Super sidekicks

Gavin Aung Than

Book - 2020

"Superheroes have it sooo easy. They don't have to clean their secret headquarters, wash alien bloodstains out of their costumes, or walk Super Mutt. NO! They leave that for their sidekicks, while they get all the credit. Well, Junior Justice, aka J.J., has had ENOUGH! He thinks it's time the sidekicks made a team of their own. Dinomite and Flygirl are ready to join the team, but first they have to prove to the adult superheroes that they're more than just sidekicks" -- ...Provided by publisher.

Saved in:

Children's Room Show me where

jGRAPHIC NOVEL/Than/Super
vol. 1: 2 / 2 copies available
vol. 2: 1 / 2 copies available
vol. 3: 0 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Children's Room jGRAPHIC NOVEL/Than/Super v. 1 Checked In
Children's Room jGRAPHIC NOVEL/Than/Super v. 1 Checked In
Children's Room jGRAPHIC NOVEL/Than/Super v. 2 Checked In
Children's Room jGRAPHIC NOVEL/Than/Super v. 2 Due Jul 1, 2022
Series
Than, Gavin Aung. Super sidekicks ; book 1.
Subjects
Genres
Graphic novels
Science fiction comics
Humorous comics
Published
New York : Random House Children's Books 2020-
Edition
First American edition
Language
English
Physical Description
volumes : chiefly color illustrations ; 19 cm
Audience
Ages 8-12.
Grades 4-6.
ISBN
9780593175057
0593175050
9780593175088
0593175085
9780593175095
0593175093
9780593175163
0593175166
Main Author
Gavin Aung Than (author)
Other Authors
Sarah (Colorist) Stern (-)
  • v. 1.
  • No adults allowed
  • v. 2.
  • Ocean's revenge
Review by Booklist Reviews

Everyone thinks that being a superhero sidekick must be an awesome job, but Junior Justice (JJ), Flygirl, and Dinomite would all beg to differ. Their superhero partners take them for granted, so they decide to create their own superteam along with supervillain sidekick Goo, who just wants to have real friends and finally get away from the cruel Dr. Enok. Everything is going according to plan, but when the superheroes and Dr. Enok find them, it all turns into a nightmare: Goo is kidnapped by the evil Dr. Enok, and the sidekicks feel powerless to help. This story of friendship, teamwork, and resilience will resonate with any reader who has felt invisible. The brightly colored, eye-catching artwork features bold, stylized characters (most of whom present as white, except for JJ, who has brown skin) who gently lampoon superhero comics mainstays, and the cartoon action is clearly drawn and easy to follow. This fun take on the superhero genre for middle-grade readers nicely emphasizes friendship and standing up for oneself. Grades 2-5. Copyright 2020 Booklist Reviews.

Review by School Library Journal Reviews

Gr 3–6—Superhero adults take a backseat as their kid sidekicks, tired of being ignored, grab the wheel and form their own team in the first volume of this action-packed series set in Sydney, Australia. Led by Junior Justice (JJ), a brown-skinned boy who's a technology and martial arts expert, Flygirl, a white, red-haired girl with the power of flight; Dinomite, a green, bespectacled dinosaur who speaks 47 languages, has a degree in quantum mechanics, and can transform into any dinosaur; and Goo, a pile of pink slime created by the villain Dr. Enok, join forces, become friends, establish their own identities, and take on their first mission. When Goo is kidnapped by Enok, the sidekicks must rescue him. Although the conceit of sidekicks rising to the status of superheroes isn't wholly original (the film Sky High and the comic Robin both portray similar story lines), this is a fun read for fans of adventure and superhero graphic novels. Than relies heavily on puns, vibrant colors, clean lines, and familiar motifs of good vs. evil. VERDICT A promising start to a new series that embraces friendship, action, and teamwork; sure to find an audience in any library serving young audiences.—Rachel Zuffa, Case H.S., Racine, WI Copyright 2020 School Library Journal.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

A children’s series debut by the cartoonist behind the best-selling Zen Pencils webcomic finds a fed-up J.J. teaming up with his fellow overworked sidekicks to prove they are ready for their own heroics, a venture that is complicated by the disappearance of a supervillain’s pet. Simultaneous. Illustrations.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

"Everyone loves an underdog. Super Sidekicks is a WINNER!" --Lincoln Peirce, New York Times bestselling author of the BIG NATE seriesCan the SIDEKICKS start their own SUPER team?! New York Times bestselling cartoonist Gavin Aung Than delivers caped-crusaders, dinosaurs, and goo in this hilarious new graphic novel series, perfect for fans of CAPTAIN UNDERPANTS and HILO!Superheroes have it soooo easy. They don't have to clean their secret headquarters, wash alien bloodstains out of their costumes, or walk Super Mutt. NO! They leave that for their sidekicks, while they get all the credit.Well, Junior Justice, aka J.J., has had ENOUGH! He thinks it's time the sidekicks made a team of their own. Dinomite and Flygirl are ready to join the team, but first they have to prove to the adult superheroes that they're more than just sidekicks. And once the evil Dr Enok discovers his favorite pet Goo has left him, the world might need saving sooner rather than later. . . .Kick it up a notch in Super Sidekicks #2: Ocean's Revenge. Coming in 2021!