The excalibur curse

Kiersten White

Book - 2021

"The third and final book in the Camelot Rising trilogy finds Guinevere facing off against those she loves most, but can she find the courage to make the ultimate sacrifice?"--

Saved in:

Young Adult Area Show me where

1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Young Adult Area YOUNG ADULT FICTION/White Kiersten Checked In
White, Kiersten. Camelot rising trilogy ; 3.
Young adult fiction
Fantasy fiction
New York, NY : Delacorte Press [2021]
First edition
Physical Description
349 pages ; 24 cm
Ages 12 and up.
Main Author
Kiersten White (author)
Review by School Library Journal Reviews

Gr 9 Up—This epic conclusion to the fantasy-based "Camelot Rising Trilogy" picks up right where the previous book left off. Guinevere, surrounded by various enemies of Arthur, makes the decision to go with Morgana and Mordred; she mistakenly believes they were going after Camelot and realizes too late they wanted her. Despite Mordred's warnings not to trust his mother, Morgana, Guinevere takes the opportunity to have Morgana sift through her memories and connections to the people in her life to figure out who she is. This leads to Guinevere feeling more confused than ever as her love, passion, and other connections to people aren't tied to whom she expected. Additionally, Morgana has learned powerful and dangerous magic from Guinevere's memories. Female warriors, referred to as Picts, are introduced, giving Guinevere a look at what freedom to make her own choices might be like, as they are not forced to listen to husbands or dress modestly. Previously Guinevere was trying to survive and help Camelot thrive, but for the first time she starts thinking about what she wants and needs. More plot-driven than the previous books, this story becomes more introspective as it looks to the future instead of the past. An enchanting end to this female-led Arthurian tale, it will leave readers satisfied, yet sad to leave these vibrant characters behind. VERDICT Thought-provoking inspiration behind the lives of the women of Camelot, a must purchase where the series is popular.—Rebecca Greer, Hillsborough County P.L. Coop., FL Copyright 2021 School Library Journal.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

To unravel her past, Guinevere joins forces with the sorceress Morgana and finally learns who she is and how she came to be, finding herself faced with an impossible choice: fix a terrible crime or help prevent a war. Simultaneous eBook.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

The gripping conclusion to the acclaimed Arthurian fantasy trilogy from #1 New York Times bestselling author Kiersten White finds Guinevere questioning everything—friends and enemies, good and evil, and, most of all, herself.While journeying north toward the Dark Queen, Guinevere falls into the hands of her enemies. Behind her are Lancelot, trapped on the other side of the magical barrier they created to protect Camelot, and Arthur, who has been led away from his kingdom, chasing after false promises. But the greatest danger isn’t what lies ahead of Guinevere—it’s what’s been buried inside her. Vowing to unravel the truth of her past with or without Merlin’s help, Guinevere joins forces with the sorceress Morgana and her son, Mordred—and faces the confusing, forbidden feelings she still harbors for him. When Guinevere makes an agonizing discovery about who she is and how she came to be, she finds herself with an impossible choice: fix a terrible crime, or help prevent war.Guinevere is determined to set things right, whatever the cost. To defeat a rising evil. To remake a kingdom. To undo the mistakes of the past...even if it means destroying herself.Guinevere has been a changeling, a witch, a queen—but what does it mean to be just a girl?