Make up break up

Lily Menon

Book - 2021

"The sparkling and heartfelt romantic comedy debut from Lily Menon, Make Up Break Up.... Love, romance, second chances, fairy-tale endings...these are the things Annika Dev believes in. Her app, Make Up, has been called the 'Google Translate for failing relationships.' High efficiency break-ups, flashy start-ups, penthouses, fast cars...these are the things Hudson Craft believes in. His app, Break Up, is known as the 'Uber for break-ups.' It's wildly successful--and... anathema to Annika's life philosophy. Which wouldn't be a problem if they'd gone their separate ways after that summer fling in Las Vegas, never to see each other again. Unfortunately for Annika, Hudson's moving not just into her office building, but into the office right next to hers. And he'll be competing at the prestigious EPIC investment pitch contest: a contest Annika needs to win if she wants to keep Make Up afloat. As if it's not bad enough seeing his irritatingly perfect face on magazine covers when her own business is failing. As if knowing he stole her idea and twisted it into something vile--and monumentally more successful--didn't already make her stomach churn. As the two rival app developers clash again and again--and again--Annika finds herself drawn into Hudson Craft's fast-paced, high velocity, utterly shallow world. Only, from up close, he doesn't seem all that shallow. Could it be that everything she thought about Hudson is completely wrong? Could the creator of Break Up teach her what true love's really about?"--

Saved in:

1st Floor Show me where

FICTION/Menon Lily
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor FICTION/Menon Lily Checked In
Subjects
Genres
Romance fiction
Humorous fiction
Published
New York : St. Martin's Griffin 2021.
Edition
First edition
Language
English
Physical Description
324 pages ; 21 cm
ISBN
9781250761996
1250761999
9781250799951
1250799953
Main Author
Lily Menon (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

Annika Dev is the 24-yeard-old CEO of Make Up, an app that helps couples communicate more effectively. The app is her passion, but development is taking longer than anticipated, and bankruptcy looms. Meanwhile, her nemesis is thriving and has just moved his office into her building. Before Hudson Craft created the Break Up app, which enables people to outsource their break ups, he and Annika met at a conference and spent an intimate week together. The Hudson she remembers is nothing like the infuriating person he is now, and she's ready to crush him at the investment pitch contest. Yet she can't deny the strong chemistry that still exists between them. This entertaining enemies-to-lovers romance marks the adult debut of the popular YA author, writing as Sandhya Menon, of When Dimple Met Rishi (2017). The narration solely focuses on Annika and is sometimes redundant, which makes for uneven pacing. But the sexual tension sizzles, and themes of familial expectations and financial stress add richness and intrigue. Hand this one to fans of Alisha Rai and Sally Thorne. Copyright 2021 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Library Journal Reviews

Annika Dev believes in happily ever afters, and she believes her app, Make Up, will help struggling couples work through their issues and achieve that goal. While she's working to get the app off the ground, Hudson Craft's app, Break Up—an Uber for breaking up that has suspicious similarities to Make Up, is gaining popularity. And while Annika would like to ignore Break Up and Hudson, the company just moved in down the hall. As the two prepare to compete for an angel investor, Annika tries to remind herself that Hudson's involvement with Break Up is a deal breaker and that he's likely just messing with her mind. But the more she gets to know Hudson, the less cutthroat he seems, leaving Annika to question whether to trust her gut and take a chance on love. VERDICT Packed with heart, humor, and multiple swoon-worthy moments, YA author Menon's adult debut brings a welcome zing to the romance genre that is sure to have wide appeal.—Kellie Tilton, Univ. of Cincinnati, Blue Ash Copyright 2020 Library Journal.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

YA author Sandhya Menon (When Dimple Met Rishi) makes her adult debut, writing as Menon, with this fun rom-com between rival app developers. Romantic Annika Dev hopes that her app Make Up will offer struggling couples second chances by helping them find ways to communicate. Charismatic Hudson Craft is all about efficiency, and his app Break Up helps end failing relationships without prolonged emotional conversations. Their values and career goals couldn't be more opposed—but Annika can't stop thinking about the steamy night they shared in Vegas last summer. With Break Up's popularity skyrocketing and Annika on the verge of bankruptcy, their rivalry kicks into high gear. Things heat up further when the pair go head-to-head at an investment pitch contest. Despite their constant clashing, Annika is irresistibly drawn to Hudson and she realizes he is much more than his shallow public personality. Though the abrupt ending offers a frustratingly meager glimpse of the lovers portion of their enemies-to-lovers arc, the witty banter and electric sexual tension throughout will keep readers hooked. This winning romance will especially appeal to fans of The Hating Game. Agent: Thao Le, Sandra Dijkstra Literary. (Feb.) Copyright 2020 Publishers Weekly.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

When Hudson Craft, her much-despised rival – and her summer fling – moves into the office next to hers, Annika, who believes he stole her idea, soon discovers that everything she thought about him is completely wrong. Original. 50,000 first printing.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

Make Up Break Up, the sparkling and heartfelt romantic comedy debut from Lily MenonLove, romance, second chances, fairy-tale endings…these are the things Annika Dev believes in. Her app, Make Up, has been called the “Google Translate for failing relationships.” High efficiency break-ups, flashy start-ups, penthouses, fast cars…these are the things Hudson Craft believes in. His app, Break Up, is known as the “Uber for break-ups.” It’s wildly successful—and anathema to Annika’s life philosophy.Which wouldn’t be a problem if they’d gone their separate ways after that summer fling in Las Vegas, never to see each other again. Unfortunately for Annika, Hudson’s moving not just into her office building, but into the office right next to hers. And he’ll be competing at the prestigious EPIC investment pitch contest: A contest Annika needs to win if she wants to keep Make Up afloat. As if it’s not bad enough seeing his irritatingly perfect face on magazine covers when her own business is failing. As if knowing he stole her idea and twisted it into something vile—and monumentally more successful—didn’t already make her stomach churn.As the two rival app developers clash again and again—and again—Annika finds herself drawn into Hudson Craft’s fast-paced, high velocity, utterly shallow world. Only, from up close, he doesn’t seem all that shallow. Could it be that everything she thought about Hudson is completely wrong? Could the creator of Break Up teach her what true love’s really about?