Marcus makes a movie

Kevin Hart, 1979-

Book - 2021

Stand-up comedian and Hollywood box-office hit Kevin Hart keeps the laughs coming in an illustrated middle-grade novel about a boy who has big dreams of making a blockbuster superhero film.

Saved in:

Children's Room Show me where

jFICTION/Hart Kevin
2 / 2 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Children's Room jFICTION/Hart Kevin Checked In
Children's Room jFICTION/Hart Kevin Checked In
Subjects
Genres
Humorous fiction
Published
New York : Crown Books for Young Readers [2021]
Edition
First edition
Language
English
Physical Description
202 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm
ISBN
9780593179147
0593179145
0593179153
9780593179154
Main Author
Kevin Hart, 1979- (author)
Other Authors
Geoff Rodkey, 1970- (author), David Cooper, 1978- (illustrator)
Review by Booklist Reviews

With expert coaching from Rodkey, film star and stand-up comedian Hart kicks off a middle-grade series featuring—not coincidentally, according to the introduction—a character with an artistic bent, anger issues, a single dad, and a sudden yen to make a movie. Young Marcus would rather just draw superhero comics, but being forced to sign up for film club because it's the only after-school activity left open, he quickly becomes a man on a mission. Some schooling in the virtues of teamwork and compromise—plus plenty of eye-opening lessons in casting, screenplay writing, and other requisite skills later—Toothpick Fights the Doom is a "MeTube" sensation. Cooper's scattered monochrome scenes alternate isolated pages of Marcus' melodramatic comics with views of the largely Black cast in theatrical poses. By the end, Marcus has begun to work his way out of the emotional rut he's been in since his mother's death, found in "gangly mean girl" Sierra a perceptive, if mouthy, collaborator for future projects, and given readers a glimpse of what working hard to make a dream a reality looks like. Grades 4-6. Copyright 2021 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

All aspiring artist Marcus wants to do is work on his comics series, which features his daring alter ego, Toothpick. Unfortunately, the Afternoon Adventures art class his widower father enrolled him in proves a bad fit for his passion; with no better options, he reluctantly joins a filmmaking class. There, he meets aspiring social influencer Jazmin, music video creator Amari, and would-be writer/director Sierra. Dubious about the program and uninterested in crafting a film from Sierra's script, Marcus is slowly won over by the idea of filming Toothpick. Though he's initially intimidated by the amount of work involved in the cinematic creation process, from writing the screenplay to working within a realistic budget, accepting Sierra's tough-love advice helps him tackle each new obstacle in turn. In this exuberant middle grade debut, comedian Hart and coauthor Rodkey (We're Not from Here) navigate the complexities of filmmaking, skillfully channeling the craft through the misadventures of Marcus, whose inexperience with the medium and emotional connection to his material prove both creatively hindering and personally cathartic. With its solid comic timing and realistic sense of character and dialogue, this energetic love letter to the artistic process provides both practicality and encouragement. Cooper's b&w illustrations aptly capture the story's cued-Black cast. Ages 8–12. (June) Copyright 2021 Publishers Weekly.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

Middle school student Marcus Jenkins dreams of making the cartoon superhero he has been drawing into an actual movie, but he will need help from his friends, his teachers, and his classmates to make it happen.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

Stand-up comedian and Hollywood box-office hit Kevin Hart keeps the laughs coming in an illustrated middle-grade novel about a boy who has big dreams of making a blockbuster superhero film.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

Stand-up comedian and Hollywood box-office hit Kevin Hart keeps the laughs coming in an illustrated middle-grade novel about a boy who has big dreams of making a blockbuster superhero film. Simultaneous eBook. Illustrations.

Review by Publisher Summary 4

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Stand-up comedian and Hollywood box-office hit Kevin Hart keeps the laughs coming in an illustrated middle-grade novel about a boy who has big dreams of making a blockbuster superhero film. Perfect for readers of James Patterson's Middle School series and Lincoln Peirce's Big Nate series."Keep[s] kid readers on the edge of their seat." –Parents Magazine Marcus is NOT happy to be stuck in after-school film class . . . until he realizes he can turn the story of the cartoon superhero he’s been drawing for years into an actual MOVIE! There’s just one problem: he has no idea what he’s doing. So he’ll need help, from his friends, his teachers, Sierra, the strong-willed classmate with creative dreams of her own, even Tyrell, the local bully who’d be a perfect movie villain if he weren’t too terrifying to talk to. Making this movie won’t be easy. But as Marcus discovers, nothing great ever is—and if you want your dream to come true, you’ve got to put in the hustle to make it happen.  Comedy superstar Kevin Hart teams up with award-winning author Geoff Rodkey and lauded illustrator David Cooper for a hilarious, illustrated, and inspiring story about bringing your creative goals to life and never giving up, even when nothing’s going your way.