Witches of Brooklyn

Sophie Escabasse

Book - 2020

"Effie moves to Brooklyn to live with her strange aunt and soon discovers that she might be a witch"--

Saved in:
14 being processed

Children's Room Show me where

jGRAPHIC NOVEL/Escabasse/Witches
vol. 1: 0 / 4 copies available
vol. 2: 3 / 5 copies available

Bookmobile Children's Show me where

jGRAPHIC NOVEL/Escabasse/Witches
vol. 1: 1 / 1 copies available
vol. 2: 1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Children's Room jGRAPHIC NOVEL/Escabasse/Witches v. 1 Due Oct 12, 2022
Children's Room jGRAPHIC NOVEL/Escabasse/Witches v. 1 Due Sep 29, 2022
Children's Room jGRAPHIC NOVEL/Escabasse/Witches v. 1 Due Oct 12, 2022
Children's Room jGRAPHIC NOVEL/Escabasse/Witches v. 1 Due Oct 13, 2022
Children's Room jGRAPHIC NOVEL/Escabasse/Witches v. 2 Withdrawn
Children's Room jGRAPHIC NOVEL/Escabasse/Witches v. 2 Due Oct 8, 2022
Children's Room jGRAPHIC NOVEL/Escabasse/Witches v. 2 Checked In
Children's Room jGRAPHIC NOVEL/Escabasse/Witches v. 2 Checked In
Children's Room jGRAPHIC NOVEL/Escabasse/Witches v. 2 Checked In
Bookmobile Children's jGRAPHIC NOVEL/Escabasse/Witches v. 1 Checked In
Bookmobile Children's jGRAPHIC NOVEL/Escabasse/Witches v. 2 Checked In
Subjects
Genres
Graphic novels
Comics (Graphic works)
Published
New York : RH Graphic, an imprint of Random House Children's Books, a division of Penguin Random House LLC [2020-]
Edition
First edition
Language
English
Item Description
Description based on volume 1.
Physical Description
volumes : chiefly color illustrations ; 22 cm
Audience
Ages 8-12
Grades 4-6
ISBN
9780593125281
0593125282
9780593119273
0593119274
9780593119280
0593119282
9780593119303
0593119304
9780593119334
0593119339
Main Author
Sophie Escabasse (author)
  • v. 1.
  • Witches of Brooklyn
  • v. 2.
  • What the hex?!
  • v. 3.
  • S'more magic
Review by Booklist Reviews

After Effie, recently orphaned, is left at the suburban home of her two estranged, elderly aunts, she wants nothing to do with them. A little compassion, humor, and quiet magic soon win her over, though, and after settling in and making friends at her new school, Effie's own latent powers manifest, leading to the discovery that she, like her aunts, is a witch. When Tily Shoo, a Taylor Swiftesque pop megastar, comes to them in need of a magical skincare remedy, it takes the charm and skill of all three witches to save the diva's day. In her graphic novel debut, Escabasse establishes a wonderfully cozy suburban fantasy, rooted largely in the crabby spunk and sly magic of Effie's lovable aunts. Slightly exaggerated character features—and brisk pacing—lighten the tone considerably, with bold linework, soft pastels, and dynamic lettering contributing to a distinctly appealing style. A charming middle-grade take on Sabrina the Teenage Witch that only scratches the surface of this new series' enormous potential. Grades 3-6. Copyright 2020 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

When 11-year-old Effie's mother dies, she is given into the care of her elderly aunt Selimene and partner, Carlota, acupuncturists and herbalists living in Brooklyn. At first angry and hurt, Effie rails against the women but is soon won over by their big personalities and rambling home, visually detailed in satisfying bird's-eye view cross-sections. Lucking into a pair of good friends on her first day of school, Effie is settling into her new life when her favorite pop star secretly comes to the house, looking for help. Through this arrival, Effie discovers that her aunts' healing methods veer into the magical and begins to realize her own magical powers. Escabasse's character design stands out, particularly wonderfully distinct faces and variously shaped bodies that populate a stylish, boldly colored world. Though initial exposition and character relationships feel rushed, each individual displays a unique personality, and the straightforward plot allows for a focus on evolving relationships. A warm story of found family and healing that stands on its own while setting the stage for further adventures. Ages 8–12. Agent: Kelly Sonnack, Andrea Brown Literary. (Sept.)¦ Copyright 2020 Publishers Weekly.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

Moving to Brooklyn to live with two eccentric aunts she has never met after the tragic loss of her mother, Effie forges bonds with loyal new friends while making the amazing discovery that magic runs in her family. By the illustrator of the Spotlight Club Mysteries. Simultaneous and eBook.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

There's a new witch in town! Life in Brooklyn takes a strange turn when Effie discovers MAGIC runs in the family. A middle-grade graphic novel adventure filled with magical hjinks for fans of Phoebe and Her Unicorn and Making Friends. Could there really be witches in Brooklyn?! Effie's aunts are weird. Like, really WEIRD. Really, really, really WEIRD! The secretly-magic kind of weird and that makes Effie wonder . . . does this mean she can do magic, too?Life in Brooklyn takes a strange twist for Effie as she learns more about her family and herself. With new friends who will do whatever they can to be there for her, a cursed pop-star, and her magically-inclined aunts--Effie's life is about to get interesting.