Sleeping Beauties An Inspector Tom Reynolds mystery

Jo Spain

Book - 2020

A young woman, Fiona Holland, has gone missing from a small Irish village. A search is mounted, but there are whispers. Fiona had a wild reputation. Was she abducted, or has she run away? A week later, a gruesome discovery is made in the woods at Ireland's most scenic beauty spot - the valley of Glendalough. The bodies are all young women who disappeared in recent years. D.I. Tom Reynolds and his team are faced with the toughest case of their careers - a serial killer, who hunts vulnerable ...women, and holds his victims captive before he ends their lives. Soon the race is on to find Fiona Holland before it's too late.

Saved in:

1st Floor Show me where

MYSTERY/Spain Jo
0 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
1st Floor MYSTERY/Spain Jo Due Oct 14, 2022
Series
Spain, Jo. Inspector Tom Reynolds mystery ; 3.
Subjects
Genres
Mystery fiction
Detective and mystery fiction
Published
New York : Crooked Lane [2020]
Edition
First edition
Language
English
Item Description
Series numeration from goodreads.com
Sequel to: Beneath the surface.
Physical Description
356 pages ; 25 cm
ISBN
9781643853055
1643853058
Main Author
Jo Spain (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

*Starred Review* Glendalough, an ancient pilgrimage site near Dublin, Ireland, has its contemplative idyll shattered when the body of a young woman is found there—a discovery that quickly turns even more devastating as further bodies are unearthed. Though the women appear long dead, the investigation by Detective Inspector Tom Reynolds and his team has news-making urgency, thanks to the recent disappearance of a young woman who might still be held by the killer. Tension between rural and big-city cops, Reynolds' frustration with his politics- and media-obsessed boss, and a fledgling romance add verisimilitude and intrigue to the already transfixing serial-killer plot. The best-selling Spain (With Our Blessing and The Confession, both 2019) does an especially laudable job of portraying the dangers and injustices facing so-called loose women who report sexual crimes. An excellent tale that's perfect for fans of Tana French. Copyright 2020 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

The discovery of the bodies of five young women, all strangled, buried in a valley south of Dublin kick-starts Spain's capable third mystery featuring Det. Insp. Tom Reynolds of the National Bureau of Criminal Investigation (after 2019's Beneath the Surface). Uncommon blue flowers planted around the graves, which a botanist determines come from Ireland's southwest, lead the police to deduce that the killer may be a sales representative for a gardening company. Meanwhile, 19-year-old Fiona Holland goes missing while walking home from a bar in a village outside Dublin. With the autopsy reports showing that the five murder victims were each held captive for a short time, Tom and his team are under the gun to locate Fiona as soon as possible, in the hope the killer has her and she's still alive. A touching subplot concerning Tom's friend Sean McGuinness, a former NBCI chief superintendent whose wife has Alzheimer's, adds emotional depth. Spain keeps the reader guessing to the end. Fans of contemporary Irish police procedurals will be rewarded. Agent: Nicola Barr, Bent Agency. (June) Copyright 2020 Publishers Weekly.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

A young woman, Fiona Holland, has gone missing from a small Irish village. A search is mounted, but there are whispers. Fiona had a wild reputation. Was she abducted, or has she run away? A week later, a gruesome discovery is made in the woods at Ireland's most scenic beauty spot - the valley of Glendalough. The bodies are all young women who disappeared in recent years. D.I. Tom Reynolds and his team are faced with the toughest case of their careers - a serial killer, who hunts vulnerable women, and holds his victims captive before he ends their lives. Soon the race is on to find Fiona Holland before it's too late.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

While searching for Fiona Holland, who has gone missing from a small Irish village, Inspector Tom Reynolds discovers the bodies of five young women who disappeared in recent years and is faced with the toughest case of his career as he hunts down a serial killer.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

"While searching for Fiona Holland, who has gone missing from a small Irish village, Inspector Tom Reynolds discovers the bodies of five young women who disappeared in recent years and is faced with the toughest case of his career as he hunts down a serial killer"--

Review by Publisher Summary 4

International bestselling author Jo Spain's third Inspector Tom Reynolds mystery puts him and his task force in the crosshairs of one of most sinister killers yet.The inspector frowned and examined the earth under the trees. As he scanned the glade, his stomach lurched. One, two, three, four. Five, counting the mound of earth disturbed under the tent. Somebody had cleared the earth of its natural layer and sown their own flowers.In five places.Five graves.A young woman, Fiona Holland, has gone missing from a small Irish village. A search is mounted, but there are whispers. Fiona had a wild reputation. Was she abducted, or has she run away?A week later, a gruesome discovery is made in the woods at Ireland's most scenic beauty spot-the valley of Glendalough. The bodies are all young women who disappeared in recent years. DI Tom Reynolds and his team are faced with the toughest case of their careers-a serial killer, who hunts vulnerable women, and holds his victims captive before he ends their lives.Soon the race is on to find Fiona Holland before it's too late...