Scribbly

Ged Adamson

Book - 2021

Maude moves to a new town and needs to make friends. With a scribble here, and a scribble there, and some imagination, she makes a scribbnificent new pal.

Saved in:

Children's Room Show me where

jE/Adamson
0 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Children's Room jE/Adamson Due Jul 7, 2022
Subjects
Genres
Picture books for children
Picture books
Published
New York, NY : Harper, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers [2021]
Edition
First edition
Language
English
Item Description
"A real imaginary friend tale"--Cover.
Physical Description
1 volume (unpaged) : color illustrations ; 27 cm
Audience
Ages 4-8.
ISBN
9780062670823
0062670824
Main Author
Ged Adamson (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

When Maude and her mother move to a new town, they enjoy its amazing sights and activities, but something is missing. Longing for a companion, Maude draws a picture of a smiling blue dog. And Scribbly, "the bestest friend anyone could ask for," comes to life. She plays with him every day, enjoying his company. Invited to a neighbor child's birthday party, Maude feels nervous, but with Scribbly beside her, she quickly makes new friends. And when Mom takes her to an animal shelter to choose a dog, no one is more excited than Scribbly. That night, both dogs curl up on Maude's bed to sleep, and she sums up her happiness: "scribbnificent!" While a number of picture books involve children's imaginary friends, resourceful Maude knows what she needs and creates the perfect companion for herself. The double-page spread showcasing her realistically childlike drawing of Scribbly is a standout. Working with pencil and watercolors, Adamson offers appealing scenes that work seamlessly with the precisely worded text to reveal the characters' emotions. A sunny, satisfying picture book. Preschool-Grade 2. Copyright 2021 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

Maude, the dark-haired, pale pink–skinned narrator of Adamson's picture book, is the new kid in town. Addressing the lack of a playmate, creative Maude draws a dog in indigo crayon and names him Scribbly; he soon becomes Maude's constant companion. When brown-skinned neighbor Louie invites Maude to his birthday party, Mom advises Maude to leave Scribbly at home. But when Maude "really, really needed him," Scribbly saves the day. In a refreshingly affirmative spread, Mom focuses on Maude's qualities over Scribbly's existence: "You taught Scribbly how to dance,/ how to draw,/ and how to do magic./ Scribbly is special and fun because YOU ARE." Adamson's pencil and watercolor art has a doodled—"kind of... scribbly"—quality, with an inclusive cast of cartoonish characters in a subdued palette. Readers and guardians alike will appreciate the charming canine friendship and compassionate parenting. Ages 4–8. (June) Copyright 2021 Publishers Weekly.

Review by School Library Journal Reviews

K-Gr 2—After moving to a new home in the city with her mother, a creative young girl draws a simple, life-sized dog named "Scribbly" to become her imaginary friend. Feeling lonely and awkward about making new friends, Maude relies more and more on Scribbly's company, even at a neighbor's birthday party. Between the playful scenes, there is a delicate lesson about building self-worth to be found in Maude's inability to let the idea of Scribbly go. Maude's newfound friends kindly accept Scribbly as a reassuring presence for Maude, but Maude's mother gently teaches her daughter that Scribbly merely reflects the very best of what Maude already possesses and to believe in her own worth and talents, as her new friends already do. True to the sweet nature of the story and "doodle-happy" aspects of Maude's joyful, if sometimes timid, personality, Adamson's pencil and watercolor illustrations express sketch-like qualities and easy, flowing angles in the figures. Thinly outlined features and uncluttered scenes allow elementary readers' eyes to center on Maude's relationships and interactions. VERDICT A generous reminder of the values of understanding, self-confidence, and support for what others personally need as a comfort during trying times.—Rachel Mulligan, Westampton, NJ Copyright 2021 School Library Journal.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

"When Maude moves to a new town, everything feels okay. Things would feel just right if only she had a friend. So, Maude draws a blue puppy and names him Scribbly. He plays catch, takes naps, but most importantly, Scribbly teaches Maude the importance ofstaying true to herself and gives her the courage to meet new friends, both human and four-legged"--

Review by Publisher Summary 2

In need of a friend, Maude, who has just moved to a new town, draws a blue puppy she names Scribbly who gives her the courage to meet new friends—both human and four-legged. 35,000 first printing. Illustrations.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

Imaginary friends are real friends. When Maude moves to a new town, everything feels…okay. Things would feel just right if only she had a friend. So, Maude draws a blue puppy and names him Scribbly. He plays catch, takes naps, but most importantly, Scribbly teaches Maude the importance of staying true to herself and gives her the courage to meet new friends—both human and four-legged. This heartfelt picture book from Ged Adamson, the creator of Shark Dog! and Ava and the Rainbow (Who Stayed) is perfect for fans of Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak, Harold and the Purple Crayon by Crockett Johnson, The Adventures of Beekle by Dan Santat, and The Rabbit Listened by Cori Doerrfeld.