It's kind of a cheesy love story

Lauren Morrill

Book - 2021

Sixteen-year-old Beck rediscovers herself while working with a group of misfits at the local pizza parlor where she was born.

Saved in:

Young Adult Area Show me where

YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Morrill Lauren
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Young Adult Area YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Morrill Lauren Checked In
Subjects
Genres
Novels
Published
New York : Farrar Straus Giroux Books for Young Readers 2021.
Edition
First edition
Language
English
Physical Description
342 pages ; 22 cm
Audience
Ages 14-18.
Grades 10-12.
ISBN
9780374306212
0374306214
Main Author
Lauren Morrill (author)
Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

Being the "Hot 'N Crusty Bathroom Baby" is 16-year-old Beck Brix's claim to fame, and the bane of her existence. Even the local news covered her birth on a pizza parlor ladies' room floor, and "no one grows out of anything in a small town"—especially when she takes a job at the Hot 'N Crusty to cover gas, car insurance, and her fancy friend group's weekend shopping trips. But it's not so bad; she starts to feel more comfortable with the pizza crew than with her cool school friends, and more able to let out her inner nerd. Plus, the brusque delivery guy, Tristan, is kind of cute. Morrill (Better than the Best Plan) makes Brix believable and likable, and gives her a distinct voice (she nearly "melts into a puddle of Beck" when her hunky crush sits next to her), even as she knows she should say hello to her co-worker at school—and doesn't. It's unfortunate, though, that Beck's big lesson on being true to herself is largely courtesy of Tristan rather than her own exploration. Ages 14–up. Agent: Stephen Barbara, InkWell Management. (Mar.) Copyright 2021 Publishers Weekly.

Review by School Library Journal Reviews

Gr 8 Up—Beck Brix has been known as the Pizza Princess or the Hot & Crusty Bathroom Baby ever since she was unceremoniously born in the bathroom of the local pizza parlor—at which point the owner offered her free pizza for life and a guaranteed job when she turned 16. It's a destiny that Beck has been trying to escape her whole life, especially when she falls in with the popular crowd at her high school. How will being the Pizza Princess, or her obsession with a vintage sci-fi show, help her catch the eye of her baseball star crush? Or help her to avoid the snide remarks of the queen bee of their group? But when Beck turns 16 with no other job offers on the horizon, she reluctantly starts work at Hot & Crusty, only to discover that it's one of the few places where she can truly be herself. As Beck begins to make friends with the Hot & Crusty crew, she finds herself drawn to Tristan, the broody delivery boy. This is, as the title describes, kind of a cheesy love story. Though there's not much groundbreaking about the book, it hits all of the familiar romantic comedy notes with a good deal of warmth and heart. The majority of the cast appears to be white, except Tristan, who is biracial. VERDICT Readers who appreciate the wholesome romances of Emma Lord, Kasie West, and Morrill's other books will find simple comfort food here.—Mimi Powell, Lib. Systs. and Svcs., Kissimmee, FL Copyright 2021 School Library Journal.

Review by School Library Journal Reviews

Gr 8 Up—Beck Brix has been known as the Pizza Princess or the Hot & Crusty Bathroom Baby ever since she was unceremoniously born in the bathroom of the local pizza parlor—at which point the owner offered her free pizza for life and a guaranteed job when she turned 16. It's a destiny that Beck has been trying to escape her whole life, especially when she falls in with the popular crowd at her high school. How will being the Pizza Princess, or her obsession with a vintage sci-fi show, help her catch the eye of her baseball star crush? Or help her to avoid the snide remarks of the queen bee of their group? But when Beck turns 16 with no other job offers on the horizon, she reluctantly starts work at Hot & Crusty, only to discover that it's one of the few places where she can truly be herself. As Beck begins to make friends with the Hot & Crusty crew, she finds herself drawn to Tristan, the broody delivery boy. This is, as the title describes, kind of a cheesy love story. Though there's not much groundbreaking about the book, it hits all of the familiar romantic comedy notes with a good deal of warmth and heart. The majority of the cast appears to be white, except Tristan, who is biracial. VERDICT Readers who appreciate the wholesome romances of Emma Lord, Kasie West, and Morrill's other books will find simple comfort food here.—Mimi Powell, Lib. Systs. and Svcs., Kissimmee, FL Copyright 2021 School Library Journal.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

Sixteen-year-old Beck rediscovers herself while working with a group of misfits at the local pizza parlor where she was born.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

Accepting a much-needed job from a local pizzeria where she was suddenly born 16 years earlier, Beck discovers an unanticipated sense of belonging among her less-popular co-workers before a disaster compels her to fight for the family restaurant that has become like a home. 35,000 first printing. Simultaneous eBook.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

A delicious love story with all the toppings, Lauren Morrill's It's Kind of a Cheesy Love Story is a contemporary YA rom-com about love, friendship, and pizza, perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han.After her mother gave birth to her in the bathroom of a local pizzeria, Beck has been given the dubious privilege of having minor fame, free pizza for life, and a guaranteed job when she turns sixteen—a job she unfortunately can’t afford to turn down.Now she's stuck with her geeky co-workers instead of taking Instagram-ready shots with her best friends (and her epic crush).But maybe the pizza people aren't all bad. Maybe that pizza delivery guy is kind of cute. And maybe there's a way to make this Bathroom Baby thing work for her. Because when disaster strikes the beloved pizza place that's started to feel like home, she's going to need a miracle—one that might even mean bringing her two worlds together.