Dear treefrog

Joyce Sidman

Book - 2021

"With magical, concise and perceptive poems, Newbery-Honor winning author Joyce Sidman captures the life of a tree frog in an intimate and moving way. A master of the science note, her fascinating sidebars help bind the twin poems together and ground our perspective. We learn how treefrogs have sticky toe pads, how they still themselves when in danger, how they can change from green to gray to camouflage themselves - even how they eat their own skins, which is full of nutrients. The narrato...r's connection with this small creature brings solace, comfort, and a sense of mystery."--

Saved in:

Children's Room Show me where

jE/Sidman
2 / 2 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Children's Room jE/Sidman Checked In
Children's Room jE/Sidman Checked In
Subjects
Genres
Picture books for children
Children's stories pictorial works
Nature poetry
Informational works
Picture books
Published
Boston : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt [2021]
Language
English
Physical Description
1 volume (unpaged) : color illustrations ; 29 cm
Audience
Ages 4 to 7
Grades K-1
ISBN
9780358064763
0358064767
Main Author
Joyce Sidman (author)
Other Authors
Diana Sudyka (illustrator)
Review by Booklist Reviews

*Starred Review* When an inquisitive, shy girl finds a treefrog in front of her new house, the quiet creature, "a tiny dollop of / frog / where before / there was only leaf," becomes an emblem for the girl's feelings over the course of the seasons as she faces a new school and misses an old friend. Looking for and wondering about the frog, meanwhile, becomes a grounding comfort for the girl: "I look / and breathe / and / settle / growing / calmer / steadier / a little less lonely." As the seasons turn and the treefrog hibernates, the girl makes a friend as interested in quiet observation as she is, and they patiently wait for the return of spring when they can look for the amphibian again. In compelling contrast to Sidman's spare verses, Sudyka's warm, detailed paintings, dense with overlapping wide green leaves and jostling oversize, boldly colored blooms, lovingly showcase lush natural areas, with lots of other wildlife tucked into the habitat. Unobtrusive text labels plants and animals, and, while stylized, the figures are realistic enough to identify individual species. A few lines of prose on each page spread offer additional facts about treefrogs, and back matter provides even more opportunities for learning. This artful picture book seamlessly blends science, poetry, and mindfulness, encouraging little ones to get outside, slow down, and look closely at what's around them. Grades K-3. Copyright 2020 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

"With magical, concise and perceptive poems, Newbery-Honor winning author Joyce Sidman captures the life of a tree frog in an intimate and moving way. A master of the science note, her fascinating sidebars help bind the twin poems together and ground ourperspective. We learn how treefrogs have sticky toe pads, how they still themselves when in danger, how they can change from green to gray to camouflage themselves - even how they eat their own skins, which is full of nutrients. The narrator's connectionwith this small creature brings solace, comfort, and a sense of mystery"--

Review by Publisher Summary 2

A poetic celebration of the joys of finding a kindred spirit follows the experiences of a lonely girl who encounters a tiny treefrog in her new home. By the Newbery Honor-winning author of Hello, Earth! 25,000 first printing. Simultaneous eBook. Illustrations.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

Capturing the joy of finding a kindred spirit, this stunning picture book by Newbery Honor–winning poet Joyce Sidman tells the story of a lonely girl moving into a new home and the little treefrog that helps her connect to the beautiful world around her. Perfect for fans of A Butterfly Is Patient and They Saw a Cat.I See You suddenly among the tangled green a tiny dollop of frog where before there was only leaf   . . . Are you new here too? When a shy girl moves to a strange new home, she discovers a treefrog perched in a secret spot nearby and learns that sometimes, all it takes to connect with the people and the world around us is a little patience, a curious mind, and a willingness to see the world through a different perspective than your own. With beautiful gouache illustrations by Diana Sudyka and magical, perceptive poems from Newbery Honor–winning author Joyce Sidman, the lives of one tree frog and the girl who discovers it converge, bringing solace, courage, and joy in finding a kindred spirit.

Review by Publisher Summary 4

Capturing the joy of finding a kindred spirit, this stunning picture book by Newbery Honor'winning poet Joyce Sidman tells the story of a lonely girl moving into a new home and the little treefrog that helps her connect to the beautiful world around her. Perfect for fans of A Butterfly Is Patient and They Saw a Cat.I See You suddenly among the tangled green a tiny dollop of frog where before there was only leaf   . . . Are you new here too? When a shy girl moves to a strange new home, she discovers a treefrog perched in a secret spot nearby and learns that sometimes, all it takes to connect with the people and the world around us is a little patience, a curious mind, and a willingness to see the world through a different perspective than your own. With beautiful gouache illustrations by Diana Sudyka and magical, perceptive poems from Newbery Honor'winning author Joyce Sidman, the lives of one tree frog and the girl who discovers it converge, bringing solace, courage, and joy in finding a kindred spirit. 

Review by Publisher Summary 5

Capturing the joy of finding a kindred spirit, this stunning picture book by Newbery Honor'winning poet Joyce Sidman tells the story of a lonely girl moving into a new home and the little treefrog that helps her connect to the beautiful world around her. Perfect for fans of A Butterfly Is Patient and They All Saw a Cat.

Review by Publisher Summary 6

Capturing the joy of finding a kindred spirit, this stunning picture book by Newbery Honor–winning poet Joyce Sidman tells the story of a lonely girl moving into a new home and the little treefrog that helps her connect to the beautiful world around her. Perfect for fans of A Butterfly Is Patient and They Saw a Cat.I See You suddenly among the tangled green a tiny dollop of frog where before there was only leaf   . . . Are you new here too? When a shy girl moves to a strange new home, she discovers a treefrog perched in a secret spot nearby and learns that sometimes, all it takes to connect with the people and the world around us is a little patience, a curious mind, and a willingness to see the world through a different perspective than your own. With beautiful gouache illustrations by Diana Sudyka and magical, perceptive poems from Newbery Honor–winning author Joyce Sidman, the lives of one tree frog and the girl who discovers it converge, bringing solace, courage, and joy in finding a kindred spirit. 

Review by Publisher Summary 7

Capturing the joy of finding a kindred spirit, this stunning picture book by Newbery Honor–winning poet Joyce Sidman tells the story of a lonely girl moving into a new home and the little treefrog that helps her connect to the beautiful world around her. Perfect for fans of A Butterfly Is Patient and They All Saw a Cat.