The Circus rose

Betsy Cornwell

Book - 2020

"A retelling of Snow White and Rose Red in which teenage twins Ivory and Rosie battle evil religious extremists to save their loves and their circus family." --

Saved in:

Young Adult Area Show me where

YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Cornwell Betsy
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Young Adult Area YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Cornwell Betsy Checked In
Subjects
Genres
Fantasy fiction
Lesbian fiction
Published
New York : Clarion Books [2020]
Language
English
Physical Description
271 pages ; 22 cm
Audience
Ages 12 and up.
Grades 7-9.
ISBN
9781328639509
1328639509
Main Author
Betsy Cornwell (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

Though twins, Rosie and Ivory have different fathers, and they couldn't be more different themselves. They've grown up together under the tents of their bearded lady and ringmistress mother's traveling circus, and while Rosie is a natural performer who becomes easily overwhelmed outside of the spotlight, Ivory is an engineer who is at home behind the scenes. As Rosie fixates on Bear, a bear who became devoted to her after joining the circus several years ago, Ivory falls deeply for genderqueer Tam, who is the show's Fey magician. But though the circus has always been their haven, the outside world is not so kind; a group of religious zealots have begun targeting the circus with devastating results, and Ivory, spurred by guilt, will have to take action. Cornwell (The Forest Queen, 2018) vividly reimagines the "Snow White and Rose Red" fairy tale through the distinct voices of two sisters. A graceful exploration of the families we're born with and the ones we make. Grades 7-10. Copyright 2020 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

In chapters that alternate between prose and poetry, Cornwell (The Forest Queen) retells "Snow White and Rose Red," placing the classic fairy tale against a lushly imagined circus backdrop. Rosie and Ivory, 17-year-old twins named for their hair color and born of different fathers, have spent their lives touring with the Circus Rose, which their bearded-lady mother founded. When the girls and circus return to their birthplace, Port's End, they discover that a new strain of religious extremism is infecting the city and gaining power over the populace. After a blaze destroys the circus, Ivory, who prefers the shadows to the stage, must take a leadership role and work to recover her vanished family. A range of relationships appears throughout: the girls' parents form a polyamorous interracial triad, Ivory becomes involved with a nonbinary Fey character, and Rosie, who is queer, enters a romance with an enigmatic bear. Though the plot meanders, the story tackles crucial themes—including the importance of found family and the dangers of religious fundamentalism—while navigating complex familial relationships and delivering a rich atmosphere. Ages 12–up. Agent: Sara Crowe, Pippin Properties. (June) Copyright 2020 Publishers Weekly.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

An LGBTQ+ adaptation of “Snow White and Rose Red” follows the efforts of two twin sisters to battle evil religious extremists to save their loved ones and the circus that has become their family. By the best-selling author of The Forest Queen. 25,000 first printing. Simultaneous eBook.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

A retelling of Snow White and Rose Red in which teenage twins Ivory and Rosie battle evil religious extremists to save their loves and their circus family.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

From a New York Times best-selling author, a queer retelling of “Snow White and Rose Red” in which teenage twins battle evil religious extremists to save their loves and their circus family. YA fantasy perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Mackenzi Lee, and Laini Taylor. Twins Rosie and Ivory have grown up at their ringmaster mother’s knee, and after years on the road, they’re returning to Port End, the closest place to home they know. Yet something has changed in the bustling city: fundamentalist flyers paper the walls and preachers fill the squares, warning of shadows falling over the land. The circus prepares a triumphant homecoming show, full of lights and spectacle that could chase away even the darkest shadow. But during Rosie’s tightrope act, disaster strikes. In this lush, sensuous novel interwoven with themes of social justice and found family, it’s up to Ivory and her magician love—with the help of a dancing bear—to track down an evil priest and save their circus family before it’s too late.

Review by Publisher Summary 4

In this queer retelling of 'snow White and Rose Red' twins battle religious extremists to save their loves and circus family.  

Review by Publisher Summary 5

From a New York Times best-selling author, a queer retelling of “Snow White and Rose Red” in which teenage twins battle evil religious extremists to save their loves and their circus family. YA fantasy perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Mackenzi Lee, and Laini Taylor. Twins Rosie and Ivory have grown up at their ringmaster mother’s knee, and after years on the road, they’re returning to Port End, the closest place to home they know. Yet something has changed in the bustling city: fundamentalist flyers paper the walls and preachers fill the squares, warning of shadows falling over the land. The circus prepares a triumphant homecoming show, full of lights and spectacle that could chase away even the darkest shadow. But during Rosie’s tightrope act, disaster strikes. In this lush, sensuous novel interwoven with themes of social justice and found family, it’s up to Ivory and her magician love—with the help of a dancing bear—to track down an evil priest and save their circus family before it’s too late.

Review by Publisher Summary 6

From a New York Times best-selling author, a queer retelling of 'snow White and Rose Red' in which teenage twins battle evil religious extremists to save their loves and their circus family. YA fantasy perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Mackenzi Lee, and Laini Taylor. Twins Rosie and Ivory have grown up at their ringmaster mother's knee, and after years on the road, they're returning to Port End, the closest place to home they know. Yet something has changed in the bustling city: fundamentalist flyers paper the walls and preachers fill the squares, warning of shadows falling over the land. The circus prepares a triumphant homecoming show, full of lights and spectacle that could chase away even the darkest shadow. But during Rosie's tightrope act, disaster strikes. In this lush, sensuous novel interwoven with themes of social justice and found family, it's up to Ivory and her magician love'with the help of a dancing bear'to track down an evil priest and save their circus family before it's too late.

Review by Publisher Summary 7

In this queer retelling of “Snow White and Rose Red” twins battle religious extremists to save their loves and circus family.