Not my problem

Ciara Smyth

Book - 2021

A teen girl, Aideen, makes a journey from self-protectively tough to ready and willing to face her main problem: her single mother's alcoholism.

Saved in:

Young Adult Area Show me where

YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Smyth Ciara
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Young Adult Area YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Smyth Ciara Checked In
Subjects
Genres
Young adult fiction
Lesbian fiction
Bildungsromans
Novels
Published
New York, NY : Harper Teen, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers [2021]
Edition
First edition
Language
English
Physical Description
361 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN
9780062957146
0062957147
Main Author
Ciara Smyth (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

Aideen's homelife is troubled, thanks to an impoverished alcoholic mother and a selfish biological father who shows up unannounced to seek respite from his "perfect" marriage and family. School isn't much easier; Aideen is behind on everything, relying on her best friend Holly to keep her going. The pressure to succeed is high at St. Louise's, and when class know-it-all and Holly's rival, Meabh Kowalski, confesses her struggles to Aideen, the sympathetic teen can't help offering to assist with a push when she sees Meabh's on the edge, of both her emotions and a set of steep stairs. Kavi Thakrar, witness to the resulting sprained ankle, begins to find other "clients" for Aideen to help, and she finds herself in a mire of plans and plots, torn between her supposed best friend and her new unexpected crush, and dodging suspicions and questions about her homelife from a concerned teacher. Smyth's characters are fresh and memorable, from tall, unpredictable chatterbox Kavi to Kristen Stewart–fangirl Aideen and multifaceted Meabh. As Aideen struggles to parent her own parent, learning that she can fix everyone's problems but her own, she might have to finally seek help to get her own life and well-being under control. Grades 7-10. Copyright 2022 Booklist Reviews.

Review by School Library Journal Reviews

Gr 8 Up—In this witty and engaging novel, Irish author Smyth creates a flawed teen girl, Aideen, who makes a credible journey from self-protectively tough to ready and willing to face her main problem: her single mother's neglectful alcoholism. When Aideen makes a snap decision to help the principal's overachieving, overscheduled, and generally disliked daughter, she begins doing secret favors for classmates in return for them owing her their help. She develops unexpected feelings for one of her clients and makes a new friend in Kavi, who is chatty and humorous but also has his own problems as, Aideen discovers, everyone does. The story unfolds effortlessly, detailing both suspenseful and hilarious moments, as does real life. Populated with believable high school friends and very few adults, Aideen and most other characters are white, and Kavi is Indian. Here, Aideen's lesbian identity is not a plot point, but a detail that gives her authenticity. VERDICT This engaging novel will hook readers immediately. Recommended for all collections serving teens.—Francisca Goldsmith, Lib. Ronin, Worcester, MA Copyright 2021 School Library Journal.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

A teen girl, Aideen, makes a journey from self-protectively tough to ready and willing to face her main problem: her single mother's alcoholism.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

Aideen's best (and only) friend is pulling away. Her mother's drinking problem is a constant concern. She's running out of diseases to fake so she can skip PE. When she sees her nemesis, overachiever Meabh Kowalski, in the midst of a full-blown meltdown,she sees a problem that-- unlike her own disaster of a life-- seems refreshingly easy to solve. She volunteers to help Meabh escape her crushing pile of extracurriculars... by pushing Meabh down the stairs. When another student learns about their little scheme and brings Aideen another 'client" who needs her "help" it kicks off a semester of traded favors, ill-advised hijinks, and an unexpected chance at love. -- adapted from jacket

Review by Publisher Summary 3

Perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli and Nina LaCour, this queer coming-of-age story from the author of The Falling in Love Montage is wry, multilayered, and unflinchingly honest. Aideen has plenty of problems she can't solve. But when she stumbles upon overachiever Meabh Kowalska having a full-blown meltdown, she sees one that she can actually fix. Meabh is desperate to escape her crushing pile of extracurriculars. Aideen volunteers to help'by pushing her down the stairs. Problem? Solved. Meabh's sprained ankle is the perfect excuse to ditch her overwhelming schedule. But when one of their classmates learns about their little scheme, more 'clients' start asking for Aideen's 'help''kicking off a semester of traded favors, ill-advised hijinks, and even an unexpected chance at love. Fixing other people's problems won't fix her own. But it might be the push Aideen needs to start.

Review by Publisher Summary 4

Perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli and Nina LaCour, this queer coming-of-age story from the author of The Falling in Love Montage is wry, multilayered, and unflinchingly honest. Aideen has plenty of problems she can’t solve. But when she stumbles upon overachiever Meabh Kowalska having a full-blown meltdown, she sees one that she can actually fix. Meabh is desperate to escape her crushing pile of extracurriculars. Aideen volunteers to help—by pushing her down the stairs. Problem? Solved. Meabh’s sprained ankle is the perfect excuse to ditch her overwhelming schedule. But when one of their classmates learns about their little scheme, more “clients” start asking for Aideen’s “help”—kicking off a semester of traded favors, ill-advised hijinks, and even an unexpected chance at love. Fixing other people’s problems won’t fix her own. But it might be the push Aideen needs to start.