Faye, faraway

Helen Fisher, 1972-

Book - 2021

"An irresistibly moving, heartfelt debut novel for fans of The Time Traveler's Wife and Outlander about a grown woman who travels back in time to be reunited with the mother she lost when she was seven years old"--

Saved in:

1st Floor Show me where

FICTION/Fisher Helen
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor FICTION/Fisher Helen Checked In
Subjects
Published
New York : Gallery Books 2021.
Edition
First Gallery Books hardcover edition
Language
English
Physical Description
pages cm
ISBN
9781982142674
1982142677
9781982142681
1982142685
Main Author
Helen Fisher, 1972- (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

For Faye, her mother's death was a sad, but well-hidden, part of life. She lived a content, uneventful childhood after Jeanie passed away, taken in by elderly neighbors down the street. She was cared for, even loved, by her guardians, but the loss of her mother was something Faye felt certain she's never truly comprehended. Until, as an adult, she stumbles upon a chance to see Jeanie again. A childhood toy box holds a portal allowing Faye to jump backward in time to interact with her mother, her caregivers, and even her childhood self. She knows it's illogical, but it's a gift she can't ignore. When her disappearances start becoming more noticeable, she has to spill her time-traveling secret. But does that mean losing Jeanie all over again? Fisher's debut is far from maudlin or morose—it's a warm, witty, wholehearted glimpse inside a parallel universe. Genuine and touching, Fisher's narrative voice will appeal to fans of Kelly Harms, Lia Louis, and Julie Valerie. Exploring the power of believing in the impossible, Faye, Faraway is a delight. Copyright 2020 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

Fisher unspools a quirky tale about a time-traveling British housewife in her enchanting debut. Faye, who lost her mother at seven, discovers an old box of toys from her youth can whisk her back to early childhood. There, Faye saves her six-year-old self from being hit by a car, and her mother, Jeanie, gushes with gratitude and invites her to come home with them. Faye, now a happily married mother of two daughters, basks in the opportunity to get to know her free-spirited mother from an adult perspective, noticing mannerisms kept in her memory's "cold storage," such as her mother's wink and her way of sweeping her hair over her shoulder. But when the box is almost destroyed, Faye's intense reaction alarms her husband, forcing her to confront what she's been up to. Fisher invites readers to suspend disbelief along with Faye, who, finding herself back in time, "had never had such unequivocal, solid proof of something being real, yet at the same time not believed in it," and Fisher's achingly authentic characters leap off the page and capture readers' hearts. This addictive, emotionally heavy page-turner marks a delightful spin on the time travel genre. (Jan.) Copyright 2020 Publishers Weekly.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

"An irresistibly moving, heartfelt debut novel for fans of The Time Traveler's Wife and Outlander about a grown woman who travels back in time to be reunited with the mother she lost when she was seven years old"--

Review by Publisher Summary 2

A happily married mother of two daughters faces an impossible choice when she is transported back in time to 1977, the year before her own mother died. A first novel. 100,000 first printing.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

A heartfelt, spellbinding, and irresistible debut novel for fans of The Time Traveler's Wife and Outlander that movingly examines loss, faith, and love as it follows a grown woman who travels back in time to be reunited with the mother she lost when she was a child. Faye is a thirty-seven-year-old happily married mother of two young daughters. Every night, before she puts them to bed, she whispers to them: 'You are good, you are kind, you are clever, you are funny.' She's determined that they never doubt for a minute that their mother loves them unconditionally. After all, her own mother Jeanie had died when she was only seven years old and Faye has never gotten over that intense pain of losing her.But one day, her life is turned upside down when she finds herself in 1977, the year before her mother died. Suddenly, she has the chance to reconnect with her long-lost mother, and even meets her own younger self, a little girl she can barely remember. Jeanie doesn't recognize Faye as her daughter, of course, even though there is something eerily familiar about her...As the two women become close friends, they share many secrets'but Faye is terrified of revealing the truth about her identity. Will it prevent her from returning to her own time and her beloved husband and daughters? What if she's doomed to remain in the past forever? Faye knows that eventually she will have to choose between those she loves in the past and those she loves in the here and now, and that knowledge presents her with an impossible choice.Emotionally gripping and ineffably sweet Faye, Faraway is a brilliant exploration of the grief associated with unimaginable loss and the magic of being healed by love.

Review by Publisher Summary 4

A heartfelt, spellbinding, and irresistible debut novel for fans of The Time Traveler’s Wife and Outlander that movingly examines loss, faith, and love as it follows a grown woman who travels back in time to be reunited with the mother she lost when she was a child. Faye is a thirty-seven-year-old happily married mother of two young daughters. Every night, before she puts them to bed, she whispers to them: “You are good, you are kind, you are clever, you are funny.” She’s determined that they never doubt for a minute that their mother loves them unconditionally. After all, her own mother Jeanie had died when she was only seven years old and Faye has never gotten over that intense pain of losing her.But one day, her life is turned upside down when she finds herself in 1977, the year before her mother died. Suddenly, she has the chance to reconnect with her long-lost mother, and even meets her own younger self, a little girl she can barely remember. Jeanie doesn’t recognize Faye as her daughter, of course, even though there is something eerily familiar about her...As the two women become close friends, they share many secrets—but Faye is terrified of revealing the truth about her identity. Will it prevent her from returning to her own time and her beloved husband and daughters? What if she’s doomed to remain in the past forever? Faye knows that eventually she will have to choose between those she loves in the past and those she loves in the here and now, and that knowledge presents her with an impossible choice.Emotionally gripping and ineffably sweet Faye, Faraway is a brilliant exploration of the grief associated with unimaginable loss and the magic of being healed by love.