Comfort me with apples

Catherynne M. Valente, 1979-

Book - 2021

A woman who believes she is living a perfect life begins to wonder why her husband is away at work so much, and also what is in the locked basement she is not permitted to enter.

Saved in:

1st Floor New Shelf Show me where

SCIENCE FICTION/Valente Catheryn
0 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor New Shelf SCIENCE FICTION/Valente Catheryn (NEW SHELF) Due May 31, 2022
Subjects
Genres
Thrillers (Fiction)
Novels
Published
New York : Tordotcom 2021.
Edition
First edition
Language
English
Item Description
"A Tom Doherty Associates book."
Physical Description
103 pages ; 21 cm
ISBN
9781250816214
1250816211
Main Author
Catherynne M. Valente, 1979- (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

Valente's latest is best approached without much in the way of expectation: there's a lot to tease apart in the story, and it's full of unexpected references and illuminating details. It begins with Sophia waking in the morning, thinking "I was made for him," and continues as Sophia goes about her day, interspersed with increasingly draconian HOA rules, and starts to unravel when she finds something she's never seen before. There is nothing in her experience that prepares her for such a thing. Her neighbors ask her, "Are you happy?" Of course she is. She has everything she needs, everything she wants. Why wouldn't she be happy? Her husband works long hours and is often away from home, but she has a perfect life and a perfect house; if the house is sometimes too big for her alone, well, it is still luxurious, the neighborhood still grand. It's a short book, but the way it builds itself on its foundation opens up wholly unexpected vistas; it will surprise the reader the way it surprises Sophia: with a well-crafted inevitability. Copyright 2021 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Booklist Reviews

Valente's latest is best approached without much in the way of expectation: there's a lot to tease apart in the story, and it's full of unexpected references and illuminating details. It begins with Sophia waking in the morning, thinking "I was made for him," and continues as Sophia goes about her day, interspersed with increasingly draconian HOA rules, and starts to unravel when she finds something she's never seen before. There is nothing in her experience that prepares her for such a thing. Her neighbors ask her, "Are you happy?" Of course she is. She has everything she needs, everything she wants. Why wouldn't she be happy? Her husband works long hours and is often away from home, but she has a perfect life and a perfect house; if the house is sometimes too big for her alone, well, it is still luxurious, the neighborhood still grand. It's a short book, but the way it builds itself on its foundation opens up wholly unexpected vistas; it will surprise the reader the way it surprises Sophia: with a well-crafted inevitability. Copyright 2021 Booklist Reviews.

Review by PW Annex Reviews

This gem of a novella from Valente (The Past Is Red) packs a lot of intrigue into a brief page count. Sophia lives in the upscale gated community of Arcadia Gardens, a supposed utopian oasis under the management of the Arcadia Gardens Homeowners Association. The rules in Arcadia are strange and specific, forbidding, among other things, dancing and the building of structures for beekeeping, but all are said to be in favor of purity and harmony. Sophia's life is basically a fairy tale, complete with a beloved husband at her side. But even as the reader takes in the frothy, enchanted atmosphere, there are hints that Sophia is teetering in an illusion that will soon launch her into darkness. This turns out to be the case when Sophia discovers a mysterious silver hairbrush and a dark tangle of hair in a locked drawer of their home and her fairy tale perception begins to dissolve. A masterful late reveal proves this to be a clever reworking of a famous story, reframing all that came before. Though there are some moments of excessive exposition, Valente packs in enough charm, curiosity, and foreboding to make this worthwhile. Fans will be delighted. (Nov.) Copyright 2021 Publishers Weekly Annex.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

A woman who believes she is living a perfect life begins to wonder why her husband is away at work so much, and also what is in the locked basement she is not permitted to enter.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

A woman who believes she is living a perfect life begins to wonder why her husband is away at work so much and also what is in the locked basement she is not permitted to enter. 50,000 first printing.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

Comfort Me With Apples is a terrifying new thriller from bestseller Catherynne M. Valente, for fans of Gone Girl and Spinning Silver

Sophia was made for him. Her perfect husband. She can feel it in her bones. He is perfect. Their home together in Arcadia Gardens is perfect. Everything is perfect.

It's just that he's away so much. So often. He works so hard. She misses him. And he misses her. He says he does, so it must be true. He is the perfect husband and everything is perfect.

But sometimes Sophia wonders about things. Strange things. Dark things. The look on her husband's face when he comes back from a long business trip. The questions he will not answer. The locked basement she is never allowed to enter. And whenever she asks the neighbors, they can't quite meet her gaze....

But everything is perfect. Isn't it?