The falling in love montage

Ciara Smyth

Book - 2020

"Two girls embark on a summer of montage-worthy dates (with a few strings attached)."--

Saved in:

Young Adult Area Show me where

YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Smyth Ciara
1 / 1 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Young Adult Area YOUNG ADULT FICTION/Smyth Ciara Checked In
Subjects
Genres
Lesbian fiction
Love stories
Romance fiction
Novels
Published
New York, NY : HarperTeen, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers [2020]
Edition
First edition
Language
English
Physical Description
355 pages ; 22 cm
Audience
Ages 13 up.
Grades 10-12.
ISBN
9780062957115
0062957112
Main Author
Ciara Smyth (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

Saoirse has sworn off love. Kissing cute (preferably straight, thus unavailable) girls is fine because it can't lead to a whiplash-inducing, heart-wrenching breakup like she already went through. But when she meets Ruby, who suggests a summer romance full of magical moments and with a definite end date, that seems like another way to avoid certain heartbreak—hopefully. Smyth's love-flecked debut is a meet-cute drawn out in the style of Jenny Han's To All the Boys I Loved Before (2014), and the moments are just as sweet and cinematic as YA rom-com fans will expect. But beneath this frothy surface, Saoirse is grappling with her mother's early-onset dementia and what that diagnosis could mean for her future mental health, as well as her family as a whole, that makes the novel stand out. Being asked to plan ahead when the promise of any future seems so tenuous is a fascinating position in which to place a character, and Smyth captures the resultant osculating fear, anger, grief, and hope perfectly. Grades 9-12. Copyright 2020 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Publishers Weekly Reviews

When 17-year-old Saoirse is dumped by her girlfriend and former best friend, she decides that dating isn't worth the heartache, especially since she's already dealing with her mother's moving into a home due to dementia, and the revelation of her father's affair. She doesn't expect her electric attraction to Ruby, who is visiting her cousin's family for the season, but when Ruby proposes a summer together modeled after a rom-com—all fun, and no hard feelings when it ends—Saoirse decides to bend her rules. From Ferris wheel rides with prolonged eye contact to skinny dipping at the beach late at night, the two embrace every romantic cliché, but feelings inevitably grow between them, and Saoirse struggles to let down the walls that keep her heart safe. The sweet love story is balanced with Saoirse's fear of being vulnerable and struggles to accept that her father has found a love of his own, and though the girls never plan for forever, what they create together is special and precious to them both. An emotionally stirring queer romance with witty, playful dialogue. Ages 13–up. (June) Copyright 2020 Publishers Weekly.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

"Two girls embark on a summer of montage-worthy dates (with a few strings attached)"--

Review by Publisher Summary 2

Challenged to break her no-relationships rule by a new friend who invites her to share in a summer of cliché rom-com reenactments that will end with no hurt feelings upon the arrival of fall, a cynical lesbian teen struggles to let go when she unexpectedly falls in love for real. 35,000 first printing. Simultaneous eBook.

Review by Publisher Summary 3

Two girls embark on a summer of montage-worthy dates (with a few strings attached) in this hilarious and heartfelt lesbian rom-com that’s perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han. Seventeen-year-old cynic Saoirse Clarke isn’t looking for a relationship. But when she meets mischievous Ruby, that rule goes right out the window. Sort of. Because Ruby has a loophole in mind: a summer of all the best cliché movie montage dates, with a definite ending come fall—no broken hearts, no messy breakup. It would be the perfect plan, if they weren’t forgetting one thing about the Falling in Love Montage: when it’s over, the characters have fallen in love...for real. Ciara Smyth’s debut is a delightful, multilayered YA rom-com that will make you laugh, cry, and absolutely fall in love. 

Review by Publisher Summary 4

Two girls embark on a summer of montage-worthy dates (with a few strings attached) in this hilarious and heartfelt lesbian rom-com that's perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han. Seventeen-year-old cynic Saoirse Clarke isn't looking for a relationship. But when she meets mischievous Ruby, that rule goes right out the window. Sort of. Because Ruby has a loophole in mind: a summer of all the best cliché movie montage dates, with a definite ending come fall'no broken hearts, no messy breakup. It would be the perfect plan, if they weren't forgetting one thing about the Falling in Love Montage: when it's over, the characters have fallen in love...for real. Ciara Smyth's debut is a delightful, multilayered YA rom-com that will make you laugh, cry, and absolutely fall in love.