Down comes the night

Allison Saft

Book - 2021

"A gorgeously gothic, deeply romantic YA debut fantasy about two enemies trapped inside a crumbling mansion, with no escape from the monsters within. Honor your oath, destroy your country. Wren Southerland is the most talented healer in the Queen's Guard, but her reckless actions have repeatedly put her on thin ice with her superiors. So when a letter arrives from a reclusive lord, asking Wren to come to his estate to cure his servant from a mysterious disease, she seizes the chance to... prove herself. When she arrives at Colwick Hall, Wren realizes that nothing is what it seems. Particularly when she discovers her patient is actually Hal Cavendish, the sworn enemy of her kingdom. As the snowy mountains make it impossible to leave the estate, Wren and Hal grow closer as they uncover a sinister plot that could destroy everything they hold dear. But choosing love could doom both their kingdoms. Allison Saft's Down Comes the Night is a snow-drenched, gothic, romantic fantasy that keeps you racing through the pages long into the night"--

Saved in:

Young Adult Area Show me where

YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Saft Allison
2 / 2 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Young Adult Area YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Saft Allison Checked In
Young Adult Area YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Saft Allison Checked In
Subjects
Genres
Fantasy fiction
War fiction
Romance fiction
Published
New York : Wednesday Books 2021.
Edition
First edition
Language
English
Physical Description
388 pages ; 25 cm
ISBN
9781250623638
1250623634
Main Author
Allison Saft (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

Wren is the best healer in the Queen's Guard, but her tendency to go easy on prisoners has her reputation hanging by a thread. Banished from the guard and separated from her best friend and one-time lover, Una, she's lost and purposeless. Desperate for an escape, Wren leaps when summoned by a noble of nearby Cernos, one place not touched by their land's bloody civil war. Once she arrives, she finds that she's been played for a fool—the man she's been asked to heal is the Reaper, one of the greatest killers of her people. While she struggles to find the cause of the Reaper's mysterious and surely magical illness, she has to get close to him—maybe close enough to love. Debut author Saft has crafted an intricate world that's figured out down to the details of each character. A choice addition to any collection where Sarah J. Maas and Leigh Bardugo rule. Grades 9-12. Copyright 2021 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

Saft interweaves intrigue, romance, and magic to fashion a slow-burning and atmospheric fantasy debut. After combat medic Wren Southerland defies orders surrounding the use of her healing magic, her aunt, Queen Isabel of Danu, removes her from duty, causing a rift between Wren and her commanding officer, whom she loves despite circumstances forbidding their relationship. But Wren is soon contacted by a disgraced noble, who, in exchange for her healing his dying servant, offers a way to help her broker peace between Danu and neighboring Vesria. Much to her surprise, Wren's new patient is Hal Cavendish, a sworn enemy from Vesria. Trapped in Lowry's manor as the weather grows worse, Wren and Hal find unexpected common ground in their mutual desire for peace and growing attraction to one another. When they realize their host has a sinister ulterior motive, they must work together to save both their homelands. If Saft's novel follows predictable plot points, it still finds ways to surprise and enchant, including a brief look at magic-infused medical techniques and an elaborately gothic feel, en route to an open ending that leaves plenty of room for further exploration. Ages 13–up. Agents: Claire Friedman and Jessica Mileo, InkWell Management. (Mar.) Copyright 2021 Publishers Weekly.

Review by School Library Journal Reviews

Gr 9 Up—Wren Southerland's healing abilities make her one of the best surgeons in the country of Danu, but being able to feel another's pain gives her a compassionate nature at odds with her place in the military. With soldiers going missing along the border and Wren's compassion bungling a mission (again), she ends up suspended. A letter from Colwick Hall contains a chance to prove herself and earn back her post. Arriving at the snowy, crumbling castle, Wren finds her patient is not a servant, but her country's worst enemy, Hal Cavendish. A romantic high fantasy at turns lush and ominous, the detailed setting is at turns comforting and eerie as Wren struggles for acceptance and love, while the personal and political plots happening within the walls of Colwick will keep readers on pins and needles. Saft's narrative voice makes reading effortless with the perfect blend of pacing and poetry. Wren has auburn hair and a white relative; her skin color is not explicitly mentioned the way diversity in the supporting cast is. Wren is bisexual, with f/f and m/f romantic plotlines on the page. Fans of Leigh Bardugo's "Grisha Trilogy" and Marie Rutkoski's "Winner's Trilogy" have been waiting for this Darkling-esque romance. VERDICT Those who pick up Saft's debut will be richly rewarded on all counts—intricately woven characters, beautiful prose, and darkness around every corner make this fantasy a first purchase.—Emmy Neal, Lake Forest Lib., IL Copyright 2020 School Library Journal.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

Talented healer Wren Southerland unknowingly accepts a request to cure the kingdom's most powerful enemy soldier, Hal Cavendish, only to find herself torn between duty and her heart when they uncover a sinister plot.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

A talented but disgraced Queen’s Guard healer becomes snowed in at the estate of a reclusive lord before discovering that her patient, a servant with a mysterious illness, is a sworn enemy of the kingdom. A first novel. 75,000 first printing. Simultaneous eBook.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

"A YA fantasy classic in the making." - Christine Lynn Herman, author of The Devouring Gray"Fans of Leigh Bardugo’s “Grisha Trilogy” and Marie Rutkoski’s “Winner’s Trilogy” have been waiting for this Darkling-esque romance..." - School Library Journal (Starred Review)New York Times bestselling author Allison Saft’s Down Comes the Night is a snow-drenched romantic fantasy that keeps you racing through the pages long into the night.He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the magic in his darkness. Wren Southerland’s reckless use of magic has cost her everything: she's been dismissed from the Queen’s Guard and separated from her best friend—the girl she loves. So when a letter arrives from a reclusive lord, asking Wren to come to his estate, Colwick Hall, to cure his servant from a mysterious illness, she seizes her chance to redeem herself. The mansion is crumbling, icy winds haunt the caved-in halls, and her eccentric host forbids her from leaving her room after dark. Worse, Wren’s patient isn’t a servant at all but Hal Cavendish, the infamous Reaper of Vesria and her kingdom’s sworn enemy. Hal also came to Colwick Hall for redemption, but the secrets in the estate may lead to both of their deaths. With sinister forces at work, Wren and Hal realize they’ll have to join together if they have any hope of saving their kingdoms. But as Wren circles closer to the nefarious truth behind Hal’s illness, they realize they have no escape from the monsters within the mansion. All they have is each other, and a startling desire that could be their downfall. Love makes monsters of us all

Review by Publisher Summary 4

A gorgeous, deeply romantic YA debut fantasy about two enemies trapped inside a crumbling mansion, with no escape from the monsters within.