State of terror A novel

Hillary Rodham Clinton

Book - 2021

"After a tumultuous period in American politics, a new administration has just been sworn in, and to everyone's surprise the president chooses a political enemy for the vital position of secretary of state. There is no love lost between the president of the United States and Ellen Adams, his new secretary of state. But it's a canny move on the part of the president. With this appointment, he silences one of his harshest critics, since taking the job means Adams must step down as h...ead of her multinational media conglomerate. As the new president addresses Congress for the first time, with Secretary Adams in attendance, Anahita Dahir, a young foreign service officer (FSO) on the Pakistan desk at the State Department, receives a baffling text from an anonymous source. Too late, she realizes the message was a hastily coded warning. What begins as a series of apparent terrorist attacks is revealed to be the beginning of an international chess game involving the volatile and byzantine politics of Pakistan, Afghanistan, and Iran; the race to develop nuclear weapons in the region; the Russian mob; a burgeoning rogue terrorist organization; and an American government set back on its heels in the international arena. As the horrifying scale of the threat becomes clear, Secretary Adams and her team realize it has been carefully planned to take advantage of four years of an American government out of touch with international affairs, out of practice with diplomacy, and out of power in the places where it counts the most. To defeat such an intricate, carefully constructed conspiracy, it will take the skills of a unique team: a passionate young FSO; a dedicated journalist; and a smart, determined, but as yet untested new secretary of state."

Saved in:

1st Floor Show me where

MYSTERY/Clinton, Hillary
11 / 13 copies available

Bookmobile Fiction Show me where

MYSTERY/Clinton, Hillary
1 / 2 copies available

1st Floor EXPRESS Shelf Show me where

MYSTERY/Clinton, Hillary
0 / 3 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor MYSTERY/Clinton, Hillary Due Oct 28, 2022
1st Floor MYSTERY/Clinton Hillary Checked In
1st Floor MYSTERY/Clinton Hillary Checked In
1st Floor MYSTERY/Clinton Hillary Checked In
1st Floor MYSTERY/Clinton Hillary Checked In
1st Floor MYSTERY/Clinton Hillary Checked In
1st Floor MYSTERY/Clinton Hillary Checked In
1st Floor MYSTERY/Clinton Hillary Due Oct 26, 2022
1st Floor MYSTERY/Clinton Hillary Checked In
1st Floor MYSTERY/Clinton Hillary Checked In
1st Floor MYSTERY/Clinton Hillary Checked In
1st Floor MYSTERY/Clinton Hillary Checked In
1st Floor MYSTERY/Clinton Hillary Checked In
Bookmobile Fiction MYSTERY/Clinton, Hillary Checked In
Bookmobile Fiction MYSTERY/Clinton, Hillary Lost--Library Applied
1st Floor EXPRESS Shelf MYSTERY/Clinton, Hillary Withdrawn
1st Floor EXPRESS Shelf MYSTERY/Clinton, Hillary In Repair
1st Floor EXPRESS Shelf MYSTERY/Clinton, Hillary Withdrawn
Subjects
Genres
Thrillers (Fiction)
Published
New York : Simon & Schuster and St. Martin's Press 2021.
Edition
First hardcover edition
Language
English
Item Description
First hardcover edition October 2021 jointly published by Simon & Schuster and St. Martin's Press.
Physical Description
494 pages ; 24 cm
ISBN
9781982173678
198217367X
Main Author
Hillary Rodham Clinton (author)
Other Authors
Louise Penny (author)
Review by Library Journal Reviews

What do you do when you've had a long, strong run in the political and public service arenas and decide you want something different? Write a book, of course, and especially a juicy thriller. Here, former presidential candidate/secretary of state/senator Clinton joins forces with top-notch mystery writer Penny to craft a story featuring a woman politician who joins a rival's administration as—you guessed it—secretary of state in a world undermined by the previous administration's bumbling. Terrorist attacks are breaking out everywhere, and the new secretary of state must put together a team to ferret out a conspiracy aimed directly at the U.S. government. With a one-million-copy first printing. Copyright 2021 Library Journal.

Review by PW Annex Reviews

Rapid-fire plot twists are at the fore of this derivative thriller, set in an alternative 2021, from bestsellers Penny (the Inspector Gamache series) and Clinton (What Happened), making her fiction debut. Douglas Williams, who has become president following the defeat of his Trumpian predecessor, has named Ellen Adams, a media mogul who supported his opponents, as his secretary of state. After a disastrous mission Adams undertakes in South Korea, she soon has another, larger crisis to manage. Bus bombs in London, Paris, and Frankfurt kill dozens, but no individual or group claims responsibility for them, suggesting that the atrocities are a prologue to future attacks, possibly in the U.S. Adams travels to hostile terrain, including Teheran and Islamabad, in a desperate effort to avert a mega-terror event on U.S. soil. Though the cadences and humor of Penny's mysteries are present, they're not enough to compensate for a story line heavily dependent on contrivances and implausibilities. This is more likely to appeal to fans of Bill Clinton and James Patterson's The President's Daughter than the legion of readers devoted to Penny's Inspector Gamache novels. Agents: Bob Barnett, Williams & Connelly, and David Gernert, Gernert Company. (Oct.) Copyright 2021 Publishers Weekly Annex.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

A passionate young foreign service officer, a dedicated journalist, and a smart, determined, but as yet untested new secretary of state must team up to defeat an intricate, carefully constructed conspiracy planned to take advantage of four years of an American government out of touch with international affairs. 1,000,000 first printing.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

A passionate young foreign service officer, a dedicated journalist, and a smart, determined, but as yet untested new secretary of state must team up to defeat an intricate, carefully constructed conspiracy planned to take advantage of four years of an American government out of touch with international affairs.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

AN INSTANT #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER​Named one of the most anticipated novels of the season by People, Associated Press, Time, Los Angeles Times, Parade, St. Louis Post-Dispatch, The Guardian, Publishers Weekly, and more.From the #1 bestselling authors Hillary Clinton and Louise Penny comes a novel of unsurpassed thrills and incomparable insider expertise—State of Terror.After a tumultuous period in American politics, a new administration has just been sworn in, and to everyone’s surprise the president chooses a political enemy for the vital position of secretary of state. There is no love lost between the president of the United States and Ellen Adams, his new secretary of state. But it’s a canny move on the part of the president. With this appointment, he silences one of his harshest critics, since taking the job means Adams must step down as head of her multinational media conglomerate.As the new president addresses Congress for the first time, with Secretary Adams in attendance, Anahita Dahir, a young foreign service officer (FSO) on the Pakistan desk at the State Department, receives a baffling text from an anonymous source.Too late, she realizes the message was a hastily coded warning.What begins as a series of apparent terrorist attacks is revealed to be the beginning of an international chess game involving the volatile and Byzantine politics of Pakistan, Afghanistan, and Iran; the race to develop nuclear weapons in the region; the Russian mob; a burgeoning rogue terrorist organization; and an American government set back on its heels in the international arena.As the horrifying scale of the threat becomes clear, Secretary Adams and her team realize it has been carefully planned to take advantage of four years of an American government out of touch with international affairs, out of practice with diplomacy, and out of power in the places where it counts the most.To defeat such an intricate, carefully constructed conspiracy, it will take the skills of a unique team: a passionate young FSO; a dedicated journalist; and a smart, determined, but as yet untested new secretary of state.State of Terror is a unique and utterly compelling international thriller cowritten by Hillary Rodham Clinton, the 67th secretary of state, and Louise Penny, a multiple award-winning #1 New York Times bestselling novelist.