The echo wife

Sarah Gailey

Book - 2021

"'When they said all happy families are alike, I don't think this is what they meant...' Evelyn Caldwell's husband Nathan has been having an affair - with Evelyn Caldwell. Or, to be exact, with a genetically cloned replica. After a morning that begins with a confrontation and ends with Nathan's body bleeding out on the kitchen floor, the two Caldwell wives will have to think fast-before sharing everything includes sharing a jail cell. The Echo Wife is a non-stop thr...ill ride of lies, betrayal, and identity, perfect for fans of Big Little Lies and Killing Eve"--

Saved in:

1st Floor Show me where

SCIENCE FICTION/Gailey, Sarah
0 / 2 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor SCIENCE FICTION/Gailey, Sarah Due Jul 6, 2022
1st Floor SCIENCE FICTION/Gailey Sarah Due May 31, 2022
Subjects
Genres
Science fiction
Suspense fiction
Thrillers (Fiction)
Published
New York : Tor 2021.
Edition
First edition
Language
English
Item Description
"A Tom Doherty Associates book."
Physical Description
256 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN
9781250174666
125017466X
Main Author
Sarah Gailey (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

*Starred Review* Gailey's latest (after Upright Women Wanted, 2020) is a razor-sharp psychological thriller. Evelyn, the scientist who unlocked the key to creating clones, is still hurting from her divorce from the emotionally abusive Nathan. The worst part? She can't tell anyone the thing that finally broke them apart: the woman he's living with and engaged to, Martine, is a clone he created using Evelyn's own research, which if discovered, could ruin her. It's not just any clone, either. Martine is a reprogrammed clone of her. This is a twisting thought experiment about both the creation and the humanity of clones. Evelyn is a fascinating character, a brutal, practical scientist who often grates at the reader with her stubborn refusals to apologize—a strength she learned from her cold father. The Echo Wife is a slow burn, but the emotional intensity simmering under Evelyn's skin and the revelations that spin out of the plot are well worth the investment. Gailey's expertise with suspense and their success in presenting the reader with impossible choices about the ethics of cloning, biological programming and editing, and of Evelyn's specific, difficult situation, will leave the reader thinking about the novel long after the final page. Copyright 2020 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Library Journal Reviews

In this follow-up to Magic for Liars, a Locus finalist for best first novel, Evelyn Caldwell's husband, Nathan, has been cheating on her with her genetically cloned replica. Now he's bleeding to death on the kitchen floor, and the two Evelyns must cooperate to avoid jail. Already buzzing; with a 175,000-copy first printing. Copyright 2020 Library Journal.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

This creepy, exhilarating science fiction outing from Gailey (Magic for Liars) dissects an unconventional affair that violates both a couple's marriage vows and scientific integrity. Dr. Evelyn Caldwell is startled to discover that her husband, Nathan, has been seeing another woman—and even more shocked to learn that the other woman is a clone of Evelyn herself. Nathan created Martine to be everything Evelyn isn't: attentive, submissive, and family-oriented. Adding insult to injury, Nathan used Evelyn's own research to do so. An explosive confrontation among the three ends in Nathan's murder, leaving Evelyn and Martine forced to work together to cover up the crime. It's a situation that is not entirely unfamiliar for Evelyn, whose troubled past is teased out bit by bit. The women slowly discover that Nathan was hiding more secrets than either of them knew, forcing Martine and Evelyn to think on their feet in order to save themselves and the odd little family they create along the way. Gailey's story unspools as a series of dark reveals that leave both the characters and the audience reeling. Readers won't want to put this one down. (Feb.) Copyright 2020 Publishers Weekly.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

A precarious arrangement between a man, his wife and his wife’s clone explodes in a violent confrontation that forces the two women to figure out a creative way to stay out of prison. 175,000 first printing.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

"'When they said all happy families are alike, I don't think this is what they meant...' Evelyn Caldwell's husband Nathan has been having an affair - with Evelyn Caldwell. Or, to be exact, with a genetically cloned replica. After a morning that begins with a confrontation and ends with Nathan's body bleeding out on the kitchen floor, the two Caldwell wives will have to think fast--before sharing everything includes sharing a jail cell. The Echo Wife is a non-stop thrill ride of lies, betrayal, and identity, perfect for fans of Big Little Lies and Killing Eve"--

Review by Publisher Summary 3

Sarah Gailey's The Echo Wife is “a trippy domestic thriller which takes the extramarital affair trope in some intriguingly weird new directions.”--Entertainment WeeklyI’m embarrassed, still, by how long it took me to notice. Everything was right there in the open, right there in front of me, but it still took me so long to see the person I had married.It took me so long to hate him.Martine is a genetically cloned replica made from Evelyn Caldwell’s award-winning research. She’s patient and gentle and obedient. She’s everything Evelyn swore she’d never be. And she’s having an affair with Evelyn’s husband. Now, the cheating bastard is dead, and both Caldwell wives have a mess to clean up.Good thing Evelyn Caldwell is used to getting her hands dirty.