Pizza and Taco Who's the best?

Stephen Shaskan

Book - 2020

"Best friends Pizza and Taco agree on nearly everything until Pizza declares himself the best of all, leading to debating, voting, competing, and finally defining what being the best really means."--Provided by publisher.

Saved in:

Bookmobile Children's Show me where

jREADER/Shaskan, Stephen
1 / 2 copies available

Children's Room Show me where

jREADER/Shaskan, Stephen
0 / 3 copies available
Location Call Number   Status
Bookmobile Children's jREADER/Shaskan, Stephen Checked In
Bookmobile Children's jREADER/Shaskan, Stephen Due Jul 7, 2022
Children's Room jREADER/Shaskan, Stephen Due Jul 13, 2022
Children's Room jREADER/Shaskan Stephen Due Jul 15, 2022
Children's Room jREADER/Shaskan Stephen Due Jul 16, 2022
Subjects
Genres
Humorous comics
Graphic novels
Readers (Publications)
Published
New York : Random House Children's Books [2020]
Edition
First edition
Language
English
Item Description
"A Stepping Stone book."
Physical Description
68 pages : color illustrations ; 22 cm
Audience
Ages 5-8.
Grades 2-3.
ISBN
9780593123300
9780593123317
0593123301
059312331X
Main Author
Stephen Shaskan (author)
Review by Booklist Reviews

Pizza and Taco are the ultimate best-besties—finishing each other's sentences, sharing a love of super-awesome waterslides, doing cool best-friend dances—but when Taco declares that Pizza is the best, Pizza—instead of returning the compliment—agrees! Thus begins a fierce but friendly contest to determine who is actually best. After a vote ends in a one-to-one tie and a waterslide competition leaves the winner undetermined, their exploration of "the true meaning of being best" leads each to recognize the best in the other. This book's hilarity is rooted in the charming design of its characters: Shaskan fills bold outlines with photographic images of sauce and cheese (for Pizza) and ground beef (for Taco), using round eyes, curving mouths, and stick limbs to produce surprisingly emotive and endearing interactions. The visual comedy is matched by the absurd storyline, which is littered with smaller laughs as the pair cycles between mutual adoration and intense rivalry. Straightforward paneling and simple dialogue make this a perfect choice for early readers beginning their climb to Dog Man. Grades 1-3. Copyright 2020 Booklist Reviews.

Review by Publisher Summary 1

Best friends Pizza and Taco engage in a hilarious campaign to prove which of them is the best, inviting their friends Hot Dog and Hamburger to help them prove themselves during a popularity contest that tests the strength of their bond. Illustrations.

Review by Publisher Summary 2

The first in a hilarious young graphic novel series about Pizza and Taco. Two best friends, lots of toppings...but only one of them can be the BEST, right? Fans of Narwhal and Jelly will eat this book up...and be hungry for more!Best friends are the BEST! But WHO is the BEST? Is it Pizza or Taco? The question is debatable! They both love water slides. They both are friends with Hot Dog and Hamburger. In fact, maybe they should have a debate and get their friends to VOTE for who's the best! Can their friendship survive the race for top spot on the popularity food chain? Cast your VOTE!This graphic chapter book will tickle the funny bones of kids ages 4-7 and bolster their reading confidence. Readers will be eager to devour the next book in the series, Pizza and Taco Throw a Party, coming in 2021! Young graphic chapter books are also a great step on the way to longer chapter books and graphic novels.