Playlist for the Apocalypse Poems

Rita Dove

Book - 2021

"A piercing, unflinching new volume offers necessary music for our tumultuous present, from "perhaps the best public poet we have" (Boston Globe). In her first volume of new poems in twelve years, Rita Dove investigates the vacillating moral compass guiding America's, and the world's, experiments in democracy. Whether depicting the first Jewish ghetto in sixteenth-century Venice or Black Lives Matter, this extraordinary poet never fails to connect history's grand ex...ploits to the triumphs and tragedies of individual lives-the simmering resentment of an elevator operator, an octogenarian's exuberant mambo, the mordant humor of a philosophizing cricket. Audaciously playful yet grave, alternating poignant meditations on mortality and acerbic observations of injustice, Playlist for the Apocalypse takes us from the smallest moments of redemption to apocalyptic failures of the human soul"--

Saved in:

2nd Floor Show me where

0 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
2nd Floor 811.54/Dove Due Feb 7, 2023
New York, NY : W. W. Norton & Company [2021]
First edition
Physical Description
114 pages ; 22 cm
Main Author
Rita Dove (author)
  • Time's arrow
  • After Egypt
  • Spring cricket
  • A standing witness
  • Eight angry odes
  • Little book of woe.