Wrong alibi

Christina Dodd

Book - 2020

Sentenced to life in prison for a murder she did not commit, eighteen-year-old Evelyn escapes and works under an alias at a wilderness camp, where her chance at revenge is complicated by a former employer's mysterious connections.

Saved in:

1st Floor Show me where

FICTION/Dodd Christin
0 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor FICTION/Dodd Christin Due Aug 18, 2022
Series
Dodd, Christina. Murder in Alaska ; 1.
Subjects
Genres
Psychological fiction
Thrillers (Fiction)
Novels
Published
Toronto, Ontario, Canada : HQN [2020]
Language
English
Item Description
Series information from Goodreads.
Physical Description
362 pages ; 24 cm
ISBN
9781335549594
1335549595
Main Author
Christina Dodd (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

*Starred Review* Tough-as-nails Evelyn Jones knows exactly what it is like to be an invisible woman. After her former employer, Donald White, frames her for murder, Evie is headed for a lifetime behind bars until something unexpected happens and she is able to flee. Reinventing herself as Petie, the effective yet enigmatic manager of the remotely located Midnight Sun Fishing Camp, she spends the next decade living under the radar. When Evie learns that White has resurfaced in Alaska, she decides that it's time to settle an old score. As far as Evie is concerned, the best thing about being invisible is that your enemy never sees you coming. Dodd (Strangers She Knows, 2019) ingeniously transforms her initially TSTL (Too Stupid to Live) protagonist into a formidable purveyor of vengeance, all while delivering a twist-rich, page-turning plot that is enhanced by a generous serving of deliciously dry wit. As with all her fiendishly clever suspense novels, Dodd's latest should come with a warning label: may cause sleeplessness even after the reader reaches the last page. Copyright 2020 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Library Journal Reviews

After 18-year-old Evie takes a job in small-town Alaska, her employer, Donald White, vanishes—leaving her to face charges of theft, embezzlement, and murder. She, too, absconds, working under an alias at a wilderness camp, but Donald's return means she's not just suspect but target. With a 100,000-copy paperback and 10,000-copy hardcover first printing. Copyright 2020 Library Journal.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

At 18, Evie Jones, the heroine of this spine-tingling thriller from bestseller Dodd (What Doesn't Kill Her), leaves a juvenile detention facility in California to reunite with her mother and sister in Rockin, Alaska, where Donald White hires her as a bookkeeper. A few days into the job, Donald vanishes, and Evie discovers the bodies of Michele Jameson and her son, Timothy, who sold the house to Donald, in his cellar. Wrongfully convicted of their murders, Evie is sentenced to 99 years in prison, but miraculously escapes after the prison bus she's riding plummets into a mudslide. After having major reconstructive plastic surgery, Evie assumes a new identify and begins working at a fishing resort, but vows to find Donald and seek revenge. After years of searching online, she finally learns Donald's back in Rockin. She returns to town, where she must protect her family as she unearths some secrets linked to the Jamesons' deaths. A high level of suspense compensates for some abrupt transitions, like Evie hopping into bed with Michele's widower. Dodd knows how to keep the pages turning. Agent: Mel Berger, William Morris Endeavor Entertainment. (Dec.) Copyright 2020 Publishers Weekly.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

Sentenced to life in prison for a murder she did not commit, 18-year-old Evelyn escapes and works under an alias at a wilderness camp, where her chance at revenge is complicated by a former employer’s mysterious connections. 10,000 first printing.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

Sentenced to life in prison for a murder she did not commit, eighteen-year-old Evelyn escapes and works under an alias at a wilderness camp, where her chance at revenge is complicated by a former employer's mysterious connections.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

Perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell, New York Times bestselling author Christina Dodd delivers an all-new thriller, featuring a bold and brash female protagonist.WRONG JOBEighteen-year-old Evelyn Jones lands a job in small-town Alaska, working for a man in his isolated mountain home. But her bright hopes for the future are shattered when Donald White disappears, leaving her to face charges of theft, embezzlement—and a brutal double murder. Her protestations of innocence count for nothing. Convicted, she faces life in prison…until fate sends her on the run.WRONG NAMEEvie's escape leaves her scarred and in hiding, isolated from her family, working under an alias at a wilderness camp. Bent on justice, intent on recovering her life, she searches for the killer who slaughters without remorse.WRONG ALIBIAt last, the day comes. Donald White has returned. Evie emerges from hiding; the fugitive becomes the hunter. But in her mind, she hears the whisper of other forces at work. Now Evelyn must untangle the threads of evidence before she’s once again found with blood on her hands: the blood of her own family…“This is Dodd at her brilliant best.”—Booklist (starred review) on Strangers She KnowsDon't miss POINT LAST SEEN, an all-new thriller by New York Times bestselling author Christina Dodd featuring a strong female protagonist, a chilling villain, and twisty secrets that will keep you turning the pages. Perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell, Jayne Ann Krentz and Sandra Brown.Perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell, Karin Slaughter and Sandra Brown and will have readers keeping the lights on all night.