Prepped

Bethany Mangle

Book - 2021

Raised among doomsday preppers, Becca Aldaine's life has centered on planning for the worst, but when her escape plan is jeopardized, she turns to the boy she is expected to marry and hopes for the best.

Saved in:

Young Adult Area Show me where

YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Mangle Bethany
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Young Adult Area YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Mangle Bethany Checked In
Subjects
Genres
Novels
Published
New York : Margaret K. McElderry Books [2021]
Edition
First edition
Language
English
Physical Description
310 pages ; 22 cm
Audience
Ages 14 up.
Grades 10-12.
ISBN
9781534477506
1534477500
9781534477513
1534477519
Main Author
Bethany Mangle (author)
Review by School Library Journal Reviews

Gr 9 Up—Mangle's debut provides an eye-opening, gut-wrenching look into the world of survivalists. All 17-year-old Becca Aldaine wants to do is graduate, leave home, and never look back, once she secures a full-ride scholarship. As she waits for news from Carnegie Mellon, Becca dreams of fleeing her insular community, where intense, dangerous survivalist drills and detailed, mind-numbing bunker inventory are the norm—not prom or parties. But when a tragedy befalls Becca's family, all her plans are thrown into chaos, as she must now worry about leaving her 10-year-old sister Katie behind with an increasingly unmoored mother. As her arranged relationship with her boyfriend Roy—from a neighboring prepper family—begins to change, Becca must weigh what means most to her. Mangle's evocative prose creates a vivid world where readers will wince at Becca's emotionally abusive family life and wonder at her innate steeliness and ability to survive. The well-drawn characters are three-dimensional, particularly Becca and Roy, whose Korean background is folded well into the narrative. The ending is exquisitely plotted down to the second and closes the story perfectly. Becca's ethnicity isn't stated. VERDICT Fans of compelling realistic fiction like that of Courtney Summers will love Becca's journey as they cheer for her to succeed against incredible odds.—Elissa Bongiorno, Washington, DC Copyright 2020 School Library Journal.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

Raised among doomsday preppers, Becca Aldaine's life has centered on planning for the worst, but when her escape plan is jeopardized, she turns to the boy she is expected to marry and hopes for the best.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

Raised in a community of doomsday preppers and survivalists, a girl hides her plan to leave from the boy selected to be her husband, before a devastating accident catapults her neighbors into full-blown paranoia. A first novel. 30,000 first printing. Simultaneous eBook.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

For fans of Jeff Zentner and Katie Henry comes a thrilling and funny debut about a teen raised in a doomsday community who plots her escape with the boy from the bunker next door.Always be ready for the worst day of your life.This is the mantra that Becca Aldaine has grown up with. Her family is part of a community of doomsday preppers, a neighborhood that prioritizes survivalist training over class trips or senior prom. They're even arranging Becca's marriage with Roy Kang, the only eligible boy in their community. Roy is a nice guy, but he's so enthusiastic about prepping that Becca doesn't have the heart to tell him she's planning to leave as soon as she can earn a full ride to a college far, far away.Then a devastating accident rocks Becca's family and pushes the entire community, including Becca's usually cynical little sister, deeper into the doomsday ideology. With her getaway plans thrown into jeopardy, the only person Becca can turn to is Roy, who reveals that he's not nearly as clueless as he's been pretending to be.When Roy proposes they run away together, Becca will have to risk everything'including her heart'for a chance to hope for the best instead of planning for the worst.

Review by Publisher Summary 4

For fans of Jeff Zentner and Katie Henry comes a thrilling and funny debut about a teen raised in a doomsday community who plots her escape with the boy from the bunker next door.Always be ready for the worst day of your life.This is the mantra that Becca Aldaine has grown up with. Her family is part of a community of doomsday preppers, a neighborhood that prioritizes survivalist training over class trips or senior prom. They’re even arranging Becca’s marriage with Roy Kang, the only eligible boy in their community. Roy is a nice guy, but he’s so enthusiastic about prepping that Becca doesn’t have the heart to tell him she’s planning to leave as soon as she can earn a full ride to a college far, far away.Then a devastating accident rocks Becca’s family and pushes the entire community, including Becca’s usually cynical little sister, deeper into the doomsday ideology. With her getaway plans thrown into jeopardy, the only person Becca can turn to is Roy, who reveals that he’s not nearly as clueless as he’s been pretending to be.When Roy proposes they run away together, Becca will have to risk everything—including her heart—for a chance to hope for the best instead of planning for the worst.