Measuring up

Lily LaMotte

Book - 2020

"Having just moved to Seattle from Taiwan, twelve-year-old Cici enters a cooking competition to win the chance to see her grandmother again, but she only knows how to cook Taiwanese food."--Provided by publisher.

Saved in:

Children's Room Show me where

jGRAPHIC NOVEL/LaMotte
0 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Children's Room jGRAPHIC NOVEL/LaMotte Due Oct 14, 2022
Subjects
Genres
Graphic novels
Published
New York, NY : HarperAlley, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers [2020]
Edition
First edition
Language
English
Item Description
"Flats by Cynthia Yuan Cheng and Ashanti Fortson"--Colophon.
Physical Description
205 pages : color illustrations ; 22 cm
ISBN
9780062973870
0062973878
9780062973863
006297386X
Main Author
Lily LaMotte (author)
Other Authors
Ann Xu (illustrator), Sunmi (colorist)
Review by Booklist Reviews

Newly transplanted to Seattle, 12-year-old Cici does her best to blend in at her new middle school, even though she misses her beloved A-má, her paternal grandmother who she left back in Taiwan. Cici is desperate to bring her grandmother to America for a visit, but how to pay for it? A local cooking contest with a $1,000 grand prize might be the answer, but will her favorite Taiwanese dishes be enough to win over the judges? This sweet, family-oriented graphic novel celebrates cultural traditions and new beginnings in equal measure. Cici is good at making friends and adjusting to American culture, but she also celebrates her Taiwanese roots, finding joy and balance in both. First-time author LaMotte brings an obvious love of food and cooking to a positive story that aspiring young chefs will devour. Xu's manga-influenced full-color illustrations set a gentle tone to this highly appealing story of new beginnings. Grades 3-6. Copyright 2020 Booklist Reviews.

Review by PW Annex Reviews

Twelve-year-old Cici's life in Taiwan is upended when her parents decide to immigrate to Seattle in this full-color contemporary graphic novel debut. Saying goodbye to her friends is difficult, but leaving her beloved caretaker, cook, and paternal grandmother, A-Má, is much worse. Determined to bring A-Má over to celebrate her 70th birthday, Cici decides to enter Platinum Jr. Chef, a six-round Saturday cooking competition at a local cooking store with a $1,000 prize. Tensions arise as Cici struggles to navigate American-style cooking, new friendships, and her schoolwork, but encouragement from A-Má via video chats (and from Julia Child, via a recommendation from Cici's favorite librarian) keeps her focused. LaMotte's accessible writing resonates in sketching a diaspora experience ("When people see us, no matter how American we become, they always see someone who's not like them. We always have to prove ourselves first"), and Xu's simple, inviting illustrations will charm young readers. Familiar ingredients—the lunch box moment, disagreements over grades and goals, and cultural alienation scenes—make an appearance, but in LaMotte and Xu's capable hands, the result is heartwarming fare that will appeal to all. Final art not seen by PW. Ages 8–12. Author's agents: Laura Rennert, Andrea Brown Literary. Illustrator's agent: Susan Graham, Einstein Literary. (Oct.) Copyright 2020 Publishers Weekly Annex.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

An ALA Top 10 Graphic Novel of 2021 · A Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection · Fall 2020 Kids Indie Next List · Featured in Today Show’s AAPI Heritage Month List · Amazon Best Books November Selection · Cybils Awards Finalist · An NBC AAPI Selection · Featured in Parents Magazine Book Nook October issue · A CBC Hot off the Press October Selection · WA State Book Awards Finalist · Texas Library Association Little Maverick SelectionFor fans of American Born Chinese and Roller Girl, Measuring Up is a don't-miss graphic novel debut from Lily LaMotte and Ann Xu!“A beautiful story about food, family, and finding your place in the world.” —Gene Luen Yang, author of American Born Chinese and Dragon Hoops“A delicious and heartwarming exploration of identity by a young immigrant trying to find her place in multiple cultures.” —Remy Lai, author of Pie in the Sky and Fly on the WallTwelve-year-old Cici has just moved from Taiwan to Seattle, and the only thing she wants more than to fit in at her new school is to celebrate her grandmother, A-má’s, seventieth birthday together.Since she can’t go to A-má, Cici cooks up a plan to bring A-má to her by winning the grand prize in a kids’ cooking contest to pay for A-má’s plane ticket! There’s just one problem: Cici only knows how to cook Taiwanese food.And after her pickled cucumber debacle at lunch, she’s determined to channel her inner Julia Child. Can Cici find a winning recipe to reunite with A-má, a way to fit in with her new friends, and somehow find herself too?

Review by Publisher Summary 2

For fans of American Born Chinese and Roller Girl, Measuring Up is an own voices graphic novel debut from Lily LaMotte and Ann Xu!"A beautiful story about food, family, and finding your place in the world.' 'Gene Luen Yang, author of American Born Chinese and Dragon Hoops"A delicious and heartwarming exploration of identity by a young immigrant trying to find her place in multiple cultures.' 'remy Lai, author of Pie in the Sky and Fly on the WallTwelve-year-old Cici has just moved from Taiwan to Seattle, and the only thing she wants more than to fit in at her new school is to celebrate her grandmother, A-má's, seventieth birthday together.Since she can't go to A-má, Cici cooks up a plan to bring A-má to her by winning the grand prize in a kids' cooking contest to pay for A-má's plane ticket! There's just one problem: Cici only knows how to cook Taiwanese food.And after her pickled cucumber debacle at lunch, she's determined to channel her inner Julia Child. Can Cici find a winning recipe to reunite with A-má, a way to fit in with her new friends, and somehow find herself too? A Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection Fall 2020 Kids Indie Next ListFeatured in Parents Magazine Book Nook October issueA CBC Hot off the Press October Selection