The appeal

Janice Hallett

Book - 2022

"Welcome to Lockwood, proud home of The Fairway Players, who, under the creative control of Martin Hayward, the owner of the local country club, are putting on a production of Arthur Miller's "All My Sons." The star, as always: Martin's wife, Helen, the only person in the troupe with any real acting talent. But this is not a production like any other: just as rehearsals get under way, tragedy strikes: Poppy Reswick, Martin and Helen's beloved granddaughter, is diagn...osed with a rare form of cancer. An experimental treatment is available from the US - at a massive cost. The Players and the entire town rally in order to raise the 250,000 pounds needed to give Poppy a chance at survival. Not everybody is convinced that the experimental treatment is all it's cracked up to be, however. First among the doubters is Sam Greenwood, who has only recently moved to Lockwood with her husband, Kel, after spending several years as an NGO worker in Sub-Saharan Africa. Are her suspicions justified? Or does she merely have an axe to grind with the doctor who's looking after Poppy? The tension within the community is palpable, and on the night of the Players' dress rehearsal, things come to a head. The next day, a dead body is found, and soon afterwards, an arrest is made. In the run-up to the trial, two law students find themselves sifting through the evidence in the form of e-mails, texts, and letters, trying to make sense of it all and unmask the real killer"--

Saved in:
1 person waiting

1st Floor New Shelf Show me where

FICTION/Hallett, Janice
0 / 2 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor New Shelf FICTION/Hallett, Janice (NEW SHELF) Due Jun 17, 2022
1st Floor New Shelf FICTION/Hallett Janice (NEW SHELF) Due Jun 16, 2022
Subjects
Genres
Mystery fiction
Epistolary fiction
Published
New York : Atria Books 2022.
Language
English
Physical Description
pages cm
ISBN
9781982187453
198218745X
9781982187460
1982187468
Main Author
Janice Hallett (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

Two junior barristers are tasked with reviewing the evidence in a murder case, under appeal by their law firm in the British village of Lower Lockwood. The case involves the Fairway Players, an amateur theatrical group, whose founder is local businessman Martin Hayward. As the Players prepare to stage Arthur Miller's All My Sons, Hayward learns that his granddaughter, Poppy, has been diagnosed with brain cancer. A new drug is available in America that could provide a cure, and Hayward is determined to acquire it, despite its outrageous expense. He launches an appeal to raise the money, but just as All My Sons opens, shocking truths begin to emerge, and the characters' darkest secrets surface. Hallett is an expert at legerdemain, presenting what appears initially to be a straightforward story and then, bit by tantalizing bit, revealing one stunner after another until the reader, like the two junior barristers researching the case, finally sees the entire tragic picture. Clever writing, a truly original plot, and an explosive ending make this a must for mystery fans who like cozies with some bite. Copyright 2022 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

At the start of British journalist, playwright, and screenwriter Hallett's ingeniously plotted debut, two young lawyers face a Herculean challenge: blitzing through almost two years of emails, texts, and messages so they can assist with an appeal brief due within days. Initially, the communications among members of a London area amateur theater group seem unremarkable, even banal. But things get real when troupe leader Martin Hayward shares that his two-year-old granddaughter, Poppy, has been diagnosed with a rare brain tumor—for which the only hope is an astronomically expensive experimental drug. Though plans for the show proceed, an urgent appeal to raise funds for Poppy's treatment takes center stage. As contributions climb and someone ends up dead, Hallett skillfully lays an intricate and twisty trail of bread crumbs that leads to half a dozen suspects, which should delight those eager for the opportunity to sift through the evidence. For others, however, reading this murder mystery may feel more like attempting to solve a large jigsaw puzzle without a picture for guidance. Either way, Hallett remains a writer to watch. Agent: Markus Hoffmann, Regal Hoffmann & Assoc. (Jan.) Copyright 2021 Publishers Weekly.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

When the cast of a local theater group raises money for an experimental treatment for the director’s granddaughter, who has a rare form of cancer, one member raises her concerns, creating tensions within the community, which leads to murder. 50,000 first printing.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

"Welcome to Lockwood, proud home of The Fairway Players, who, under the creative control of Martin Hayward, the owner of the local country club, are putting on a production of Arthur Miller's "All My Sons." The star, as always: Martin's wife, Helen, the only person in the troupe with any real acting talent. But this is not a production like any other: just as rehearsals get under way, tragedy strikes: Poppy Reswick, Martin and Helen's beloved granddaughter, is diagnosed with a rare form of cancer. An experimental treatment is available from the US - at a massive cost. The Players and the entire town rally in order to raise the 250,000 pounds needed to give Poppy a chance at survival. Not everybody is convinced that the experimental treatment is all it's cracked up to be, however. First among the doubters is Sam Greenwood, who has only recently moved to Lockwood with her husband, Kel, after spending several years as an NGO worker in Sub-Saharan Africa. Are her suspicions justified? Or does she merely havean axe to grind with the doctor who's looking after Poppy? The tension within the community is palpable, and on the night of the Players' dress rehearsal, things come to a head. The next day, a dead body is found, and soon afterwards, an arrest is made. In the run-up to the trial, two law students find themselves sifting through the evidence in the form of e-mails, texts, and letters, trying to make sense of it all and unmask the real killer"--

Review by Publisher Summary 3

INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER“[W]itty, original…a delight.” —Th?e New York TimesPerfect for fans of Ruth Ware and Lisa Jewell, this international bestseller and “dazzlingly clever” (The Sunday Times, London) murder mystery follows a community rallying around a sick child—but when escalating lies lead to a dead body, everyone is a suspect.The Fairway Players, a local theatre group, is in the midst of rehearsals when tragedy strikes the family of director Martin Hayward and his wife Helen, the play’s star. Their young granddaughter has been diagnosed with a rare form of cancer, and with an experimental treatment costing a tremendous sum, their castmates rally to raise the money to give her a chance at survival.But not everybody is convinced of the experimental treatment’s efficacy—nor of the good intentions of those involved. As tension grows within the community, things come to a shocking head at the explosive dress rehearsal. The next day, a dead body is found, and soon, an arrest is made. In the run-up to the trial, two young lawyers sift through the material—emails, messages, letters—with a growing suspicion that the killer may be hiding in plain sight. The evidence is all there, between the lines, waiting to be uncovered.A wholly modern and gripping take on the epistolary novel, The Appeal is a “daring…clever, and funny” (The Times, London) debut for fans of Richard Osman and Lucy Foley.