect on the questions she poses as they read will draw them in, as will the text's ripped-from-the-headlines examples. One of the book's strengths is the statement reiterated throughout that race is a social construct, and she highlights many successful BIPOC who have helped to break barriers. The book's positivity, depth of information not mentioned in other books for this age group, and the five steps provided to help people become antiracist advocates make this a standout and are sure to inspire young people to act. Grades 7-10. Copyright 2021 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

"An overview of the roots and legacies of racial bias and white supremacy in the United States."--

Review by Publisher Summary 2

This urgent book explores the roots of racism and its legacy in modern day, all while empowering young people with actionable ways they can help foster a better world and become antiracists.

Why are white supremacists still openly marching in the United States? Why are undocumented children of color separated from their families and housed in cages? Where did racism come from? Why hasn’t it already disappeared? And what can young people do about it?

Rise Up! breaks down the origins of racial injustice and its continued impact today, connecting dots between the past and present. By including contemporary examples ripped from headlines and actionable ways young people can help create a more inclusive world, sociologist Crystal Marie Fleming shares the knowledge and values that unite all antiracists: compassion, solidarity, respect, and courage in the face of adversity. Perfect for fans of Stamped: Remix, This Book is Antiracist, Uncomfortable Conversations with a Black Boy, and The Black Friend.

Praise for Rise Up!

A Kirkus Reviews Best Book of 2021
A School Library Journal Best Book of 2021
A Booklist Editors' Choice Winner for 2021

* "A clear and damning appraisal of the United States’ long-standing relationship with White supremacy—with actionable advice for readers to do better." —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

* "A standout . . . sure to inspire young people to act." —Booklist, starred review

"Rise Up! is the invigorating, thought-provoking, eye-opening, and essential book about fighting white supremacy that I wish I had when I was a teen. Crystal M. Fleming writes about tough subjects with authority and compassion, and inspires with a roadmap for how we can change the world for the better." —Malinda Lo, author of Last Night at the Telegraph Club