The love curse of Melody McIntyre

Robin Talley

Book - 2020

"Melody McIntyre, stage manager extraordinaire, has a plan for everything. What she doesn't have? Success with love. Every time she falls for someone during a school performance, both the romance and the show end in catastrophe. So, Mel swears off any entanglements until their upcoming production of Les Mis is over. Of course, Mel didn't count on Odile Rose, rising star in the acting world, auditioning for the spring performance. And she definitely didn't expect Odile to be s...weet and funny, and care as much about the play's success as Mel. Which means that Melody McIntyre's only plan now is trying desperately not to fall in love."--

Saved in:

Young Adult Area Show me where

YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Talley Robin
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Young Adult Area YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Talley Robin Checked In
Subjects
Genres
Romance fiction
Published
New York, NY : HarperTeen, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers [2020]
Edition
First edition
Language
English
Physical Description
448 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm
ISBN
9780062409263
0062409263
Main Author
Robin Talley (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

Melody McIntyre is a stage manager who believes in the curse that haunts her high school theater program and has always put her trust in the annual counter-curses the crew comes up with to keep any theatrical mishaps at bay. Which is why she agrees to hold off on romance until the spring musical is over, especially when her break-up mid-Romeo and Juliet almost ruins the fall play. But when she starts to fall for Odile, the musical's lead actress, Melody begins to question everything she thinks she knows about creating the perfect show. Melody McIntyre's love of theater is entirely infectious, and her story joins other YA novels of stagehand life, including James Tynion's Backstagers series and Lili Wilkinson's Pink (2011) as it explores theater magic from the other side of the stage, with all the challenges, wood glue, and headset drama that comes with it. Tally's latest will instantly hook theater kids as well as readers who've never even heard a track from Les Mis glancing at their drama club sign-up sheet. Grades 9-12. Copyright 2020 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Booklist Reviews

Araya delivers a spirited performance in this contemporary romance that is sure to delight theater lovers. Melody's meticulous planning and detail-oriented mindset make her an impeccable student stage manager—except that every time she falls in love, the show ends in disaster. When it's announced that the spring musical will be Les Mis, Mel's favorite musical, she agrees to do whatever it takes to create the perfect performance, even if it means swearing-off love. When Odile, a successful actress in her own right, returns to school to audition for the play, the last thing Melody expects is to struggle to keep her love curse at bay. Araya's fast-paced narration keeps listeners on their toes as disasters stack up, building tension as Melody reconciles her developing feelings for Odile with the rest of the casts' expectation that she stay single. Araya's youthful tone captures a large cast of characters filled with the melodrama of high-school theater. Copyright 2021 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

Theater people are often superstitious, especially the kids at Beaconville High School, whose drama program's wing is built on the site of a ruined theater and almost certainly cursed. This makes things harder for junior Melody McIntyre, the youngest stage manager in school history, but she's up for it. So after the tech crew decides that more things go wrong when Melody's dating someone, she agrees not to fall in love for the show's duration, even though she's the school's "patron saint of serial monogamy." But when senior Odile Rose, who's already acted in films and television, is cast in the spring musical, she and Mel are immediately attracted to each other. Talley (Music from Another World) divides the story into acts and scenes, studding them with funny tech memos, and has fun portraying the details of running tech, the divide between techies and actors, and the teamwork that theater requires. Mel's efforts to cope with her feelings and stage emergencies make a story that will entertain both true theater geeks and readers who've never considered life onstage or backstage. Ages 14–up. Agent: Jim McCarthy, Dystel, Goderich & Bourret. (Dec.) Copyright 2020 Publishers Weekly.

Review by School Library Journal Reviews

Gr 9 Up—When the Beaconville High School Performing Arts Department announces Les Misérables as its spring musical, stage manager Mel is ecstatic. However, whenever she becomes involved with anyone during the production of a show, a curse seems to plague the performance. So when her fellow techies suggest that she refrain from any romantic entanglements as they stage the musical, Mel finds herself in a bind, as she is attracted to Odile Rose. Only when tech director Will explains the foolishness of believing in curses does Mel resist peer pressure and stage a dramatic "promposal" at the opening night curtain call, thereby publicly declaring her relationship with her actress girlfriend. Drama abounds—onstage and off—in this spirited tale of high school love and angst. As in Talley's other novels, gay and bi relationships are accepted as "just part of life" by kids and adults (Mel has two dads, Will is openly gay), allowing the characters to freely discuss their romantic inclinations without backlash, and ethnic and racial diversity is the norm (Mel and Odile are white, Will is Black, and other characters are of various backgrounds). Theatrical jargon is generally explained in context, although "catwalk" is misidentified as a "narrow stretch of wire." References to Broadway shows, theatrical traditions, and professional-level rehearsal procedures abound, especially in the "Stage Management notes" following each chapter—intriguing for aficionados and instructive for neophytes. The fast-paced dialogue propels the plot to a predictable but satisfying finale. VERDICT An ultra-modern fiesta of theatrical joie de vivre for high school readers.—Nancy Menaldi-Scanlan, formerly at LaSalle Academy, Providence Copyright 2020 School Library Journal.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

"Melody McIntyre, stage manager extraordinaire, has a plan for everything. What she doesn't have? Success with love. Every time she falls for someone during a school performance, both the romance and the show end in catastrophe. So, Mel swears off any entanglements until their upcoming production of Les Mis is over. Of course, Mel didn't count on Odile Rose, rising star in the acting world, auditioning for the spring performance. And she definitely didn't expect Odile to be sweet and funny, and care as much about the play's success as Mel. Which means that Melody McIntyre's only plan now is trying desperately not to fall in love."--

Review by Publisher Summary 2

Swearing off romantic relationships to focus on her high school’s production of Les Mis, a meticulous student stage manager unexpectedly falls for the musical’s sweet and funny leading lady. By the best-selling author of Music From Another World. 50,000 first printing. Simultaneous eBook.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

Perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli and Nina LaCour, this romantic comedy from New York Times bestselling author Robin Talley has something for everyone: backstage rendezvous, deadly props, and a seemingly insurmountable obstacle to True Love.

Melody McIntyre, stage manager extraordinaire, has a plan for everything.

What she doesn’t have? Success with love. Every time she falls for someone during a school performance, both the romance and the show end in catastrophe. So, Mel swears off any entanglements until their upcoming production of Les Mis is over.

Of course, Mel didn’t count on Odile Rose, rising star in the acting world, auditioning for the spring performance. And she definitely didn’t expect Odile to be sweet and funny, and care as much about the play’s success as Mel.

Which means that Melody McIntyre’s only plan now is trying desperately not to fall in love.

Review by Publisher Summary 4

Perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli and Nina LaCour, this romantic comedy from New York Times bestselling author Robin Talley has something for everyone: backstage rendezvous, deadly props, and a seemingly insurmountable obstacle to True Love.Melody McIntyre, stage manager extraordinaire, has a plan for everything.What she doesn't have? Success with love. Every time she falls for someone during a school performance, both the romance and the show end in catastrophe. So, Mel swears off any entanglements until their upcoming production of Les Mis is over.Of course, Mel didn't count on Odile Rose, rising star in the acting world, auditioning for the spring performance. And she definitely didn't expect Odile to be sweet and funny, and care as much about the play's success as Mel.Which means that Melody McIntyre's only plan now is trying desperately not to fall in love.