Men are frogs

Saranna DeWylde

Book - 2021

Wedding planner Zuri Davis is happy to be offered a job with Fairy Godmothers, Inc., and trade the excitement of Chicago for the small-town charm of Ever After, Missouri. Falling for one of her grooms destroyed her career-- and proved to her that all men are indeed frogs. When she meets B&B owner Phillip Charming, who definitely lives up to his name, even she is tempted to test that theory. Three hundred years as a frog by day and himself by night, is enough to test any man's patience, ...even if Phillip knows he deserved Petunia's curse. And stubborn, proud Zuri is a woman he'd like to promise his heart and everything else to-- if only he weren't a sometimes-frog. Can he hope for True Love's Kiss from a woman whose trust has been so thoroughly broken? -- adapted from back cover

Saved in:

1st Floor Show me where

FICTION/Dewylde Saranna
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor FICTION/Dewylde Saranna Checked In
Series
DeWylde, Saranna. Fairy Godmothers, Inc. (Series)
Subjects
Genres
Paranormal romance stories
Fantasy fiction
Romance fiction
Humorous fiction
Novels
Published
New York, NY : Zebra Books/Kensington Publishing Corp [2021]
Language
English
Item Description
Sequel to: Fairy Godmothers, Inc.
Physical Description
310 pages ; 21 cm
ISBN
9781420153156
1420153153
Main Author
Saranna DeWylde (author)
Review by Library Journal Reviews

Zuri is a wedding planner whose career in Chicago was destroyed when she unintentionally started a relationship with a groom-to-be. For a fresh start, she moves to Ever After, MO, and takes a job with Petunia, Jonquil, and Bluebonnet at Fairy Godmothers, Inc. There she meets B&B owner Phillip Charming, a prince who annoyed the wrong fairy godmother 300 years ago and was cursed to live as a frog during the daytime. He's smitten with Zuri, but how can he ask her to consider someone who spends half his time as an amphibian? DeWylde's ("The Woolven Secret" series) premise is ripe for comedy, but there often isn't enough of a foil (whether from a character or situation) to let the humor shine through. There's no hand-holding for readers new to the "Fairy Godmothers, Inc." series; this installment gives little explanation of the characters or their relationships to each other. The ratio of dialogue to action skews heavily in favor of dialogue, and readers will have to use their imaginations to visualize the characters, as the author gives little description. The atmosphere evokes a Hallmark Christmas movie: sweet and cutesy, with a number of declarations about the wonders of love, magic, and hope. There are also some swear words and mildly descriptive love scenes. VERDICT Suggest this Fairy Godmothers, Inc. sequel to fans of Hallmark movies who want something a little risqué.—Mary Frances Cely, Richland Lib., SC Copyright 2021 Library Journal.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

Returning to the enchanting world of Fairy Godmothers, Inc., DeWylde delivers a sparkling rom-com remix of classic fairy tales. Wedding planner Zuri Davis loves her job—right up until the day it literally goes up in flames. Though she hates the thought of moving away from Chicago and her twin sister, she takes an interview in Ever After, Mo., a popular wedding destination. There, Phillip Charming more than lives up to his name—that is, when he's not a frog. He spends the daylight hours in amphibian form due to a curse placed on him by fairy godmother Petunia Blossom 300 years ago. In the meantime, he's opened his castle as a B&B. He sets out to be the perfect host for Zuri and quickly finds himself smitten by the nonmagical woman. The pair fall prey to the matchmaking machinations of the town's meddling fairy godmothers, but Charming doesn't have time for a relationship; he must find a cure for his curse ASAP or become a frog full-time. DeWylde uses her diverse, nontraditional takes on fairy tale characters and tropes to delve deep into themes of toxic masculinity, female empowerment, and the transformative power of love. Delightful supporting characters—among them a sentient castle and an evil queen in recovery—only add to the charm. Readers are sure to be swept away. (Aug.) Copyright 2021 Publishers Weekly.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

When disgraced wedding planner Zuri Davis arrives in Ever After to work for Fairy Godmothers, Inc., B&B owner Phillip Charming, who has lived 300 years as a frog by day and himself by night, wonders if she is the one who can break his curse.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

When disgraced wedding planner Zuri Davis arrives in Ever After to work for Fairy Godmothers, Inc., B&B owner Phillip Charming, who has lived 300 years as a frog by day and himself by night, wonders if she is the one who can break his curse. Original.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

“Sparkling…DeWylde uses her diverse, nontraditional takes on fairy tale characters and tropes to delve deep into themes of toxic masculinity, female empowerment, and the transformative power of love. Delightful.”— Publishers Weekly STARRED REVIEW Fans of Angie Hockman and Sarah Hogle won’t want to miss this enchanting, funny, and sexy novel that takes you inside the heart of the world’s magic—and warms your heart as the resident Fairy Godmothers seek to expand that magic through the power of love… SOMETIMES YOU’RE THE CURSE . . . Disgraced wedding planner Zuri Davis is so relieved to be offered a job with Fairy Godmothers, Inc., she’s willing to trade the high-rise excitement of Chicago for the small-town charm of Ever After. Falling for one of her grooms, even unintentionally, was enough destroy her career—and also to prove that all men are indeed frogs. But when she meets gorgeous B&B owner Philip Charming, who definitely lives up to his name, even she is tempted to test that theory . . .  AND SOMETIMES YOU’RE THE CURE   Three hundred years as a frog by day and himself by night, is enough to test any man’s patience--even if Philip knows he deserved Petunia’s curse. It certainly taught him not to mess around when it comes to making promises. And stubborn, proud Zuri is a woman he’d like to promise his heart and everything else to—if only he weren’t a sometimes-frog. Can he hope for True Love’s Kiss from a woman whose trust has been so thoroughly broken?