The perfect plan

Leah Gilbert

Book - 2021

Maya plans to build the perfect treehouse, but after doing research and selecting the perfect spot, she finds she must recruit helpers to get the job done.

Saved in:

Children's Room Show me where

jE/Gilbert
2 / 2 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Children's Room jE/Gilbert Checked In
Children's Room jE/Gilbert Checked In
Subjects
Genres
Animal fiction
Picture books for children
Picture books
Published
New York : Bloomsbury Children's Books [2021]
Language
English
Physical Description
1 volume (unpaged) : color illustrations ; 27 cm
Audience
Ages 3-6.
Grades K-1.
ISBN
9781547605262
154760526X
Main Author
Leah Gilbert (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

Maya imagines a wonderful tree fort and draws up a plan to build it. Choosing the perfect site in the woods, she sets to work, but she needs help! Maya recruits some friendly beavers to chomp off big tree limbs, which a passing moose happily hauls to the site. Maya courteously enlists the aid of several bears to set the branches in place, and squirrels and birds help secure the structure. A powerful storm sends everyone scurrying home. Watching the rain, Maya fears that her fort is ruined, but when she returns the next morning, the magnificent structure is still standing, resplendent in the sunlight, and full of her new animal friends. Gilbert's carefully worded text and expressive digital artwork dovetail, making the storytelling strong and emphasizing Maya's most endearing traits: she doesn't just long for a tree house, she researches the topic, comes up with a detailed plan, tries to carry it out on her own, and politely asks others for help. An inspirational picture book for turning dreams into reality. Preschool-Grade 2. Copyright 2021 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

Inspired by animals' cozy forest homes, a child called Maya carefully plans to construct a tree fort of her own. Gilbert (A Couch for Llama) draws Maya with a perfectly round head, light skin and dark braids, a plaid shirt, and an eager look. But when she hikes into the forest and starts to build, she can't seem to fashion the branches into a structure. "What if I just can't do it? she wondered." So she approaches some beavers—creatures she knows have experience with trees. They're happy to help, as are a moose and a bear family she appeals to. "We're building the most beautiful and unique tree fort in the world!" she says to some birds. "Will you help us?" Foul weather represents a single tense moment before Maya can enjoy the dazzling tree fort she's built alongside the community that helped her do it. Polished digital artwork portrays the animals and the forest in stylized, easy-to-recognize forms accented by golden light. Though the animals lack individuating characteristics, lessons about persistence and teamwork are clear as Maya and friends exemplify cheerful energy, cooperation, and focus. Ages 3–6. Agent: Clelia Gore, Martin Literary. (July) Copyright 2021 Publishers Weekly.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

To build a tree fort, Maya enlists the help of some goodhearted forest animals, and together, they construct the tree fort of their dreams until an unexpected turn of events threatens to ruin all their hard work. 40,000 first printing. Simultaneous eBook. Illustrations.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

Maya plans to build the perfect treehouse, but after doing research and selecting the perfect spot, she finds she must recruit helpers to get the job done.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

A gorgeously illustrated picture book about a little girl's leadership, creative thinking, and perseverance, for fans of Rosie Revere, Engineer and The Curious Garden.Maya dreams of building a fort-a special, comfy, cozy place to hide out and read, to dream and play. So she goes to work drafting plans and gathering all her supplies. But when she gets to the forest, she realizes she needs help. Thankfully, some new friends have just the right skills to make a perfect fort-building team. Will Maya's fort be everything she hopes? Or could it turn into something she never even imagined?Leah Gilbert's story bursts with inspiration and life, celebrating creativity, leadership, perseverance, and the magic of working together to build a dream.

Review by Publisher Summary 4

A gorgeously illustrated picture book about a little girl’s leadership, creative thinking, and perseverance, as she works together with friends to build a dream, for fans of Rosie Revere, Engineer.