To have and to hoax A novel

Martha Waters, 1988-

Book - 2020

"In this fresh and hilarious historical rom-com, an estranged husband and wife in Regency England feign accidents and illness in an attempt to gain attention--and maybe just win each other back in the process. Five years ago, Lady Violet Grey and Lord James Audley met, fell in love, and got married. Four years ago, they had a fight to end all fights, and have barely spoken since. Their once-passionate love match has been reduced to one of cold, detached politeness. But when Violet receives ...a letter that James has been thrown from his horse and rendered unconscious at their country estate, she races to be by his side--only to discover him alive and well at a tavern, and completely unaware of her concern. She's outraged. He's confused. And the distance between them has never been more apparent. Wanting to teach her estranged husband a lesson, Violet decides to feign an illness of her own. James quickly sees through it, but he decides to play along in an ever-escalating game of manipulation, featuring actors masquerading as doctors, threats of Swiss sanitariums, faux mistresses--and a lot of flirtation between a husband and wife who might not hate each other as much as they thought. Will the two be able to overcome four years of hurt or will they continue to deny the spark between them?"--

Saved in:

1st Floor Show me where

FICTION/Waters Martha
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor FICTION/Waters Martha Checked In
Subjects
Genres
Historical fiction
Romance fiction
Regency fiction
Humorous fiction
Published
New York : Atria Paperback 2020.
Edition
First Atria Paperback edition
Language
English
Physical Description
360 pages ; 21 cm
ISBN
9781982136116
1982136111
Main Author
Martha Waters, 1988- (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

*Starred Review* After enjoying one year of wedded happiness, Violet and James Audley have spent the last four years locked in icily polite marital combat. Upon receiving word that James has been seriously injured in a riding accident at their country estate, however, Violet immediately sets out from London to be by his side. After discovering that the reports of James' injuries have been greatly exaggerated, Violet decides that turnabout is fair play, only to discover that fooling her husband—not to mention fooling herself with regards to her real feelings for James—just might be more difficult than she first imagined. Waters' cleverly conceived and brilliantly executed debut is served up with an abundance of cheeky charm and wonderfully wry wit. When it comes to delivering the Regency-set equivalent of a classic 1930s–40s screwball romantic comedy, Waters is on par with filmmakers Billy Wilder and Ernst Lubitsch, but what will really win over romance readers is how beautifully she writes about the important role of trust in a true marriage of minds and hearts. Copyright 2020 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Library Journal Reviews

DEBUT Four years ago, Violet and James Audley had the fight to end all fights, and they've barely spoken since. Once their marriage held passion and romance, now it's filled with coldness and separation. Then Violet receives word that James has fallen from his horse and is gravely ill, and rushing to his side she finds him perfectly healthy. Angered that he dismisses her concern so casually, Violet hatches a scheme to turn the tables on him by pretending to have consumption. Against the advice of everyone she knows—wouldn't talking it out be better?—Violet hires a fake doctor and pretends to be bedridden to trick James into admitting his feelings for her. Naturally, her scheme backfires, and soon both of them are involved in a game of snowballing deception. Amid thorny tropes (big misunderstandings, childish revenge plots), there is enough character growth in both James and Violet to make their reconciliation worth readers' wait. VERDICT Debuter Waters is off to a promising start with a rare historical romantic comedy that is sure to delight fans of either genre. [Previewed in Eve Stano's Romance Preview, "Love for All," LJ 10/19.]—Kathryn Howe, Saint John Free P.L., NB Copyright 2020 Library Journal.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

Waters's debut Regency rom-com delights with hilarious, high-concept romantic schemes that call to mind Shakespeare's comedies. Lady Violet Grey's first meeting with Lord James Audley, second son of a duke, was a comedy of errors. Despite an unlikely start and constant bickering, the pair fell in love and married. The first year was bliss for these sparring hearts, but one argument too many turned their passionate romance sour, and an icy distance has persisted between them for the past four years. They're reunited when Violet learns that James has fallen from his horse in a riding accident. She rushes to his side only to discover him totally fine and seemingly indifferent to her concern. To recapture his attention, Violet enlists her two closest friends to help her fake a health crisis of her own. What follows is a series of riotously funny mishaps, pranks, and misunderstandings as the feuding couple weaponize Regency manners for their own ends. Waters gently lampoons genre tropes without sacrificing genuine feeling. Self-aware and brimming with well-timed epiphanies, this joyful, elegant romp is sure to enchant. Agent: Taylor Haggerty, Root Literary (Apr.) Copyright 2019 Publishers Weekly.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

"In this fresh and hilarious historical rom-com, an estranged husband and wife in Regency England feign accidents and illness in an attempt to gain attention-and maybe just win each other back in the process. Five years ago, Lady Violet Grey and Lord James Audley met, fell in love, and got married. Four years ago, they had a fight to end all fights, and have barely spoken since. Their once-passionate love match has been reduced to one of cold, detached politeness. But when Violet receives a letter that James has been thrown from his horse and rendered unconscious at their country estate, she races to be by his side-only to discover him alive and well at a tavern, and completely unaware of her concern. She's outraged. He's confused. And the distance between them has never been more apparent. Wanting to teach her estranged husband a lesson, Violet decides to feign an illness of her own. James quickly sees through it, but he decides to play along in an ever-escalating game of manipulation, featuring actors masquerading as doctors, threats of Swiss sanitariums, faux mistresses-and a lot of flirtation between a husband and wife who might not hate each other as much as they thought. Will the two be able to overcome four years of hurt or will they continue to deny the spark between them?"--

Review by Publisher Summary 2

After their marriage has become cold and detached, a Lady and Lord in Regency England each fake accidents and illness in an escalating game of manipulation that includes sanitariums, fake affairs and possibly a rekindled flirtation. Original. 40,000 first printing.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

Named a Best Romance of April by Goodreads, Popsugar, Bustle, and more!'A laugh out loud Regency romp'if you loved the Bridgertons, you'll adore To Have and to Hoax!' 'Lauren Willig, New York Times bestselling authorIn this fresh and hilarious historical rom-com, an estranged husband and wife in Regency England feign accidents and illness in an attempt to gain attention'and maybe just win each other back in the process.Five years ago, Lady Violet Grey and Lord James Audley met, fell in love, and got married. Four years ago, they had a fight to end all fights, and have barely spoken since.Their once-passionate love match has been reduced to one of cold, detached politeness. But when Violet receives a letter that James has been thrown from his horse and rendered unconscious at their country estate, she races to be by his side'only to discover him alive and well at a tavern, and completely unaware of her concern. She's outraged. He's confused. And the distance between them has never been more apparent.Wanting to teach her estranged husband a lesson, Violet decides to feign an illness of her own. James quickly sees through it, but he decides to play along in an ever-escalating game of manipulation, featuring actors masquerading as doctors, threats of Swiss sanitariums, faux mistresses'and a lot of flirtation between a husband and wife who might not hate each other as much as they thought. Will the two be able to overcome four years of hurt or will they continue to deny the spark between them?With charm, wit, and heart in spades, To Have and to Hoax is a fresh and eminently entertaining romantic comedy'perfect for fans of Jasmine Guillory and Julia Quinn.

Review by Publisher Summary 4

Named a Best Romance of April by Goodreads, Popsugar, Bustle, and more!“A laugh out loud Regency romp—if you loved the Bridgertons, you’ll adore To Have and to Hoax!” —Lauren Willig, New York Times bestselling authorIn this fresh and hilarious historical rom-com, an estranged husband and wife in Regency England feign accidents and illness in an attempt to gain attention—and maybe just win each other back in the process.Five years ago, Lady Violet Grey and Lord James Audley met, fell in love, and got married. Four years ago, they had a fight to end all fights, and have barely spoken since.Their once-passionate love match has been reduced to one of cold, detached politeness. But when Violet receives a letter that James has been thrown from his horse and rendered unconscious at their country estate, she races to be by his side—only to discover him alive and well at a tavern, and completely unaware of her concern. She’s outraged. He’s confused. And the distance between them has never been more apparent.Wanting to teach her estranged husband a lesson, Violet decides to feign an illness of her own. James quickly sees through it, but he decides to play along in an ever-escalating game of manipulation, featuring actors masquerading as doctors, threats of Swiss sanitariums, faux mistresses—and a lot of flirtation between a husband and wife who might not hate each other as much as they thought. Will the two be able to overcome four years of hurt or will they continue to deny the spark between them?With charm, wit, and heart in spades, To Have and to Hoax is a fresh and eminently entertaining romantic comedy—perfect for fans of Jasmine Guillory and Julia Quinn.