Miss Meteor

Tehlor Kay Mejia

Book - 2020

A teen who secretly arrived with the meteor that gave her small hometown its name discovers that she is turning back into stardust and teams up with her best friend in an effort to secure her human existence by entering a local beauty pageant that has always been won by thin, blonde, white girls.

Saved in:

Young Adult Area Show me where

YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Mejia Tehlor
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Young Adult Area YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Mejia Tehlor Checked In
Subjects
Genres
Fantasy fiction
Published
New York, NY : HarperTeen, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers [2020]
Edition
First edition
Language
English
Physical Description
392 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN
9780062869913
0062869914
Main Author
Tehlor Kay Mejia (author)
Other Authors
Anna-Marie McLemore (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

Dumplin' (2015) meets Roswell, New Mexico in this collaboration from two powerhouse authors. Chicky Quintanilla and Lita Perez were childhood best friends, but Chicky pulled away, unable to tell Lita that she's pansexual. Lita's got a different secret: she's part of the meteorite that gave their New Mexico town its name, and the stars will soon be reclaiming her. But as the town's annual Miss Meteor pageant approaches, they reconnect. Though it's always the white girls, not the Latinx ones, who win the pageant, Lita dreams of competing. For Chicky, whose biggest bully, Kendra, is the favorite, coaching Lita to victory is the best revenge she can imagine. It will only take the help of Chicky's former-contestant sisters popular trans boy Cole (Lita's friend—and Kendra's brother); and Junior, the boy Chicky can't admit her feelings for. Together, McLemore and Mejia tell a warmly inclusive story rooted in the bonds of family and in female friendship. For anyone who's ever felt like an outsider, this joyful #OwnVoices tale will fill a void.HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: McLemore is a decorated YA author who has been stunning fans since their Morris-winning debut, Weight of Feathers. Meanwhile, Mejia made a huge splash with her debut, We Set the Dark on Fire. Together, they'll draw quite a crowd. Grades 8-11. Copyright 2020 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

Meteor Central High sophomores Estrellita "Lita" Perez and Chiquita "Chicky" Quintanilla are ex-best friends unexpectedly reunited for the same goal: winning the annual Miss Meteor beauty pageant in Meteor, N.Mex. Lita, the free-spirited daughter of town witch Bruja Lupe, has always dreamed of becoming Miss Meteor; after all, she's from the meteor whose crash-landing gave the town its name. But she's beginning to turn into stardust, and a traumatic, racist bullying incident diverted her pursuit of her dream—until now. Nonconformist Chicky also has a secret, which tore a past friendship apart and currently affects her relationship with artistic Junior Cortes. Fed up with feeling small, however, she comes up with a plan: help Lita steal the crown from beauty pageant royalty and mean girl Kendra Kendall. With the help of Chicky's runner-up older sisters and Kendra's brother, kind-hearted Cole, Lita takes on the thin, white blondes who always win. A dual perspective brings both girls to life, and casual, genuine pansexual and trans representation, along with a racially diverse cast, adds nuance. An inclusive story brimming with tenderness for its characters while championing love and self-acceptance. Ages 14–up. Agents: (for Mejia) Taylor Martindale, Full Circle Literary Agency; (for McLemore) Jim McCarthy, Dystel, Goderich & Bourret. (Sept.) Copyright 2020 Publishers Weekly.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

A teen who secretly arrived with the meteor that gave her small hometown its name discovers that she is turning back into stardust and teams up with her best friend in an effort to secure her human existence by entering a local beauty pageant that has always been won by thin, blonde, white girls.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

A teen who secretly arrived with the meteor that gave her small hometown its name discovers that she is turning back into stardust and teams up with her best friend in an effort to secure her human existence by entering a local beauty pageant that has always been won by thin, blonde, white girls. 50,000 first printing. Simultaneous eBook.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

A gorgeous and magical collaboration between two critically acclaimed, powerhouse YA authors offers a richly imagined underdog story perfect for fans of Dumplin' and Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe. There hasn't been a winner of the Miss Meteor beauty pageant who looks like Lita Perez or Chicky Quintanilla in all its history.But that's not the only reason Lita wants to enter the contest, or her ex-best friend Chicky wants to help her. The road to becoming Miss Meteor isn't about being perfect; it's about sharing who you are with the world'and loving the parts of yourself no one else understands.So to pull off the unlikeliest underdog story in pageant history, Lita and Chicky are going to have to forget the past and imagine a future where girls like them are more than enough'they are everything.

Review by Publisher Summary 4

A gorgeous and magical collaboration between two critically acclaimed, powerhouse YA authors offers a richly imagined underdog story perfect for fans of Dumplin’ and Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe. There hasn’t been a winner of the Miss Meteor beauty pageant who looks like Lita Perez or Chicky Quintanilla in all its history.But that’s not the only reason Lita wants to enter the contest, or her ex-best friend Chicky wants to help her. The road to becoming Miss Meteor isn’t about being perfect; it’s about sharing who you are with the world—and loving the parts of yourself no one else understands.So to pull off the unlikeliest underdog story in pageant history, Lita and Chicky are going to have to forget the past and imagine a future where girls like them are more than enough—they are everything.